Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

B000MERANG

by TheBigShot - Compo Entry

B000MERANG is a simple game that challenges you to use a B000MERANG to kill the enemies that are surrounding you. But be carefull, if you dont hit the enemies the B000MERANG will hit you instead.

Controls:
> Movemenet: W,A,S,D
> Shoot: Mouse Click
> Aim: Mouse

How to Play?
Destroy all the enemies as fast as you can. You can do so by firing your B000MERANG at one of the yellow Bombs around you. The B000MERANG will then carry the bomb into the enemy. But if you miss, it will fly back into you
and you will lose health. Enemies also drop health.

This was my first Ludum Dare and I really enjoyed it. This game is written entirely in Java from scratch. Thank you very much for playing my Game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#59Fun3.87
#71Overall3.87
#124Innovation3.81
#190Audio3.38
#225Graphics3.66
#416Mood3.09
#515Theme3.39
#680Humor2.48

Comments

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

gets more fun as you get the hang. with some polish could be really great. not so unconventional though

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

Fun to play, though I had problems with the boomerang not picking up the heart and instead hitting me with the bomb despite successfully hitting an enemy.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

I like the simple graphics.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Oh wow. Tough game. Took a good number of tries to finally win. Score of 68. Liking the music and graphics, and gameplay was addictive. Well done!

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

The difficulty curve on this game is high, be sure to read the description to understand how to play. However once you get into it it's a really challenging and run mechanic to work with and the turn around time on failure is so fast it doesn't matter if you die a lot.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

Adorable graphics and very innovative mechanic! I had *a lot* of fun playing this. I didn't find any issues either. Well done!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38am

Pretty good graphics and gameplay, but not really that great of a theme.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14am

Yea!! Got that blue sumbitch!

So it was pretty confusing at first, but it's really fun once you figure out how it all works.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21am

Pretty cool gameplay!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03am

Nice pixelart!

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

Thank you for your Comments :) I really enjoyed making this game and playing all the other games.

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:03am

Really cool! Loved the concept, it's really original in my opinion. Graphics are decent, sounds too. Would've liked some decent music with it though. Keep up the good work!

yahooda says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05am

Very innovative! It's difficult but not frustrating, probably because the smooth controls and simplicity made me understand why I lost so I could improve next time.

Alondo1990 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

Awesome Game. Really something new. I think it goes quite well with the theme. Loved the music as well. Great work.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:17am

Hardcore. But really fun. Congratulations !! Addictive, neat, simple and original. I must be tired because I didn't grab the rules right away. Nice job !

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36am

Yeah we are all tired. I really want to sleep, but there are so many cool games to try out. Thanks for your Comment :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22am

Pretty cool idea, sometimes the boomerang seemed to pass right through things, but it was still good fun.

Hard too! But that's a good thing.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Whoa, this game's really cool. I like how you hurt yourself if you miss an enemy and how it balances with healing yourself when you do, since it discourages reckless shooting. This would've done great in the arcade era!

strawfield says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

5/5 for innovation definitely. It's a nice spin on boomerangs that has room for further development.
It's a nice game. Took me a while to figure out what was going on though.

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

Boss is hard, what happens at the end?! Fun game.

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29am

Great gameplay and difficulty curve! the blue guy was a surprise. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33am

This was very good. My best time was 37 seconds. Early on I spam attacks since I'm guaranteed to hit a lot of things, after that I start aiming more carefully so I don't kill myself.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07am

Thank for the kind comments again. When you kill the blue guy it plays a victory sound and you win the game :) Didnt have much time to add extra things. But I can udate the gae if you guys like and upload a new version somewhere else.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23am

A really well polished game with some really good game feel going on.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

Tons of fun- took me a while to figure it out. Very impressive considering it was coded from scratch

Yamzho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41am

Nice game ! ;)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:33am

Really well done mechanic.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Made a twitch highlight of my review. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/6578204

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44am

Fun game, challenging too :D

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Really polished with an innovative weapon! Great job balancing the difficulty. I like the sfx, win music, and attention to detail on the enemies and art.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:07am

Nice concept, a bit short, but feels polished and the music is really nice, congrats on your first LD! :)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Had a lot of fun in the live-streaming session. Pretty darn hard, but felt very fair. Hard to believe it's your first entry.

For a future update, line-of-sight would really help assist the aiming.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very nice game, the boss was unexpected and it was nice to hear a unique soundtrack for it.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Although there is not much connection to the theme, the game is still fun

blubberquark says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I like the risk involved in shooting the boomerang. My only gripe is that you die when you touch the edge of the screen.

Almost says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:09pm

This is pretty cool, and it felt polished for a Ludum dare entry.

TeamSpatch says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Nice entry, very well balanced. We have to fight against the enemies AND ourself ^^.
Graphics simple, retro and efficent.
Good : )

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]