Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

THE REVENGE OF IMHOTEP

by sawyerWeld - Compo Entry

IMHOTEP and his goons want to end the world! The only way to stop them is by killing them with a SUPER-SOAKER full of HOLY WATER.

This shooter game is my first ludum dare entry and my first full game!

----Controls are explained in game as well as here----
- Use WASD to walk around
- Use the left mouse button to spray holy water (if you have it)
- You will always look at your cursor position
- Use [R] to restart a level
- Use [F4] to go fullscreen (recommended)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#214Graphics3.68
#337Mood3.19
#397Overall3.34
#452Fun3.16
#459Audio2.87
#584Humor2.65
#590Theme3.30
#861Innovation2.63

Comments

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17am

Really awesome looking! polished through the roof and was really well drawn. i love it

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26am

Satan is watching you.. I mean, your game. He thinks it's really good, keep going bro.

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Can't beat the second lvl!

Nice job though.

androxz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

wow, really good game this alone could be some phone game, I'm impressed

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43am

yeah i think lvl 2 is too hard. most of my work was on imhotep, the boss on lvl 3!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Love the pixel art and the weapon. I get stuck in walls quite often. Smooth gameplay, simple yet effective. Best game ever, 10/10 would play again. :-)

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Not a bad game! I liked the top-down shooter feel it had. Couldn't beat IMHOTEP though. Nice job!

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I loved it! Very well made. My only major complaint would be that you have no idea how much damage you've done to an enemy.

Well done.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

That's some nice polish!
The movement and firing felt super good and responsive, I'm very impressed :)
Level design could have been improved, and I'm sure a larger variety of enemies could have made this game incredibly fun. You have a really good base for a super awesome game though!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Pretty fun!
I enjoyed the graphics and the holy water gun.
Wall collision could have been a bit smoother though, I got stuck against/in walls a few times.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Blasphemously funny!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Sadly a bit short ;D I see an interesting mechanic here: starting and going through a level full of enemies and then going backwards and trying to kill them effectively. If you want to make a post-compo version, I would focus on that aspect of the game, e.g. by making the ways to kill enemies not trivial (from save spots).

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice mechanic with the holy, a nice take on the theme. Could not record it with Open Broadcast though.

vandriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I can definitely see the seeds of this being a puzzle game. Especially if there are other enemy types that could aid you in some way - even if they just are blocking shots from different ones. Finding a way through the level and finding the right order to kill things in.

Controls and fighting felt very fluid. Get it? Some feedback for when you're spraying enemies would be helpful. The boss wasn't too bad, but everything took a touch too long to kill. Lower water supply and lower number of shots to kill things will speed up the action while keeping the game pretty similarly balanced.

lumscum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:30am

I liked the graphics. Everything felt pretty polished. Would've been nice to see more levels and greater variety of enemies though!

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:18am

this was fun, second level was hard core.

SySaNiN says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Well done!

ceosol says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Controls would lock up depending on your location compared to the location of the mouse. The mouse click would randomly stop working also, probably for the same reason. I got frustrated and quit. What I did play of the game was really interesting. Supersoaker to destroy demons was a great idea for the theme. The spray mechanics were really nice, too.

sawyerWeld says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:32pm

@ceosol was this on a specific level? i've never experienced that

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]