Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blockmancer

by SByte - Jam Entry

No weapons in sight? Don't worry!, the terrain itself is the only weapon you need! Use it to make your way through the demons and reach the altars in each level in order to complete them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#72Theme(Jam)4.04
#75Innovation(Jam)3.89
#248Overall(Jam)3.55
#249Mood(Jam)3.44
#346Graphics(Jam)3.63
#438Fun(Jam)3.17
#634Humor(Jam)2.61

Comments

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51am

Lovely nice retro pixel art!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58am

Loved the idea. The music and art style set a really pleasant tone. Very challenging though.

furriKira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Very challenging and I really love the art style!
Quite a unique take on the theme as well~

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

I like this! Good take on the theme and pretty good execution! It's pretty difficult but rewarding to figure out. I like the art as well!

notrorschach says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12am

One of the best interpretations of the theme. Loved it.

lvoursl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very interesting idea! Well done!
I like it!:)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

Controls are a bit hard, but the idea is, like many other said, refreshing. I loved it. However, you should explain a bit how to play, I had a hard time understanding that you had to keep the mouse button down to throw the block.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

Really cool idea, the music sets a good mood and I love the pixel art (: Well done!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Cool idea.If you just throw a rock on top of an enemy without force the enemy disappears but is not killed and you cant move on to the next level.Bug or feature?

SweetByte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06pm

@eddynardo: Definitely a bug, I'll fix that as soon as possible

Thanks you all for the compliments and feedback!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice Game! While the Unconventionality of using your Enviroment as a Weapon was not fully in focus (since you can just ignore the enemys and move on ahead), it still was a really good idea implementing it. I love the puzzles this game has, and my only point of criticizism is that you need to kill yourself to restart the level manually. Everything apart from that is pretty good. I like it.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Innovative mechanic and impressive graphics

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02am

Really liked your games pixel art and music, suited it. However I didn't entirely understand it, and I think I solved the first puzzle a different way because I didn't know how I was meant too (http://i.gyazo.com/0b6d3ac97fb6bca7703432e69da30f82.png) I still really enjoyed it though, and playing it, I could see the depth of the gameplay. Really well done! I also like the starting story, shot your mood ratings up for sure. Pretty much gave all 4 stars.

Conpletly unrelated: Your website and demain name is so cool.

(I accidently posted this on the wrong persons game, it was meant to be posted here :D )

syawqy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15pm

great idea, but kind of hard for me

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I wasn't immediately clear on what to do, but once I got it, I loved it. Nice art style, soothing music, interesting levels. Definitely fits the theme of the jam.

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25am

hahaha, I like it, good mechanics to continue working on a more complete game

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Good game. It has some bugs, but it is still pretty polished for a jam entry.

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Such a cool and simple game! The last panel was a little frustrating when you don't know you HAVE to kill the monster if you wanna win!
Awesome idea and awesome game, great work!

01010111 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:33am

Really fun game, loved the idea. One thing I would change is the throwing mechanic. I think maybe a "Flappy Birds" type click and drag would be more intuitive. Love the music, it fit really well with the game.

Some of the graphics could have used a bit more polish, but they work well for what you've done :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice presentation and music! Very interesting central concept. It could use a bit of work on the block-throwing controls maybe, as I found dragging the blocks up and clicking on the arrow to be a tad fiddly. Good stuff though.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

It was rather hard to control where the block goes, but other than that - it's pretty good.

Embalaje says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Clever game! Very beautiful. Nice mechanics, make you think but it´s not frustrating.
Hey, want to play more :D

ViKing Games says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:02pm

The concept itself is interesting and decently implemented, but the level design could've been a bit better. Being hit by enemies next to the spawn point was a bit frustrating.

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I liked the concept although the block throwing controls were pretty awkward at times.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]