Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

My Voice is My Weapon

by Forlorn79 - Jam Entry

Use the power of protest to convert citizens to your cause, while avoiding getting busted! Current locations from the Capital District of New York State. This is my first game ever.

This game is not playable on almost any mobile device, because there are far too many sprites, and it locks up. Some browsers don't support voice synthesis, but I found Chrome works best for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Innovation(Jam)3.88
#267Theme(Jam)3.71
#448Humor(Jam)3.00
#637Mood(Jam)2.89
#829Overall(Jam)2.83
#1020Fun(Jam)2.13
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

Feminism!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50am

Interesting concept. Shame there wasn't much to do other than gather followers. Really enjoyed running around repeating my slogan "Yo peeps, Join ma crib we get free cookies!" Heh heh. Overall love the idea follows the theme really well.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

This game is really hard! A job well-done. I have a hard time telling what's the cops, and what are normal citizens, though.

Chrome seems to allow voice synthesization, although Firefox doesn't. Weird.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:45am

Love the Google Earth thing, and an interesting concept!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:52am

Very hard game! Although it is quite interesting.

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34am

This was really laggy on my machine :(. But I like the concept, and the Google Earth art is clever. Good point for the customization at the start though :). However the readability in game is bad imo, maybe you should have outlined all the sprites with something flashy.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:39pm

this game is fenomenal for some reason. i was not sure what exactly to do or how exactly to do it but this must have taken a lot of programming. and it's fun. great job

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Very interesting idea. It's difficult to visually follow what is happening though, due to the small size of the people and the visual complexity of the background. If you could find ways to more clearly convey what is going on to the player, it would help this unique experience.

May 3, 2015 @ 2:22am

I had a really tough time with this one. It's extremely difficult to identify where the stars are on the map, and the immediacy with which they fail you can feel a little bit unfair.
On a more positive note, I'm very impressed with the amount of options for customization/role play there are here. It gives players a chance to be just a bit more invested in the gameplay, which is pretty neat.

dreamlogician says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:04am

I love the voice synthesis and customization options, the idea of getting lost in the crowd, and the way that your followers start to wander away if you don't actively keep their attention and keep reminding them of the cause. Nice entry!

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:24am

Great idea, a bit difficult to control as you bump into everything.
But great take on the theme!

Zeriver says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:21am

Pretty nice, simplistic game.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:21am

I loved the customisation aspects of the game (especially the synthetic voice) but it's literally too hard to find the player since all the actors in the game are too small.

RyanNielson says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:55am

Neat little game, I love the usage of maps. It was hard to read the text in the buttons and selection lists though because of my screen resolution I think.

crazya02 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:59am

It felt pretty aimless...

Dejvo says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 6:43am

nice placement congrats! you've commented on my game so i am just letting you to know that i am working on adding to the game right now. follow it on gamejolt to get updates http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/dare-to-juice/62107/

steboots says ...
May 13, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Finally figured out what this game reminds me of, Syndicate from the 90's. This game is the embodiment of the persaudatron, easily the most fun inducing gadget from Syndicate. A whole based around it would be a blast, got a good start here, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]