Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cold Dungeon

by MysteriousMolarGoblin - Jam Entry

You play an unnamed protagonist attempting to outrun an unnamed villain. Our unconventional weapon is the power to sneeze and slow down your enemy.

The dungeon is procedurally generated each game. The object is to survive for as long as possible. You can do co-op (very untested) with up to 4 players on the same screen (gamepads required) Made with unreal engine 4.

This very unpolished. The menus don't work properly. Once you get into the game its kinda playable. Maybe in the future we'll have a go at cleaning it up. If anyone wants the source, we will upload it.

Controls:

Normal fps and Gamepad controls. Left click to sneeze.

Credits:

Main Programmer/Designer: Ajani Bilby

Unreal Noob /Sound editor/Made that one texture you see everywhere: MolarAmbiguity

Music: TheMysteriousOrb

This is our first game that we've made ever. Ludum Dare was a really great experience. We all looking forward to rating some games and being astonished at how much more others got done.


The dungeon generator is from here: https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?505

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#569Graphics(Jam)3.18
#816Innovation(Jam)2.53
#873Mood(Jam)2.47
#933Fun(Jam)2.38
#957Theme(Jam)2.47
#992Overall(Jam)2.56
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Nice Doom view, good entry.

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

Looked very cool, level generation is always awesome! But I really didn't get it. I didn't even realize I was supposed to run from the red guy for a bit, and, I never finished the first level. Also, I think I was using the sneezes wrong because I couldn't make them do anything.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

@skylerWithAnE yea there is only one level. The sneezes should slow down the enemy for a few seconds. After 30 seconds another AI should spawn.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice entry!
Unreal engine is always the best :')
Well done!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:47am

Realy Cool!

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51pm

The level generation is awesome:) I found it difficult to see where the enemy behind me was, but the shadows thrown on the wall infront of me made me feel really scared...

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Lived the random level generation, the weapon was gross!

TeamSpatch says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Good level generation. But first I didn't figure how to see my enemy and what it looks like (and kill me).
Then I had the idea to look back ^^, and try to kill him (what I failed). Is it possible to kill the enemy ?
And I shouldn't have tried: I died way more than when I ran away and explore the dungeon : ).
Is it possible to grab the ammos that I shoot ?
Maybe fix the mortality of the enemy (and respawn of course^^) and it would increase the interest.

May 3, 2015 @ 11:08am

MolarAmbiguity speaking:
@TeamSpatch, You can't kill the enemy, nor pick up ammo. We know the game isn't very fun, a post-compo version may be around soon (maybe). Some of the ideas we had for this I'd like to incorporate into another idea I've had.

Thanks to everyone for trying out Cold Dungeon!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]