Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Latvian Milk

by Dreyan - Jam Entry

Latvian Milk is a heartfelt, introspective look at the struggle of Latvian migrants in the early 20th Century no it isn't it's about shooting Zombies and Cthuloids in a large coliseum with a shape-changing gun yes well that's true but it focuses heavily on the theme of transculturalism and the diaspora experienced by pre-modern East European peasantry yeah but not really because most of it you just go Super Saiyan and blast people with big purple lasers why can't it be about both it's like you're trying to have your cake and eat it, and you're not even trying very hard just pick a definition of "indie" and roll with it ugh you just don't get it, it's art, how is it art oh whatever.

//----------//

The whole game was made without using any previous code or assets by a team of three people who have no experience in the field and who really need some sleep.

Check out our post-mortem here:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/25/latvian-milk-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Fun(Jam)4.18
#84Overall(Jam)3.87
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#156Humor(Jam)3.59
#293Graphics(Jam)3.74
#762Innovation(Jam)2.66
#810Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58am

doh, wish this was html5 or for mac. looks cool though

Dreyan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

It'll come to both I imagine in the next few days, fear not :)

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

can't play game..
this year's web player limitations are awful :(

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

This is the funnest game I have played so far. Great job!

Rscar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

I loved it! Felt very juiced :)

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

Creative and fun. I really liked the variety of interesting weapons.

ldds says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

I love it! I wish you could switch weapons in a better way, and the enmeies had some sort of HP. great game.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Looks great! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Good sound effects and the feeling of the weapons, but some explanation and maybe a list of controls wouldn't hurt.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Great little arena shooter, I liked the insane weapons. Some of the weapon names really made me laugh, especially a Glockwork Orange.
But mainly what I will take away from this is a new-found understanding of the Latvian people, and how the modern capitalist paradigm is diminishing their sense of cultural identity

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Intuitive gameplay was the highlight. Some great music, and I feel someone watched "The Art of Screenshake" and learned the important lessons from it ;)

The character sprites seem blurry, especially compared to some of the other sprites (like the barrels). The enemies feel too easy to avoid (the way they have to get near you and then do an attack?) The orange enemies are better in this regard.

Fun weapon variation, and a generally well put together game with some room for improvement.

Keep up the good work, and please do develop this further!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Very nicely done! The game feels very good and 'juicy'.

But even more different weapons would be nice. :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Fun game. I enjoyed the recoil of the machine gunn and killing 3 enemies in one shot with the laser.
When the character screams it reminds me of Jake from Adventure Time.

rallebauz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This is super cool! I think multiplayer, both co-op and versus, would be even more awesome.

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Hell, guys, you just won me with the description...

Then you won me with the music. Then with the screenshake-vlambeer style and the lightning and the juicyness. Then with every single weapon. Transforming like a saiyan is just saiyan: awesome. At this point it even doesn't matter if Chthuloids are on the game and I like them because Chthuluh...

The game is just awesomely FUN. I don't need more. Excellent work.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I learned so much about the Latvian Struggle, thanks man! I never knew there was so much heartfelt dispair going on in the world. cheers for the Latvians

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:46am

ok, i played this for way too long. sometimes you just want to blow stuff up. nice smooth gameplay, and the effects were excellent. good music too. great submission.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:49am

Weapons felt very polished and fun to play with! I'm impressed with the variety of weapons available in the game, and each weapon feels great to use as well (with the exception of the pistol, that thing sucks ass)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:56am

This is tons of fun. Play it for quite awhile. I found it to be a tad too easy. but It was fun to run around and get them all grouped together so you could blow them up with one shot. Well done

pkenney says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

Wow, a lot of fun!! The constant weapon switches were great, they made me play against the simple enemies in different ways. It was even more fun once I started using the barrels more.

Looks, sounds, and feels really good. Nice work!

grywhttl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

Really enjoyed this. Weapon variation is great!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:50am

Wow, my type of game! So many weapons auto switching keep surprises me. The fast pace shooting is very solid. Love the camera shakes and blood of enemy death. The audio is simple but just fits. Great work!

silentbaws says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51am

kind of sucks that I can be damaged while changing guns because I have no control over when that happens and no way to defend myself other than that it was a really fun game though

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58am

Really good art, music, and effects. The fact that the guns affect your movement is a nice touch, and they're over-the-top without being over-powered.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:56pm

sickk

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39pm

This is one of those gems you find in LD. Great job!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:50pm

It's a very fun to play game. I wish it was getting harder by time and I guess that's the only thing. Good job! :)

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Very cool game, everything seems to be polished and thought off, that's a rare sight!
Not so "unconventional" weapons but you still pretty much the theme.
Awesome work guys!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Best gameplay so far. Would like to have more variation and increased difficulty.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:09pm

What a fantastic game! Are there plans to continue developing it? Because there should be!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

We're working on it right now as a matter of fact, it's going to get a whole lot bigger :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Dat description doe xD

The weapon feel is pretty incredible... graphics are good, so is sound. The only thing I can suggest to improve is to make the weapons more unconventional... they are called unconventional names and look unconventional, but they don't behave in unconventional ways...

Aside from that, very solid entry, good luck!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Really fun and polished game overall. It might have been more fun if the enemies forced me into something other than circle kiting.

I loved the death art and variety of weapons.

It was fun to have different strategies with each weapon and pushing the barrels. You're onto something with the setup phase with the barrels and then having a new wave spawn. It's a good break in the pacing.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Love the description aha, This game feels awesome to play and love the music and art style!

-Neith

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:17am

Your game description MADE MY DAY!!! One of the best best games of this LD I've played so far. Love to see more weapons and boosts and power ups with more random levels to help be keep coming back to blast through enemies and save my Latvian Milk!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:18am

Great game, super fun and it looks fantastic. Some pretty simple mechanics, but they're executed very well. Nice work!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:27am

Very very good game. Would love to see more come of it.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:15am

Great game, very visceral feel to the guns. Good job.

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:21am

Incredibly polished and tight control. Very fun game. Cool mechanic using the guns to actually help you dodge around. Well Done!

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:40am

This game feels bloody amazing. Really polished gameplay. The guns aren't really unconventional, and the concept isn't that original, but it's just very satisfying to play.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Loved all the lighting and effects. I loved the bit of recoil you included as well. Really fun game.

JenniNexus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:29am

Lots of fun graphics, screen shake action & purple lasers !!! I would definitely crack out on this one on ios or googleplay styles. :-) Keep me posted if it goes to mobile!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:39am

I liked how frenetic it became when you don't know what weapon your going to get next. The milk as a health indicator is a cool concept, but was hard to tell how much health I had left.

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:31am

Hilarious and CRAZY fun. This game is so awesome. Very addicting too. I don't really know if I have any serious issues with this game. It was mostly perfect! Excellent work!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:43am

Nice!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:48am

You guys did a good job and deserve plenty of sleep. I only wish it fit the theme better.

spin-down says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I enjoyed playing this alot! The graphics and sound were great and the controls were nice and responsive. Good job guys!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:16am

Good shooter game that makes you feel the shots!
Also the history was so deep and made me open my eyes!
XD

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:45am

It was a fun game. I got stuck inside the wall and died. That didn't contribute to my fun.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:32am

Loved it. Is there an exit button?

Dreyan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:28am

Hi Omiya - sorry to hear, that never happened in testing. Reckon you'd be able to replicate the bug so we can isolate it and remove it from the build.

Octopus: no not in that build, although the game has been expanded since and we're continuing to make it a fair chunk larger :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:51am

AWESOME.

Cool animations, particularly when they die. Screenshake makes everything about 43x more fun too.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:04am

Nice game if it comes with good explanation. The concept of always switching weapon is good though.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Very nice entry! Great graphics and sound. Definitely detect some Vlambeer infuence which I like, some crate box and nuclear throne. I'm not sure about changing weapons based on time. Overall a very good entry!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Really loved this game! I actually had a similar idea with changing weapons in my game as well, thought I didn't have as much time to polish it since I went for the 48 hours. Love the music, sounds, mechanics and pretty much everything! Good job!

01010111 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Solid entry, I super enjoyed myself! Loved all the guns, loved the gameplay - think it could get a little more fast-paced and intense, would love to see where you could take it in a post-jam version.

The graphics were the weak link for me, but they aren't bad, so you did a great job overall!

Sweet gifs ;P

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

The weapon switch scream is amazing :D! Super fun and addictive gameplay.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Very fun and addictive game, loved the music. Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Trust me, after this Jam most of us are still in dire need of sleep!

Quite a great work then, all new assets during this period of a jam, quite a fast paced and fun game, all in all one of the most fun games around here, if you guys do this without any experience can't wait when you guys get more experience points!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:33pm

That was cool, good feeling playing this game.
Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

OMG THIS IS GREAT!! LOT OF FUN, GREAT GAMEPLAY AND NICE ART! WELL DONE!!! :DDD

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Crimsonland of LD32! Awesome!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Nice game! The juice is strong with this one.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Amazing. The only thing this game lacks is more weapons.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Really liked the lighting and effects, good job and solid experience :)

jackrugile says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:44am

Such a great arsenal. The guns, bullets and hero have such a great feel to them. Nice work! Nothing like lining up a huge row and blasting through all of them with the laser style gun.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Awesome, frantic and super fun! I love the weapon variety and the chiptune soundtrack. If you keep working on this, I'd love to see even more weapon variety and enemy variety. Great, great job!

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:47pm

One of the best games I have seen so far! I found it thanks to Elpaulo64 while he was streaming LD games.

steboots says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:12am

It was a good game, I had a lot of fun playing it, so my suggestion is not to make it seem like there's anything wrong with this game, rather than if you wanted to keep me glued to the computer all night you very well could have if:

Scale the difficulty to keep getting increasingly more challenging, and have the guns continue to upgrade to a constantly more powerful version.

Loved this game.

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Wonderful juicy little shooter. Great fun, good work!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Could've used a timer or score, but it's a really fun game! Nice work! My favorite was the minigun, the recoil is insane haha

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]