Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Life Support

by Firaa - Jam Entry

You are a survivor. Aliens have infested the space ship you reside on. You are not a soldier. Your only weapon is a jug of gasoline and a pack of matches. But the longer you stay aboard the ship, the more dangerous things become - not only are the aliens slowly evolving, but your ship is running out of oxygen!

Gather all four power cells on the stage and bring them to the generator at the bottom floor to power the life support system. Raise points by defeating aliens, collecting the power cells, or collecting the food.

Controls:
Movement - Arrow keys
Jump - Control
Pour Gas - Space
Throw Match - Shift

Notes:
- Options menu contains a particle quantity toggle. It comes on normal by default, and most users can raise it to high.
- The game gets harder as you progress.
- Remaining at the title screen will progress to show the high score screen.
- Flames spread. Be very careful that you don't burn yourself.

Hint: It may benefit you to insert the power cells into the generator one at a time.

Everything included in this game was made within the available time by one person. This game was intended to be entered in the Compo, but an internet outage meant a missed window.

This game is currently available as a windows standalone and requires no installation.

Thanks for trying out my game, and I hope you enjoyed it!

*** Update ***
It has come to my attention that Avira/Avast detected this game as a false positive because of the way I compiled it (single executable for ease of distribution). This has been addressed by re-uploading the .zip version. This version also contains a total of three fixes:
- Fixed: no longer detected as a false positive
- Fixed: game-stopping crash upon reaching level 25
- Fixed: left/right keys not working on ladders, preventing the player from aiming throws

The old .exe download remains available for download for archival purposes.

If you can, leave a comment to let me know if you thought the game was too easy or too difficult. Let me know what killed you the most. It'd really help me fine-tune the difficulty in future work. The high score table default value for first place was just slightly lower than my highest score, and the fifth place entry was what I deemed to be a reasonable score for five levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#351Innovation(Jam)3.34
#382Theme(Jam)3.54
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#428Fun(Jam)3.18
#480Audio(Jam)2.85
#514Graphics(Jam)3.31

Comments

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32am

When on the ladder, it would be better if player could change direction to throw gas or match.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15pm

My Avast detects a `Win32:Malware-gen` in your game.

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Anyone have any ideas why Avast is detecting something with my game? I checked my .exe at VirusTotal and apparently Avira also doesn't like it, either, but everything else is fine: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/0f4c1d35e39db6054ea59995811ab838cfe08d74e9f3f2d5d557008abc74db03/analysis/1429627679/

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nevermind, I have figured it out. It was the way I compiled the game. I was compiling it into a single executable for ease of distribution, and Avast/Avira was detecting it as a false positive. I have re-uploaded the zip file version of Life Support that was compiled in a different manner to avoid being detected as a false positive.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20am

This was really cool. I loved how you combined horror and arcade elements. That was an awesome mechanic and it worked even when I expected it wouldn't. I loved how if you kept pouring the gasoline while it was on fire it could follow the trail up to you. Really cool effects!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02am

Looks like it's a good game! I liked the graphics based on the screenshots you took of it. Unfortunately I wasn't able to run you game (I'm using MAC OS X). You should consider later building a OS X and/or a web version! I'll come back later to play your game then :D
Looks like you've done a good job

BlakeB says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:20am

Amazing game, difficult though. Had a hard time getting past about level 4 with my poor platformer skills and my inability to plan my fires effectively and safely. I somehow missed the tutorial "cutscene" the first time through, so I was a bit confused, but caught it the second time through. Feels very classic, and that's a good thing.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17am

I like the gasoline mechanics and that it's similar to arcade or NES games.

humbleness says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54am

I love this style of graphics and audio. I noticed no bugs except that if you place a fire over the spawn and die from it, when you respawn the fire will still be there and you may get killed a second time (although this isn't too much of an issue).

I like letting the players figure out the controls and the objective on their own

Gomango999 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:13am

This was a really good game! My only complaint was that the controls were took a little bit to get used to.

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:14pm

putting gasoline then firew to kill? nice idea :o!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:15pm

This was fun little game. I felt truly enjoyed by killing to enemies with the gas and fire. Especially those weird butterflies :P What could make this game even better could be background music and maybe some configuration with the keyboard controls.? :)

herniewise says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:46am

this was fun - love the old school feel to it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]