Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

LevGun

by lunkhound - Jam Entry

Zombies are after you. You must use your LevGun to levitate the blocks to kill the zombies. Each shot from your LevGun will make whatever it hits levitate for 1 second, and then the object will come crashing down.

This was my first game jam. Between that, being new to Unity, and not being able to work full time on it, I'm just glad to have anything at all to show. My main goal was to just finish something fitting with the theme and learn about Unity in the process. As a secondary goal, I was hoping to prototype a gameplay mechanic and find the fun in it. While the main goal was achieved, the secondary goal was only partly successful. I think there are some glimmers of fun -- it's kinda satisfying to take out 4 or more zombies with one block -- but it needs more polish.

The player and enemy models, textures and animations are straight out of Unity's "Survival Shooter" tutorial. Some sound effects too. So I've opted out of those categories.

[edit 4/21/2015] Added the WebGL version. You may need to go fullscreen to get keyboard controls to work. I've no idea why.

[updated 4/22/2015] Fixed collision bug in the Web version and also in the Windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Innovation(Jam)3.20
#646Humor(Jam)2.59
#654Theme(Jam)3.16
#675Overall(Jam)3.04
#796Fun(Jam)2.64
#855Mood(Jam)2.52
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

it's good idea,but shooting is too difficult.

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Good idea. And I agree that fire is a bit difficult, but crushing zumbies is cool! =D
And good to see other beginners in Ludum Dare.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:08pm

It's difficult to criticize this game since it is so very very simplistic. I think killing as many enemies as possible in a certain amount of time would have been more fun than playing until you run out of health.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04am

Fun game. Enjoyed trying to crush as many as possible at once. I do think it would have been better if aiming would have been done with the mouse.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

Haha, just crushed myself :P It's a cool mechanic, and with some more stuff added in it could be a lot of fun

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12am

Shooting is a little awkward but the idea is pretty cool! I wish there were more block in the level as you tend to get overrun fast however i found running under your raised blocks works quite well. Great job!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

first time ther game diint respond to my keyboard. but after an refresh it worked.
preety smooth c:

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:07pm

i really like the concept! nice work.

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I agree with the other commenters, the shooting would've been better if it went in the direction of the mouse. But other than that, it's a neat idea for a game mechanic! :D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:11am

Cool concept. Pretty simple execution, but with some more work this could be really cool!

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:13am

I like the concept of the levitation and falling. I would have loved to have had more traditional twinstick shooter style controls, as it was they were pretty frustrating to work with.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:17am

I liked it. It took a while before I got into the groove of baiting the zombies. Could have used a bit of variation.

Also I had to put it in fullscreen to get it to run, so if anyone else is having trouble, they may want to try the same thing.

lunkhound says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:05am

Thanks for the feedback folks, much appreciated!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Very cool mechanic with lots of potential if you choose to continue working on it. I would consider having the player shoot in the direction of the mouse instead in whatever direction the character is moving. Congrats on your first jam, keep at it!

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Interesting mechanic, though it gets rather repetitive as is. A different level layout might be more fun, and as others have said, mouse aiming would most definitely be much better. Still, a very good attempt for a first jam and being new to Unity.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Well done for a first jam :)

May 4, 2015 @ 1:15am

Quite unusual weapon. You can expand this concept adding some puzzles on the game, or maybe a maze. Some blocks with different weights as well.

Nice interpretation of the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]