Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies Took My Strawberry

by Dungeonation - Jam Entry

Oh no! The zombies have taken your prized strawberry! You gotta go get it back! Use your quick wit and fingers to find your strawberry in under 60 seconds in 7 alternate endings. Can you find them all?

Made for Ludum Dare 32.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#22Humor(Jam)4.14
#77Mood(Jam)3.88
#377Theme(Jam)3.55
#438Fun(Jam)3.17
#474Overall(Jam)3.27
#720Innovation(Jam)2.74
#734Graphics(Jam)2.83

Comments

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Fun and clever! I like it.

One thing that bothered me was that the zombies vanish for a moment when you hit them, so I thought one was dead. Then it came back and killed me.

phi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

This is the most awkwardly funny thing I've ever seen. :D
The sloppy graphics and the funky music are oddly appropriate. I'll call this one a success. Great job! I had a good laugh.

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice Idea, but the Window in which the game was presented really bothered me... I didn't know how to close the game or what the flag and stop sign did. The vanishing zombies were really confusing too.

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Been laughing a lot xD
The "oh" intro is just amazing!! XD
Definitely a game with a lot of humor! ;)

sawyerWeld said something about the vanishing zombies. I agree with him. Fixing that would be nice :)

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Very fun and funny game! This game is done very well, you should be proud! :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Wish the zombie fighting part was better but everything is still awesome :D

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Couldn't get it to run with Wine on Ubuntu 14.10 unfortunately.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

It's only available for Windows, snesgaard.

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Funny game! Simple gameplay but the music and SFX very really good aswell as the humoristic aspect of the game :)

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

lull, I like the "strawberry 4 sale" animation. I like the zombie fights actually, because it seemed really close between getting ate and hitting them. nice.

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I had fun :) Got all but 2 endings.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Your art skillz are 3 high 5 dis world.
Nice game, well done. Totally fun to play!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

This is the first time I have ever come across a scratch entry. I reckon I should give 5 star for innovation. Overall, you should be proud as it is a neat little game :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Made me laugh, the sound effects were good too! Good Job

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Even the title made me laugh. I really liked the graphics and the intro. Gameplay was a little frustrating (character moved quite slowly, and zombie damage / death animations were too similar).

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:58am

Really liked it!
It's quite surprising that a game can be this funny with graphics than simple x)
I can only say one thing : Well done, it's working, I'm laughing!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Nice idea, the cactus is really an unconventional weapon! Really liked the humorous nature of the game. Also the music is very good!

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:28am

fun(ny) game, a little too hard, but I really dig this art/audio style you are doing

May 4, 2015 @ 11:19am

Really like the music :)

freeholdgames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:02am

Haha, very funny, nice work! They DID take my strawberry! oO

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice and fun! Multiple endings rock! :D The theme use, graphics style and sound fx rock together in a pretty nice package!

I thought zombies were a bit difficult to kill in the beginning, but I got through the end(ings) nicely! :3

BTW, is the main theme song a remix of a tune from Top Gear/Top Racer? That's awesome! :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]