Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Basement RPG

by KBF123 - Compo Entry

A game made in RPG maker VX ace
It's my first Ludum Dare entry... So I may have made several
mistakes, I'll learn though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#543Mood2.94
#579Graphics3.00
#800Overall2.89
#816Theme3.00
#847Fun2.69
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Not able to play this unfortunately. Downloaded and extracted the files, ran the exe and got an error: "RPGVXAce RTP is required to run this game."

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Can't play, on app start a message pops up that reads: "RPGVXAce RTP is required to run this game."

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I'm having these same problems, "RPGVXAce RTP is required to run this game." Which is a real bummer, because i love RPGs. Let me know if you find a fix and i'll come back and give you a rating!

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I really liked the graphics and the idea to dodge every enemy because you were not able to kill them. However I collected everything and then I tried to kill the blue thing at the door, but I just couldn't make it. Did I miss some hidden door? Please dont hide doors at places you cant see.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

The face sprites are really nice, the overworld ones aren't. Can't get past the first area sadly. An eraser is a nice fit to the theme. Overall, okay.

KBF123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

To answer WebFreak001's question, there is no secret doors
but you may have to equip the items you received.
For everyone else, I try fixing it somehow.

laluis1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

This game looks great, but I cannot play it. The graphics look fun, and the idea of using an eraser as a weapon is great. I hope RPG maker VX Ace fixes the error so I can play it.

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Since I already have RPG Maker VXA and can run this, this is quite okay... kind of. It's a good start if you are developing RPGs.

First, don't do big glaring text on the game over screen. Since you're doing VXA, I suggest learning random encounters as well and the battles escapable. Spiders alone are hurtful enough, I had to at least avoid 88% of the time... unless that what you intend to do. Plus, the text saying "your Eraser is unequipped" and such when you get something new..... and healing items.

Please don't take this as offense but please, keep on improving! I suggest exploring more of RPGVXA if you plan to join the next dare.

It's interesting I never thought of using school supplies and battling in a spider-infested house that you live in can be such a nice concept.

Here's a nice tip: Compress your game data, include the RTP. You can find it at "File > Compress Game Data" then upload it, then people can use that than spending the hassle of getting the RPGVXAce RTP.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:14am

not bad, i like the concept.
some things to think about
-when leaving the room in any of the 3, you come back out from the 1st door
-if i went straight to dire room and took the bowl, i still get spoon without ever owning the pen.
all in all good attempt

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:20am

188 MB...........................................................................................................................................

KBF123 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

You can delete it afterwards, you know

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

Entertaining, with nice graphics. The battles should probably be balanced more. Even the "easy" spiders deals a lot of damage, so you pretty much have to avoid them, rather than fighting them.

On a Ludum Dare related note, your profile page won't display, unless you post at least once on the main page.

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:04am

Not bad for a first time on LD.
I did find a little strategy in this game: just get to the darn weapon. After that, it was a major cakewalk of slaying all the spiders. Of course leveling up helped too. I've played it to the end at least and glad it wasn't too difficult. Sadly, there isn't anything innovated I can say about this game, but I hope you'll participate on the next LD!

BtheDestroyer says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Using RPG Maker VX Ace is kind of a bad decision for something like this because EVERYONE else needs to have it in order to play. Luckily, I do have it but not many people do.

May 7, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Liked the writing and the theme, but seemed unable to actually win any fights. Looks like you've mentioned equipping the items you pick up but I don't see how to do that.

May 7, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Also, the spiders only have 6 legs?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]