Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

NO TIME TO EXPLAIN: GET IN THE LLAMA

by Nidar - Compo Entry

NO TIME TO EXPLAIN: GET IN THE LLAMA!

Normal WSAD controls. Blow the aliens off their feet and into the water to accumulate score. I don't even know why you do this as Mr. CrazyFace(?) has no time to explain.

Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHUEYhDZkz8

I KNOW ABOUT THE BUGS, I only had 48 hours. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Have a great time IN THE LLAMA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Humor3.78
#317Fun3.35
#330Theme3.61
#572Mood2.91
#589Audio2.62
#661Innovation2.93
#704Overall3.00
#801Graphics2.63

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48am

Lol wut?!? Looks funny, but web player link isn't right. :/

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Web link leads to download? What?

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59am

the osx version is an exe...

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

I saw a post of this on the main page and was looking forward to it. I was not disappointed.

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02am

Bizarre! Was fun. I got to the fork attack, mostly by just spamming all my abilities as fast as I could.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:03am

Simple, to-the-point, and who doesn't love a good fart bomb?

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04am

When I fist opened the game and was greeted by the music I knew I had to be playing Goat Simulator 2.0

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Eerrrr... Yeah. Not much to say besides that. :D

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great mood. Smile on my face the whole time.

Rahazan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

I am not sure what i was killing, but the idea of killing green snowmen(?) into the water is pretty novel. The animations of the llamas feet was stellar.

Are there more than 4 levels? If so, I couldn't reach that :)

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

This game is really random and hilarious. Managed to get 13000 score. Not sure if that's good, but I had loads of fun.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18am

Great game! Loved the forks!

I was able to move off the top of the island and then not make it back on and the web version isn't working right.

Awesome job!

Nidar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31am

Rahazan, thanks for the kind words! No there are only 4 levels :).

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51am

I can't contain this 240wat system. This is a weird and silly game (deliberately so). I don't know what I expected to experience, but I'm glad that I did. Hahahahah.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53am

Nice job with variety. The humour definitely made this one. Particles really did a number on my graphics card though, haha. Well done.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

Haha! Llama Simulator 2015 :o)) You should implement fps counter and give rewards if player has 5 fps and below.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:58am

Not entirely sure what I just played, but it was... interesting?

Really neat, simple experience. The physics needed to be touched up a bit, but besides that, awesome score attack game.

misterwalter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:58am

Exactly what I had hoped to get out of this theme. Thank you.

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00am

Pretty fun but things kind of fell apart when I realized there was no limit on spamming attacks (figuratively as well as in terms of the frame rate). Llama animation was super cute!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19am

Spamming the abilities was fun, though having to blast the aliens over an invisible wall was kinda weird. I would've preferred something more opaque so I could at least get an idea of how high they need to go to make it over. Overall it was entertaining, good job!

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

MacOSX link 404s

wood.innis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

I have no idea what I just played.
I want to play more of it.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

I want a "candy mine" for Christmas.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39am

I played the mac version and it works just fine. This is pretty hilarious. I love the llama animation its quite charming despite being amidst green snowmen? I mean aliens. I got over 5000 or so but I think the game was not impressed.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43am

this was crazy fun. The graphics were fantastic. I was surprised what you were able to have done in 48 hours, and in 3D too! Spamming my abilities was super fun, but it felt like the game was not too challenging overall.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52am

Wow, this really killed my FPS when spamming Ground Fork. Fun game!

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:18am

Haha, this is pretty fun. I love the shoe attack. STOMP, STOMP, STOMP~!!!

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44am

Got the farts, shoes, candy, and fork missiles before I some how knocked myself in to the water. 10 Faces spit in out of 10, would derp around in circles again.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00am

Soooo. Let's do some math here:
- compo ended ~9 hours ago
- you have a coolness of 91

This means you rated a game every 6 minutes for the past 9 hours, without taking a break, and did so fairly and thoroughly.

Right?

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

That music :(

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Overall an ok game, with some pretty fun aspects, but i suppose the fart could look more like fart than an explosion.

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Hahahaha, nice! a llama simulator :) Like the concept and execution but i think you should add a better collision between the player and the snowmen(?!).
Great work!

Nidar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

THEYRE NOT SNOWMEN! THEYRE ALIENS! i think......

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00pm

10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) A bomb is not the most unconventional weapon I can think of and it does not look like a fart. Would be nice to be able to change camera angle. And the music gets old quick. Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Azlen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

very confusing, but fun, there are some bugs though... (I ended up swimming below the ground)

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

hahaha nice one !!!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Oh my god i just spammed candy mine everywhere : EXPLOSIONS !!!!!!!
Very nice, but i didn't see my score at the end because i was pplanting MOAR MINESS !! Maybe another button to restart would be better.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Oh my god i just spammed candy mine everywhere : EXPLOSIONS !!!!!!!
Very nice, but i didn't see my score at the end because i was pplanting MOAR MINESS !! Maybe another button to restart would be better.

The Llama walk too :-)

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Pretty funny game

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

First of all, everyone who is complaining that the web player doesn't work - the web player doesn't work with Chrome anymore so that's your issue.

Now on to your game: Hilarious concept. Graphics and sound could use a bit of work, but I had fun with it and it definitely fit the theme. Good work!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

What a fun game. I think thats the best compliment you can get right? Good work!

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

This is bizarre and insane, and that makes it fun. No time to comment, just vote! :)

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

It's a really nice game, but I was expecting a little more from the comments.

The music is hype and such, but it gets repetitive too soon. The llama is nice :D but the game bugged too early!

Anyway, 48hs on the project, well done!

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I had a good time, just ran around spamming the buttons, and i got to watch a pretty light show!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Lol that was amazing. I loved the cute little llama!

A.W. Apps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

This game is Awesome. It is completely UNCONVENTIONAL. Everything is random. :D

PixelPerfect says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Bit repetitive and could lag at times but generally a good giggle and a nice bit of fun.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Amazing. Though I managed to escape the platform and get stuck outside the play area, but it's ok, you only spent 30 seconds on the code.

QuexD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Love it, somehow I got out of the lv though.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

Pretty fun game! I have to say I like the leveling system! Very well done!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

Haha great game! ;-)

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

Linux version doesn't seem to have a binary to run. It'd be nice to know how I'm expected to run the game :/

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30am

Fun. Straight to the point. Was smiling all the time, thanks for the good mood! Good Job.

TetraQuad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

This is a masterpiece. I laughed pretty hard.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

This is the best submission i have played so far. so twisted and fun hahahha. nice work

ionbattle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

This is really stupid. 5 Stars.

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03am

haha Awesome :). those particle effects are awesome, but so heavy on performance.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15pm

lol that was.. different-- I had fun throwing forks all over the place and lagging up my computer :P

If you spam the forks and the fps drops, you can actually move off the platform.. Happened to me on my second try.

Anyways, It was great fun, nice graphics, and some nice sound effects!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I got to a score of 11401 and then I started sinking through the ground. I've got to admit I enjoyed it though! Nice work!

Also the explosions are cool

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Simple, yet fun. That's not the type of game you'll play ten hours in a row, but anyway :)

Good job.

eott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Unconventional weapon? Try unconventional arsenal. Very silly, but fun.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

OK this is the type of insanity I love!!! Great weapons the boot is the best. Great!

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

It was quite the experience. Pretty bizarre game!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

That was weird and crazy. I really like the different kinds of weapons you get. Well done!

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48pm

What the hell just happened? :D

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

WTF!? :-D Hillarious.

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Well... that was interesting.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Good job. Candy Mines were my favorite.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14pm

It's really fun! haha

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

I think i'm slightly dumber now ahhahaha i loved its super fun!

DoItForWilson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very fun game. The fork attack is dropping frames by the shit ton though. I liked the boot drop sound ;-)

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Fun and nice game, especially the shoe strike and ofc the bomb

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20am

Ground fork, best fork

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:41am

Well, I got in the llama.
...I'm not sure I ever want to get out.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:59am

This game.... :| I dont even

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03am

That was insane! It seems like you may have used the default unity textures for the sand, and their default water, (as they look similar), but maybe you didn't, and your game is insanely amazing, in an insane way so.... you know....what ever :)

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06am

10800!
But I honestly didn't understand what was the point of that.
Also, the title is get in the lama and you just throw everyone away from it
And at some point after shoe strike I appeared at the water, so I think it's a bug

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:32am

Surprisingly this is not the most random thing I've played today. I think the thing I was fighting against the most was the lag.

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34am

What just happend ? Crazy stuff here. Liked it a lot !!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Just some laughs... but great game for a Compo!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The fart bomb is hilarious, great humor!

Dickie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

defo just lost a couple brains cells playing this, certainly enjoyable but kind of nothing past its initial shock laughter

relatively fun to play but yeah just not enough funnys beyond starting the game to hold up the gameplay being kinda bland

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really kicks the llamas ass!

That was completely insane! The big boots looked awesome. Played a full 4 rounds, much fun.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Llama mech suit type thing to blast enemies of of an island with random explosive weapons? 10/10 GOTY

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Fun, but maybe a cooldown for the attacks?

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Simple but fun! I liked the graphics and the gameplay, but the music got repetetive kinda quickly. Still better than having no music though. The fartbomb was amazing XD XD XD

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:15pm

fun and a bit insane

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Great ! I love the music ! Tanks for that game.
Small bug, I went outside of map.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Probably the silliest one I've seen so far. The gameplay was addictive, too! Minor gripe: there doesn't seem to be a quit option, and I was on fullscreen, so I has to use alt+tab to exit. Otherwise fantastic!

Tayway203 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:49am

I enjoyed the forks haha I used them so much i pushed myself in the water though.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:56am

I didn't understand what i was playing but it was fun.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Weird as hell.
Best part is the title that could be like anything - a movie, book or song!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

Hilarious and great fun. Bugs are funny too, running underwater is neat. Maybe a little polish, graphics could be a little better, audio is nice, sillyness included, it's a finished game!
Nice work!

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Funny game, simple and effective!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:31am

Am so confused at this game, but I would still like to see some more crazy weapons :D

Pomb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:28am

Would have been nicer if you had web links

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Couldn't seem to knock any aliens into the water, they just shot up into the air? Also, llama seemed to favour facing up even though the water was everywhere but down.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:39am

Wait.. WAT!?!?!? XD

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:17am

Spamming the spoon allows you to drop the FPS so low you can walk off the level. I'm fairly surprised I wasn't able to crash my PC, lol. 10/10

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:49pm

E X P L O S I O N S

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:03am

Funny concepts but not really balanced since there is no cooldown or anything on the "weapons"

Portals says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:56pm

What a crazy game! :D

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Not really polished

Nidar says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:19pm

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:45pm
Not really polished

-_- I HAD 48 HOURS

Nidar says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:55am

I don't know who or how somebody hacked into my account and changed the game name, and I don't now if you'll ever read this, but I really don't appreciate you doing that, I spent 48 hours of sleepiness, coffee drinking, nausea, preparing, and cooking in order to make a playable game in 48 hours. I hope your happy with yourself.

Nidar says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:58am

BTW I now know where you live thanks to the IP you left when you got into my gmail. Seriously.

Nidar says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:00am

What even possessed you to do that? I'm in 5th place or below on ratings.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:00pm

that music is a headache machine. and the framerate. i do wish there was a bizarre category

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Weird but fun :D Nice explosions, although enemies are only launched left and right, but not forward, and at first it is not clear how to throw them away because of this. Excellent weapons!

AsixJin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:01pm

lol nice entry. I can remember what ol' timey flash game this reminds me of but it was basically a less hectic version of this.

23 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:05am

Nice job! Is the fork the last weapon?

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Definitely Unconventional...

NuvlearGames says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:55am

I like it the music is catchy bit of performance issues but that is my own fault well done overall.

ohai1 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Well... How do I even rate it? xD

May 6, 2015 @ 2:23pm

lol the whole time. Some lag on the shoe and fork attacks. That music is *absolutely MADDENING* after a while, I found myself crazy laughing/screaming by the end. Which means...good job on the WTF factor. Also, Points for the title.

freeholdgames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:21am

Haha, some great weapons! Silly and fun, good job!

CliffracerX says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I have no idea what I just played, but it was amazing anyway.

Best part might be Mr. Crazy Face looking like someone took a sharpie and just sort of doodled a weird face on the standard Unity capsule/pill/bean model. :P

This would be the first time I've heard of a Llama Mech, unconventional for sure!

M9Josh says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Got a score of 14251, fun random game! A cooldown on stuff to stop spamming would have been good.

May 9, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Hilarious throwaway fun. I love it.

Ventura says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:27pm

I loved it :D hahaha. crazy fun.

Techblogogy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice little fun game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]