Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Agent Of Souls

by Norbex - Compo Entry

You are a secret agent and you have a special briefcase. When you decide to use it, a laser gun will appear and block you body for 5 seconds, so your soul can walk around, use computers to open doors and make people disappear.

How to play: go through the levels by using computers to open doors and bridges. If you can't reach a place, use the soul mode. You can't get hurt or get noticed in soul mode. You can teleport yourself to the next level at the end of each level. (You can only teleport when you're not using the soul mode!)

Tools:
- Game Maker: Studio
- sfxr
- Audacity

Thank you for checking out and playing it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Innovation3.41
#352Mood3.17
#380Overall3.36
#401Graphics3.30
#509Theme3.40
#537Fun3.07
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

mike1101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Very cool art style. Feels unique and consistent.

I had trouble playing it. I managed to teleport through the first barrier but then what ? Maybe I'm playing it wrong ...

Also it got stuck a couple times. Mostly when I try just against walls ...

Norbex says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Thank you for your comment and feedback!

I updated the description with some instructions on how to play the game! I hope this will be helpful for you and other players!

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:15am

Great Ideia!!! very cool!

Valon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:23am

Very nice idea and good looking art.

I got stuck quite a bit of time on walls and whatnot tho. But nice game!

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:42am

Very nice, the atmosphere was really good! Also fit the theme well.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice Game and Art style But i got stuck on the walls and could not move. Made it kinda hard to play. Good game regardless :D

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:48am

Fun game. I was fond of my suit man, but I kept getting stuck on walls and then got permanently stuck in a wall.
I don't think I really understood what the weapon did.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:55am

Pretty nice game. I wish it had some music though. Like the others i got stuck against the wall a few times, and when closing the door on level 3.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:09am

I like the color scheme

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:11am

Very cool! Some nice puzzles and love the sound effects!

Great job!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12am

Great art and idea!! Agree with everyone, including troubles with collision in the wall xp

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17am

Nice game, good arts.
The tool is sooooo good that finishing the game with it so easy.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:19am

Great mechanic, the puzzles were fun! Some nice chill music would have gone well with this I think, and the platforming was a little janky at times but all-around solid game!

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:20am

I beat it! Nice game. The collision detection was a bit wonky though, I kept getting stuck on walls, which was a bit frustrating.

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very pretty game, i love the visual effects! It was also really rewarding feeling the constraint of the main character and then suddenly having speed to run around and higher jumps. felt good to play it

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29am

Nice game, I like the style and concept, but I can't get it to play, I'm getting stuck near the walls.

Filippy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39am

Neat game, smooth gameplay

Indie Squid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:43am

I like the main mechanic. I like to go in blind, so it was fun to figure out what is going on without reading about the game first. :)

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:51am

This is a really fun mechanic! The walls being a bit sticky drew me out of the experience a bit but it was still fun.

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:06am

I like this game! Interesting mechanic. It'd be nice if you didn't stick to the walls though.

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

Stuck to the walls a bit, but once I got the hang of it it was pretty fun =)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15am

Wasn't much fun to play as there wasn't any direction and the level design was a bit unintuitive at times. (What does this lever do?) Otherwise the concept of ghosting around was alright. Input seemed a bit laggy.

Zipydooda says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15am

I really liked it! The art style was great, and the adaptation of the theme was unique! Aside from the parts of the game where I got stuck in/on walls and couldn't move, it was awesome!

UserAnon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very cool, i blasted past the controls by accident but still found my way :P Really interesting mechanic in transforming, very simple, but yet really cool

Somnium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21am

I had to restart a single time (I became stuck in the door in the first level). I very much enjoyed the "scouting ahead" mechanic!

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

I like your idea of a soul extraction device. This has potential for some cool puzzles. I got stuck a lot and found it hard to predict the jumping distance, though. That was bad for my game flow.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

I really ejoyed it. But I had to restart the game several times because I got stuck on the Walls. Great potential for epansion :) Good Work

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30am

5/5 in graphics, love the concept and the style was really consistent and impressive. The movement was really clunky though, mainly when it came to walls.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

there's a really cool idea here, and you made some pretty interesting puzzles around the capabilities of the spy's out-of-body character. The slightly buggy platforming detracts slightly from the experience, but it's not game-breaking, and it's easy enough to ignore.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

I like overall idea, but controls need to be more polished. Stucking on walls ruins game pace. Also I like texture effect over pixel art when you in soul. I think good to have more such effects. It makes your pixel art looks different from other games.

natalye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Very cool game mechanic.
There are some glitches with moving and jumping, sometimes the character gets stuck in a wall and can't move, or jumps don't work because you're too close to the wall.
The puzzles were interesting. The first time I encountered another person I didn't know he was an enemy. But that was learned quickly.

soul6942 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

damn son, i like it alot. i got stuck as well but then read the description and now im all good

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Cool concept! The platforming mechanics were a bit tough to deal with (getting stuck on walls and in walls), but still fun!

laxeot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

I loved this. Really nice art and I honestly enjoyed this game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

Good art style! I got stuck against the wall in the first times playing, but I liked the idea. Congrats!

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:55am

Good idea about remote control of another entity. But I'm stuck in door and unable to process further

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20am

Wow there's a lot of levels! I at least finished like 7 of them. There really should be a restart level button though, I got stuck in wall somehow.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21am

You have an excellent start here, but the wall clinging glitch and obfuscated gameplay didn't do wonders for me. I love the theme, and the graphics are stellar. I hope you work on this and do more with it!

lamphj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51am

Great Job! I was able to make it though the entire game to the congrats screen. You really nailed it with your mechanic. Lots of different uses you implemented and it worked great for scouting out the level with your invincible soul and slowly creeping through with your main body. You did an awesome job with the amount of levels as well! Solid compo entry.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35am

Really like the graphics!

Cerberus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36am

Completely loved the game, the mechanics are really clever, its a really good game design and it was really enjoyable. Excellent Job one of the best i have seen yet.

carrymove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51am

Nice game. I like visual style.
Also, I think physics can be better.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10am

Very good idea, good game but puzzle is too easy

racarate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

that was great, played through to the end. only comments are the jumps feel a little broken (get stuck in walls), the number "1" in that font looks like "7" which really confused me at first and it was hard to tell if a switch was in the on or off position. was also going to say that the levels seemed to get easier at the end, but the last level was a doozy. my favorite part was the metroid corridor where the ghost dad couldnt get up so real you had to. i was half expecting the rest of the game to be real you only, to teach you a lesson for sending ghost dad into the spikes all game.

racarate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

oh and i would have loved to hear some music from you, curious how you would pair up with the visual look.

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

I really like the mood and the idea :D. Good work

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

Love the idea and the graphic style, really worth playing it :D

lion123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01am

Add a restart button (R for example). Sometimes you get stuck. Cool game anyways!

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52am

Hi, I liked the mood and overall style, but you left out Azerty users with your control schemes :(.

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43am

Another World? Nice atmosphere.

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

I'm giving +1 because game works with wine on linux :)

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00am

Great game, those dam pikes in later levels are a nightmare, but I finished the game! I realy like the mood and the puzzles are cool. Jump and collision are a bit buggy but I add challenge. Keep up the good work!

OCTAPlatinum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04am

Cool Game!

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

Looked pretty cool. The soul mode mechanic was fun. Sticking on the walls was frustrating though.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Interesting (if bizarre) kind of dual-world mechanic with a spot of stealth on top. Simply presented and easy enough to play. Pretty good!

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Nice game. Its hard at the start to figure out how to play but when you get it you take fun of it. As someone before me, I think that in the last level, I got perma stuck at the beginning of the level.

repstyle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice idea here.
I've finished the game :)

Not many graphics but they're working together.
Physics make the character stuck onto wall and it can be useful as blocking.

I think also that the condition of the use of soul mode should work anywhere because sometime it doesn't work near a hole.

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:09pm

The collision detection is quite off, and as a fellow GM developer I know how easy it is to mess up collision. The hitboxes appear to be too large, and I can't quite tell if you've used precise collision detection (if you have, I would turn that off).
The idea of an Out of Body Experience mechanic is nice, but I feel that the level design doesn't do it justice. The game can't seem to decide if its a puzzler platformer where it uses the soul mechanic as a way of challenging the player to move around the map, or if its an action platformer where you go beat baddies.
I like this idea, but I feel as though a little bit more polish could've gone a long way.

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Fun concept! Love the art :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14pm

I enjoyed that. Your art style is very nice. There are a few problems with sticking to walls sometimes and not being able to jump, but otherwise good. There's a nice lot of levels too :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Great game. Innovative mechanic. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate mine at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=33865

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Cool, after play this game i imagine what i can do if this become reaaaaaaaalll....

i like thesound when the soul get out from body.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great game which could be improved by better physics. (Jumping, Sliding)

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

love the graphics and the mood

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Love it mate! Art.. is really wow! Also check my project ;) maybe u like my art too! =D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

The physics are sticky and glitchy, but the graphics are pleasant and the gameplay is fun. Well done.

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Really cool and fun game. Great idea! A bit twitchy collision detection though.

Vija02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Everything is nice except the collision. I got stuck a lot just like others

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Very cool graphics and mechanics!

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really cool game, nice mechanics controls well. I had fun with it

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Intresting mechanic. It's nice that it actually is so simple but so powerfull. I had some trouble with the jumping and lasering animations making me get stuck in the walls and the jump doesn't always work when you walk on spikes in soul mode. Overall a nice game!

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Deep blue color scheme and agents is what I like in games. It was fun and pretty easy to play. The levels were difficult and short enough. The character gets stuck in walls easily.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Apart from getting stuck some times, it's quite nice game, good mechanic!

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

nice one with sticky walls !

Jerre says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Loved it, good concept, fun to play. Took a little while to figure out what to do, and the controls were not very fluid, but all to gether one of the best I played yet!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Awesome! Love the mechanic, I was a little confused at the beginning but once I got it It was super fun, I started to speed run it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Really nice game, I had a lot of fun playing it - the puzzles were good. I was surprised at how many levels there are! I got pretty far in and then got permanently stuck in a wall though :(

QuexD says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Good art
corners are weird
hit boxes could be better
good work!

gv1351 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very interesting game, I like the art. Nice game I would actually want to see a full game of this.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Controls a bit laggy (I got stuck while jumping plenty of times), but overall game is really good, I like the concept.

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Great graphics, great concept and mechanics, and overall fantastic execution. Got stuck in the walls a little bit, made platforming a little annoying.

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice game, need to perform the collision. Very undonventional weapon :P

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:34pm

A few Bugs here and there, sure you are aware of them. Nice idea and well done!

sathorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

Cool looking game. The bugs however make it a pain to play.
Also i felt that most of the difficulty wasn't coming from the mechanic but from normal platforming.

PanKamil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28am

When I read I will make people disappear, I didn't think so literally ;). Great idea and level design, and the graphics also has its charm.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:42am

Cool idea, nice game desing (maybe bit too easy sometimes), only thing is that buggy behavior on the wall sides. Also, the controls weren't comfortable, W-A-D with space is for lefties, which most people are not. I had to play the game with my left hand..

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Good game. It's just that it's too hard to pass the 4th level (though maybe I just looked at it the wrong way).

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Great entry here. Vimpressed. I really enjoyed playing it and I like the style and feel of the game. Well done

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:28am

Had some collision issues, as well a fumbled the controls (can't do wasd very well as a leftie). But really liked the style and mechanics. Good job!
Thanks.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Other than getting stuck as others have said, good game. Nice mechanic - a slight twist on a couple of other "use the clone of me" games I've seen. Agree that with some collision detection/sticking issues fixed this'd make for a good multi-level puzzler.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]