Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hello Darkness: My Old Friend

by HapaxStudios - Jam Entry

A survival horror experience.

Adrift in space after an asteroid impacts your ship you play as Captain Ando and need to make your way to the escape pods using the darkness as your main weapon against the alien terrors that are now onboard. As a fast ­paced survival puzzle game, you will be forced to quickly adapt to situations and figure out the best way to get where you need to go!

We will be continuously updating and patching in the time to come. Stay tuned for new updates!

-CONTROLS-

WASD: Move character
Space: Jump
E Key: Interact
Arrow Keys: Move Robot Assistant
Escape: Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#610Graphics(Jam)3.10
#798Innovation(Jam)2.58
#841Mood(Jam)2.56
#860Overall(Jam)2.79
#989Theme(Jam)2.29
#1031Fun(Jam)2.06
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

We will be uploading a new patch for Hello Darkness very soon!

Version 0.3

-What's in this patch-
:Fixes:
- Added icons for file selection screen.
- Added game over screen.
- Text box removed from the bottom of the screen.
- The map screen toggles properly now (Escape Key to access).
- Added music to game. Main menu theme (Horizon) and pre-generator room track (Emergency Power). *It's still quite loud however, so be warned.*
:Balancing:
- Modified Capt. Ando's movement and input controls to make him actually controllable. *Will tweak again in future patches. We needed a basis to start from that wasn't our test movement.*
- Wraith now has a wider detection radius. 5 -> 12
- Crab has reduced detection radius. 5 -> 3
- Robot Assistant's ambient light has been increased and radius is larger.

Will update again when the new patch goes live!

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

Hello again!

Hello Darkness version 0.3 is live now!

There are still a lot of bugs that we know of but please if you find any let us know!

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Cool entry man. Gotta say, the flashing is a bit hard on the eyes.

ianb96 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:36pm

The bloom and dieing are messed up, and the jumping and momentum are too high. Also, I can't tell what the robot is for.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Good concept, can't wait to see how it fleshes out! One thing I'd recommend is a way to exit out of the dialogue boxes that pop up when you interact with computers. Nice job, keep up the updates! :)

GameQuester says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:38pm

The controls, especially the jumping, is very floaty. I know this is intended with the space ship setting. But I think a bit more control while jumping would be nice. Beside that a cool game with nice graphics.

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Hey, good idea for the light-creating enemies, and (if I am understanding the puzzles right,) the levers that shut off the lights but open the door. Some things to fix/criticisms, if you are still looking for them:

-Unless there is something wrong with my speakers, I don't think your game has any sound. This begs the question, why do you want us to rate you on sound?
-I don't know how you did animation, but if you are using Unity, I would highly recommend checking out the animator feature: http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/projects/stealth/player-animator-controller, or you can see an example of how I did it:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=37149
I noticed quite a few instances in which I was jumping but it showed me running, or running and I looked like I was just standing there, et cetera, so you might want to at least take a quick peek, even though it can be confusing at first.
-I ended up getting stuck on a light-bug with 6 legs (and had to restart, twice) when I was trying to get to a lever in the corner that he was guarding. Maybe make it so that you move away from him when he touches you or something, so you don't get stuck on top of him.

Yeah, that's all I could find. Cool idea for a game, and keep up the good work even after everything is over so that you have an awesome, polished game to show off! Good luck!

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:56pm

This game has a really interesting Metroid-like atmosphere but the character movements were pretty frustating.
Anyway, good job!

acro says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:29am

Easily drawn in by an LD entry purporting to do something with survival horror, I was a bit disappointed, sorry to say.

And, sorry if this sounds harsh, but this seems very unfocused, like you put in too many ideas. (eg a file select screen?!)

The 'development build' and IndexOutOfRangeException and NullRefException errors were initially rather distracting, but I see you say you've fixed those (they still seem to be present in the web player version I tried).

The controls aren't apparent within the game, it would be nice if there was some prompt or cue in the starting room to lead the player on.
The (bad) platform physics made trying to stop next to a switch extremely difficult, though I see you say you've fixed that now too? Again, it seems it wasn't fixed on web player.
The absence of sound effects and music is grating given the amount of work that has clearly gone into the graphics. (and, eg, some sound for knowing if switches have been hit would be great, as the animation is a little small and hard to see). Even some minimal sfxr beeps for switches, or something.

The floating robot assistant didn't seem to have any point. I suppose it is the 'unconventional weapon', but must have missed how it works/what it does.

It didn't seem possible to die or fail (not that I tried), in that I effortlessly avoided all enemies, and it's quite easy to clear entire rooms with a single jump and never come close to an enemy.

The lighting idea seems promising, but the 7th or 8th room is all but unplayable as it's in total darkness and you can't see what you're meant to be doing.
I didn't really work out what the lighting was actually reacting to, or what effect it had. Perhaps you could have had a clearer example without other things being in the room.

It'd be cool to see something more focused on just a few of the elements in there, and with better platform control, but I was a little disappointed.

incidentally, we tried to make a pixel art survival horror entry for LD29 jam and didn't finish in time. So I know it's difficult to get all the pieces in place to convey the survival / horror aspects. Kudos for attempting it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:36am

visually this was very impressive - there are some problems with the controls - and i did not understand what the robot was for - i think this game has potential - nice work

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51am

Hey everyone!

Thanks for voting and commenting.

We realized that the download links of the latest patch was working but the Web version didn't update properly. We just fixed it.

The online version will now be the proper version 0.3.

We are also planning another patch later tonight. We will post a patch breakdown when we solidify what will be in Hello Darkness v0.4!

Thanks again for all of your input.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15am

Graphics were amazing, but I couldn't control the guy worth anything. He feels like he weighs 400 pounds. Better responsiveness in controls is needed, or something. Cool entry tho.

scumbly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice style, impressive scope. Had some struggles with the control "feel" (things feel sorta floaty and unresponsive) and I think an early puzzle that used the robot companion would help make his purpose more clear.

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:23am

Very slippery controls and precise jumping are a killer for this game. I would constantly knock my head on things and it would bring me to a dead stop, falling helplessly into aliens.

The good parts of this game are great though, the artwork is impressive, the music (while it's playing) is intense, and the light/dark mechanic is cool.

Would really like to see it in a later stage where the movement is more ironed out.

KolDraco says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:46am

oh boy.. The darkness!! my old but simple friend. how you hide such tempting offers of solitude and serenity, yet create such imagination and chaos.

May 2, 2015 @ 9:30am

Good music, and it looks like you've put a lot of polish into this game. Unfortunately, the accelleration based movement makes controlling the character a pain, and I wasn't quite sure what the darkness mechanic was actually doing. Looks like it could be quite a bit of fun if you could clear that up though!

Project_Azure says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:55am

Hey guys, thanks for checking out our submission! If anyone is interested with any audio within the game feel free to check out/download the soundtrack at https://soundcloud.com/asch-farris/sets/hello-darkness-ost

Cheers,

Asch (The Sound Guy)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]