Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Explosive Chickens!

by zeejfps - Compo Entry

Who doesn't like chickens and robots?

I could not think of a more Unconventional weapon than explosive elemental chickens. In this game you are tasked with defending yourself from waves of horrifying tiny little robots who want to eat your soul.

This is my first ever Ludum Dare so don't be to harsh :3
Please read the start screen for better game instructions!

The game features 3 types of robots:

RED = Lots of HP, very slow.
YELLOW = Little HP, very fast.
GRAY = Medium HP, Medium Speed.

The game also features 3 types of chickens:

RED = Long fuse timer, Small Explosion Radius, Huge Damage.
YELLOW = Fast fuse timer, Large Explosion Radius, Little Damage.
GRAY = Medium fuse timer, Medium Explosion Radius, Medium Damage.

Keyboard Controls:

E - to switch chickens.
Left Mouse - to throw. Longer you hold the farther it will go.
Escape - pause.

Xbox 360 Controls:

Y - to switch chickens.
A - to throw.
start - pause.

Things used in the creating of the game:

-Unity
-Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#211Theme3.78
#234Humor3.36
#335Graphics3.42
#581Innovation3.06
#730Overall2.97
#789Fun2.78

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:04am

Very funny!

Another one harder than it looked for me. My reflexes didn't take to judging how long it takes to hold down the charger to launch the chicken a certain distance.

Def high marks on the art and humor.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16am

Chickens as projectiles? hell yeah !

Very simple concept, the simplicity makes it fun for playing.

Good.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21am

Haha, this game is awesome. Really funny idea, and pretty enjoyable gameplay. Nice job! I also love the graphics, very colourful.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46am

The game is very simple and fun. It's just a little tricky to aim.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46am

Fun game. I like the graphics, and the concept is funny.

The main suggestion I have would be to give some kind of visual display that shows how much power will apply to your throw, like a "power meter" in a golf game, or something.

Nice job.

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

There is a power meter at the bottom, not very visible, but it is there :)

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Felt like i should have read the instructions or something, because things were not going my way. Fun game though! Very decent looking and good gameplay.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

hahaha, man, i love the concept. and the art style, the robots look like super ultra megaman from south park, its great

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

+ I like this game's idea and whacky theme that creatively works with the given challenge.
- I wasn't too fond of the throwing mechanic, it felt kinda clunky to use. Without a guide as to where I am throwing it's difficult to judge.
+ I liked the models of the different chickens.
- Movement feels very floaty.

Overall, I think this is a neat game with a bit of humor mixed in.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Exploding Chickens! Genious! I like the art of the chickens and how the scenario looks overall. The biggest problem I can find is that it's hard to aim. But of course, they are chickens :D

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Very fun, but maybe not the most sound mechanically.
Throwing while moving was impossible, and really hard to get distance right.
But I still had fun, haha. Cool idea

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:16am

This is a fun game but a "gun sight" would be helpful because there's no way to know where I'm targeting unless some chickens are thrown :)

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

A bit difficult at first, but was still fun.

Ghen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

this reminds me of exploding chicken mod for skyrim, funny idea and quite fun game

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Poor bomb chickens haha
Good entry, but I did not understand how I'm I supposed to switch colors, because red enemies were coming and I only has yellow chicken.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Aiming was a bit difficult, and I guess I'm not very good at judging distances in game. Good work and an interesting concept.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I wish this game had has some sound. It was really lacking in that department, which is sad because it was a really fun and interesting game! I liked the different chickens and it was a really smooth game!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

A good idea and great fun. The robots are a bit slow and there is missing some cool chickens sound.

grillaface says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Strange when I load I get "Serious Solids v2"??

zeejfps says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:34am

Holy cow, Thank you! fixed. Accidentally overridden the files while working on something for work :S

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:10am

Making a game about throwing explosive chickens at robots without sound is rough! Oh well. Next time.

Beautiful chickens.

I get the desire to force the player to make decisions about which chickens are thrown, but when the benefits and graphics depicting those differences are so minor, I'm not sure that's something most players will manage to do.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:58am

Funny game! I thought the chickens were pretty well balanced. Controls worked well, but it does take practice to get the hang of it. Good job!

May 10, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Awkward controls since you can't aim with mouse, but had a lot fun nonetheless. Fun game and idea. = D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]