Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beak

by garlicgamessoft - Jam Entry

A platform game with the mechanics that you can change the increase jump or run of the character biting the grey floors.

The game was developed with Unreal Engine 4.

Instructions:
AD: move right and left.
W/space: jump.
1: select green power (jump).
2: select blue power (run).
E: bite the floor.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////
Mechanics explanation
//////////////////////////////////////////////////
You can bite all grey grounds or conveyors belt (only the greys) to transform it in green or blue colors. To be able to bite, the chicken should be inside the platform.

When some platform changed the color to blue or green, when the chicken is on the platform, he will get the extra power.



Push jump to re-spawn when you are dead.

Thanks for the feedback!
In the update that you can get following the link below:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/siqqkki2996ksui/Beak1.1.zip?dl=0

We added extra keys mapping:
Arrows Right and Left: move
Z: select blue power
X: select green power
C: bite the floor.


Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#457Graphics(Jam)3.41
#530Humor(Jam)2.83
#568Overall(Jam)3.16
#648Mood(Jam)2.88
#655Fun(Jam)2.84
#704Innovation(Jam)2.77
#916Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I tried to play it, but I got this error:

Fatal error!




LD32-Win32-Shipping.exe!UnknownFunction (0x00000000022ff550) = 0 bytes
[UnknownFile:0]

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Intressting main mechanic and cute graphics. I found 1 and 2 for changing the colors a bit hard to reach without being completly helpless for a moment also the death animation sometimes just showed the first frame. Still very fun.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Great concept! I would say work on teaching it to the player better. i did not get that i had to change my light bulb and THEN peck then ground to apply the power. Also, make the grey floors stand out more. it' was hard to tell which floors i could color and which ones i couldn't.

Lastly, add some sound! it would really help this game to have some sound. it felt sorta lifeless without it. But, I do like the art style. keep up the good work!

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:11pm

frist of all, i think it's to diffict. i died a million times at the first two axe/saw things. so i didn't see much of the game :(
but from what i can tell: the graficstyle is awesome. the death animation is a bit messy but every thing else looks very professional.
to sad that I can't see more of the game. the mechanic with the helmet seems to be an interessting concept.

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Simple concept and complex gameplay. I love it! But I don't see the connection with the theme.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nice graphics and concept. I think at some point I just didn't choose enough blue and wasn't able to complete the game without restarting it.

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Unrelentingly difficult. Having fun trying to beat this but only because I like a challenge. This is FAR too difficult, even by game jam standards.

Would love if the controls were a bit tighter (aerial control, quicker acceleration/deceleration).

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Good graphics and animation! Interesting game mechanics. It became too frustrating after a while though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

The jump didn't seem to be powerful enough to reach the first platform, as a result I couldn't seem to make it very far in the game. Art was good for the time limit, though.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice Concept, some parts were really hard, but the Game still very enjoyable.

Novodantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very cool concept; I found the first section very tough though.

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:36am

The art is very nice, i loved the concept but it was difficult at some point of the game.

Tanser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice concept and graphics!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:57am

Cool to see a UE4 game in Ludum Dare. Neat concept, though it took me a while to realize that I could dye the conveyor belts as well.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:19am

Cool graphics and concept - though the game running had some issues :(

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I like the art a lot. Very clean and simple, yet effective. Who would experiment on poor chicken like this?

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Interesting idea and looks nice. Sadly i didn´t get too far.

pixelballoon says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:24am

Interesting idea, but I just could not get past that last bit with the two wide platforms. Couldn't work out where to go!

I think adding some air control would have made it a lot easier, not being able to move until after you've landed made avoiding the saws next to impossible.

Overall though, I liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]