Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MONSTER CANNON!

by grywhttl - Jam Entry

MONSTER CANNON!

Rumor has it the inhabitants of the next city over have built a Monster Cannon!
We'll use our own Monster Cannon to cannon them with monsters!

---

NOTES:
Didn't have time to implement the planned gameplay, this is more of a work-in-progress than a fully playable game.
Another 3 days would've been handy!

---

Made by @grywhttl and @deelekgolo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#141Graphics(Jam)4.10
#385Humor(Jam)3.14
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#452Theme(Jam)3.44
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#627Mood(Jam)2.91
#824Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

This is pretty great. I enjoy the art style and references to movie monsters. Aiming the cannon feels a bit weird though.

sxmn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

took me a second to figure out how to control the cannon, but i tell ya this is a comfy game

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

It was fairly fun. I enjoyed how the monsters balled up while in the air.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I like how the launched monsters are recognizable creatures from the Godzilla franchise! The graphics and camera movement are really crisp, sweet game

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I really like the graphics and the types of creatures that get shot out of the cannon! It was a bit hard to control the direction of the cannon, the sensitivity felt a bit high. Well done!

Arowx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Looks good, but found the controls hard to use.

TheCams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I like the style, and the monsters are cool, I wish there was more of them! Nice Job

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Simple game and concept, but it was fun and really nicely made. I love the design. Good job

Hammers says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Lovely graphics and animation. Some quick hints on how to control the cannon would have helped but it wasn't too hard to figure out :) This has a lot of promise. Great work!

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Cool game, the art work really well, the gameplay too, i think it will port really well to mobile. the thing that was missing for me is some kind of marking to tell me what was my last shot ( maybe a dot to where my cursor was?) because the camera movement and time between two shot is quite long and i was always forgeting the exact position.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

I really like the idea of firing mystical beasts out of a cannon to destroy a competing city.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47am

I see you with the Mothra & Godzilla references! Good stuff, lol. The cannon aiming & power could use a bit of refinement, but other than that, nice work!

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

Awesome graphics and fun gameplay. The controls felt a little awkward (I tried aiming from the front) and you had to be very accurate to actually hit the other guy, but it was still heaps of fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

this was great! aiming was wonky but the core game was great - would love to see more work on this

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Lovely graphical style - this could turn out really nice if given more work.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

wow, nice game here! Reminded me (a little) of Rampage :) But it is a litte hard to move the canon

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:59am

Oops, *"This game reminds me...", I am sleepy now :p

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I love this! The bot kicked my ass but the idea is great!

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I always hated this cannon like games, yet you made it absolutely adorable, so I finished the whole game (I lost :( ) and changed my opinion on cannon like games :D

jovoc says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:54pm

That's amazing! Love the cannonball animation. Great art style. Destructable building! Would be great with a 2-player mode

TeamCalcium says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:04am

Neat idea and great artstyle but the aiming made the game less enjoyable unfortunately

JDAivaliotis says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:31am

Art style was really cool. The game felt pretty nice, but I didn't really feel a point to playing past the first stage.

Some more sound work would have made this game go much further!

May 6, 2015 @ 2:48am

Simple concept executed well. Loved your limited sound effects and art style.

May 6, 2015 @ 4:32am

Excellent work tying the gfx/sfx to the arc/firing. The blocky style works well here.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]