Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cheesy Defender

by SledKnight - Jam Entry

*** First ever Ludum Dare (and first game), ever!
*** I did this in 48 hours, under Compo rules. I just missed the deadline. :)

Help defend the cheese for 3 minutes and 20 seconds, with super sharp paper airplanes... because... why not?

INSTRUCTIONS
Tap the ground and save the golden goodness!
(tap to the left for slower planes, to the right for faster planes)
[the ground has three tap sensors, for near, middle, and far]

SCORING
-5 to throw a plane
+100 per rat
+1000 per cheese bits remaining at end of level 10

NOTES
*** time spent ***
~30 hours

*** tools used ***
Unity 5
Adobe Cloud
iPhone 6 Plus
Wacom Tablet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#302Humor(Jam)3.30
#417Theme(Jam)3.49
#492Audio(Jam)2.81
#575Fun(Jam)2.98
#610Graphics(Jam)3.10
#654Innovation(Jam)2.87
#749Overall(Jam)2.94
#829Mood(Jam)2.59

Comments

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13am

Kvik. I made to level 10, but it seems that the paper airplane flyes slightly unpredictably.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

I like the idea. And I love the sound effects <3

SledKnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36am

Sorry Huo-cuo, I've added instructions for where to tap to the description.
(tap to the left for slower planes, to the right for faster planes)
[the ground has three tap sensors, for near, middle, and far]

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46am

Cool game!

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

The sound effects were, cool, wished there was a funny bgm. And these rats won't just die. Airplanes fly too much(If you know what I mean).

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52am

The airplanes indicator is not great since it's just a gray number instead of a color or a bar that changes size. I think that for some of the fast mice it's not possible to hit them before they reach the cheese, unless I get lucky and throw the plane before they come onscreen. Also I couldn't figure out how to aim right next to the cheese, it would usually overshoot.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

Great job on the game. The difficulty is not to easy, but it also isn't too hard.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

I like the three-dimensional element of the field!

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very fun concept! I liked those mice, especially their standing animation :D And very lovely "squeek") Congratulations on your first LD entry and game!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:56am

I gave you 5 stars for the audio, those chewing sound effects had me pretty shook, lol. I hate rats...but love this concept!

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:32pm

This game is really funny and also fun. Loved the squeaks from the rats when you hit them with the paper planes. Nice job!

hbocao says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:19am

hahah loved the sound effects! Simple but fun :)
At first was kinda hard to hit the rats that were too close to the cheese.

gruhn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:40am

A funny idea for a first game!
As a tip, there could be some visual indicator showing in which row the plane would be landing.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

"Squeak!" I laughed out loud. Very funny =)

I found the airplanes to be a little hard to control, but still had fun

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:23am

funny game :) a bit hard to aim at the beginning but after some time i got it ;)

peecestudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:50pm

got to lvl 10 but ran out of cheese, nice game! could use some background music, and a bit easier controls when it comes to aiming. overall great game though

Mykaelos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:02am

That gets intense at the end. The rat animations are fantastic! Fun game!

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:41am

The mice started to appear and move too fast for me to throw an airplane at them. The delay of throwing a plane at the mice is rather long. I ended up just shooting as many planes as I can at such a short distance. Sort of worked... made it to the end.
Funny little game.

defacid says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:45pm

I wish that the aiming system was clearer because this game was pretty cool. Great graphics, great feel (when it feels like the airplanes are doing what I want), but it's just not a consistent feeling of fun due to the aiming.

recursor says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I really like how you did the art with photos. That cheese pile looks quite appealing. The sounds are also great. My only critique would be that I wanted a bit more control over the planes. The difficulty seemed to ramp up pretty nicely, and it is pretty hilarious too. There was one instance where a mouse seemed to jump up almost as if it was dodging the planes. It grabbed a piece of cheese and scurried off.

Interface says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:44am

Squeek! I guess they can dodge too! Had some difficulty to correctly aim for a particular row (depth?). Simple but fun game. Plane spamming only works for so long :-)

idoadler says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Poor Rats!
Nice first game :)

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Awesome first entry. I would like if it was more clear when and when you can't throw an airplane, as I'd have gaps in when I could throw that weren't completely clear. Great first entry though!

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:13pm

great paper airplane mechanic

Luminar says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Interesting concept :) I've almost lost all of my cheese :D

Borkleby says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:15am

Cute game, great art! But dang... those rats die in like the most gory and gruesome way possible. I almost feel bad for them. Almost.

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:02am

Great idea and game play. Would have really liked if the shoot button was another button other than mouse. Really like the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]