Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Scream(But not too much)

by Embalaje - Jam Entry

You and a friend have fallen down into a cave. Find the cell Phone to get some help.

As I heard that Sound was too loud, now the web Version has a Fix, so it don´t disturb anyone. Original still on download links.
But remember: As the Title says, it´s about to screaming ;)
--
"Enter" To Skip Intro
Arrows to move.
"Up" or "X" to jump.
"X" short jump(this is a bug but...hey you can use it!)
"Z" to hit(when you find the powerup)
Hold SPACEBAR to make an earthquake

--

Made with Construct 2. Music with Garage Band. Effects: www.bfxr.net/(Thanks for this!!)

Have fun!

--

Edit:
V1.01 You can die(you couldn´t in the V1.0 by mistake)
V1.02 More visibility. Moved the spikes that player can´t see(not removed)
v1.03 Sound was reported as to loud, it´s lower now.
As requested: You can skip the intro.



...

If you have some issues, please tell me, I´m happy if you help me to make the game better, I´m learning! :D
Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#332Audio(Jam)3.18
#337Overall(Jam)3.42
#357Graphics(Jam)3.60
#391Theme(Jam)3.53
#395Mood(Jam)3.23
#428Fun(Jam)3.18
#478Humor(Jam)2.94
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14

Comments

dylanigan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:12am

Pretty cool game! Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I really dig the art and the atmosphere. The web version didn't seem to have any health? (My guy was immortal, it seems.) Good job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Oh man, this is awesome! The scream was pretty intense when first used, was not expecting that! I like the mechanic, could definitely see that being used a bunch more in a complete game!

Solid style, nice music in the background, seems to loop well and not too intrusive. Some good progression with unlocking abilities too, great work! :)

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Thanks!Drauthius!
Yeah...it was sadly inmortal. It shouldn´t, I forgot to enable "dead" after testing.
It´s fixed now.
Now you can download both "Inmortal" original version" or fixed with "Die" condition.
Ah! and i´m uploading the 64bit(win/linux/osx)

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Your comment makes me really happy HotBoxGames!
I want to keep working on this screaming mechanic, so the player can solve more problems.
Thanks!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54am

Cool entry, liked the graphics and the music, and using the scream just feels so damn good xD

Good luck!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Nice game, screaming mechanics is creative. Also the controls feels good.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:03pm

The pico pixel graphics are so very awesome. Great animation.
Love the idea of the scream/earthquake.
Solid tight controls.
Excellent work.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:02am

Neat game, would have liked to see more to do with the earth quake

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:30am

You`re right Kabutakogames. Me too! i´m on it!

kivano says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19am

Nice game! Great job overall :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice Concept! I wish there was a way to peek down or extend the light range. Blind jumps down into long falls is a bit frustrating.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I even didn´t tough about that, that´s the problem when the creator is also the tester.
Thanks for your advice!
I'll keep in mind for the v1.2

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Love the style! Also made a platformer/Metroidvania thing, so I'm glad I found yours. Platform physics seem pretty solid, although variable jump heights would have been nice! Screaming is a fun mechanic but I wish I could see more of the screen, the darkness is a bit overkill! "THAT WAS TOO MUCH" haha. Top marks :)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Dope! The scream mechanic is cool. +1 for the pixel art. Very well done!

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Whoa. What a great game! Really enjoyed the visual feedback to the player's actions.

psychonull says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Great game. The graphics and sounds are great. It's really fun. Great job!!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice game ! Some bugs but really fun though. I like the level design.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice style!

geekdrums says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:25pm

How can I skip the opening?

Embalaje says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Sorry geekdrums, I had no time to make this option. I´m working on it for the post-mortem.(I´m a "newbie", and made some mistakes that I´m not sure how to fix, this is one of them :( )
You can find some hidden lives to have some help:
Spoiler:
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
Down of the map left through a wall
Down of the map in the middle(you can see it)
Top right through a wall(it´s a little hard to go inside because of the collisions sistem, but you can)
!
!
!
!
!
!
!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Thanks everybody! I´m happy of your opinions! It´s my first time here, and the first "thing" I do and I find Ludum Dare AWESOME!
I´m learning a lot from you!

jmborden says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:51am

Opening is way too long and the sound is way too loud. Respect the player!

Embalaje says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:58am

Thanks for your help jmborden.
I´m sorry if the sound was too loud. :(
I made the sound lower and now you can skip the intro(Also for the web version)
Of course the original file still on the main links to download.

May 7, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Very good take on the theme, nice little compact game that works excellently, good stuff!

SByte says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:11am

Very solid game, perhaps the most innovative game I've played this LD. Yes, definitely a good take on the theme :)

Maybe the only problems I've found are the scream sound being a bit too loud and that it seems impossible to know where the rocks will fall when you scream.

But as I've said before, other than that is a pretty solid game. Well done!

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:42am

Pretty cool. The controls were slick. The yelling ability doesn't seem to do much, but it could be really interesting if expanded upon.

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:54am

Nice! I enjoy the visuals and sound a lot. Intense controls, took some time to stop running into dangerous stuff.. Using the scream felt good!

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:57am

Whoa! This is really good! "Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey"...*That was too much*...XD

Nice work with the pixelated graphics, audio and soundtrack! Controls also work like a charm! Game is also really humorous and fun! :)

volkoivan says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:22am

That was good, but for me it was hard to play. The scream mechanic is pretty hard to understand at first and the spikes are hard to see.
But that was a good and interesting one, it just needs more in-game tutorials on how to play.

Jasonsumm says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:29am

Love the style ! I need to investigate construct!

sathorn says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Very cool, i enjoyed it. Some criticism: the font is hard to read, the spikes are hard to see, i didn't understand at first why screaming too loud was a bad thing, i didn't know what to do once i found the phone. Other than that the game is really good!

Knowledge says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Cool game and concept.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fun and interesting, although I had a hard time determining what "too much" was. Also, some of those spike pits were really unfair! Neat concept, though, and well executed. Great job!

Embalaje says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:59am

Really glad about your comments! Thanks for your nice words and of course for the criticism, so I can make the game better.

I´ll work with those Spikes, yeah, they are unfair!

The font is self made-drawn, I have to fight with the resolution of the game 160x90px(that was challenging and fun)Next time they souldn´t speak at all, thought.

About the screaming concept: It´s like a "seed" I put it on earth and is growing up. I had to limit it´s complexity since I´m not a programmer and was out of time, but i´m definitely on it.

Cheers!

wademcgillis says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:09am

weeeeeEEEEHHHH

wademcgillis says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:10am

The spikes were a little too dark to see sometimes, resulting in loss of health/life. I died a lot at first because I tried to punch the worms once I got the punching ability.

Embalaje says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Meh! I didn´t want to think about this issue. That´s a bad mistake. I have to think how to deal with it.
So V.1.0.4 should wait some days more
Thanks for your advice! I´ll fix this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]