Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Insomnia

by java the hutt - Jam Entry

"Insomnia is a game about the difficulties someone who suffers from its namesake faces in day to day life. It's important to avoid anything that can make your insomnia worse, like stimulants and stress, but avoiding that can be hard work. In the game, your character needs to stop the enemies of the game from falling into the funnel with your gun that shoots Melatonin. When things fall into the tunnel, you wake up. The longer you can keep bad things from falling down, the more you fall back asleep. The goal of the game is to get as much sleep as possible in a night from 8PM to 6AM. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#565Audio(Jam)2.58
#916Humor(Jam)1.78
#956Graphics(Jam)1.81
#983Mood(Jam)2.06
#1030Innovation(Jam)1.67
#1040Theme(Jam)1.90
#1064Fun(Jam)1.52
#1090Overall(Jam)1.86
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

mitchellsha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Was getting a null reference error every time my bullets hit an enemy and the enemies did not die.

tughan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Some sort of bullet collision or hit indicator would feel better for shooting sense :)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

The collision detection definitely needs fixing as it doesn't seem to work (making the error console constantly pop up).

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:47am

The game is nice, tough i feel like i didn't understand exactly what I had to shoot or do, nothing seemed to die or be affected by my shots. On the other hand the mmovement felt nice, and the music is quite good too :D

barkergames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:14am

Game never loaded :(
I got the Unity load screen but the progress bar never moved.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:44am

I'm not sure the game is working. When I shot things like cigarettes or bugs, I got negative points. When I left them alone, I got negative points (when the bugs got to the middle).

I didn't find any way to NOT get negative points, so I didn't rate.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:15am

I'm not quite sure what I'm shooting at. What do the negative scores mean?

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:30am

The game seems cool, but I don't think the collision is working.

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:39am

I feel like this game is trolling me, and you are self aware of the collision detection problems. If not, it was a great try. Also, I noticed that DW/Hank Hill in the centre. It was pretty damn funny, lol.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:42am

Enemies were not dying, I don't know if I was doing something wrong? Very trippy style :D

May 7, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Bullets didn't seem to hit, so there was no winning the game. Everything else about it felt like it was coming together, audio, graphics, controls, etc, but very frustrating that it couldn't be won.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]