Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nightlight

by djfariel - Jam Entry

Nightlight is a game about facing your fears. As a boy named Zeke, you awake to find that your nightlight has gone out. Journey to the other side of your room to face your fears with your best friends: sock puppets.

I have always wanted to participate in Ludum Dare. However, I've always missed the start date by just a few days. This time, though, I found out when it was starting just four hours before hand. In that time, I managed to gather the Unibear Studio team and let them know what was going on. I was pleasantly surprised when they were just as excited about it as I was.

We scrambled to set up our stream, get our documents ready for brainstorming, and get started. We reviewed the themes and came up with a small plan for each one except for one: An Unconventional Weapon. The best idea we had was something along the lines of saving hostages with nuclear weapons. It was terrible, and it was the one theme we did not want. But of course it would be the one chosen.

After much deliberation we decided on our unconventional weapon: imagination.

Being new to this whole concept of 72-hour game development, we made a point to not overshoot our timeframe. Alas, we did anyways. We planned a small platformer with 6 unique areas, but only managed to finish two. However, the two that we finished, we finished completely. All of the artwork, audio, and scripting was done at the start of the jam. We used no external resources.

Hopefully you enjoy playing through those levels. We are looking forward to completely finishing this game up as we move past submission time.

Useful Links
==================
Concept Artwork: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/32/Sources/ConceptArt.zip
Sound Files: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/32/Sources/Audio.zip
Terrible, Quickly Written Scripts: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/32/Sources/Scripts.zip
Notes: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1CXdAQ1P9575n0I0uYadtVWXZAMxJ8pAygCR4UkAa7qs/edit?usp=sharing
Info Spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1d-96hqWpY46cq7TN5vcikN5cuUezYc3Ks6HDzhNHhtg/edit?usp=sharing


*We STRONGLY recommend you download the standalone version. While the web version is functional, it does not support friendly right-clicking and you may accidentally refresh the page. Also, as we have no one in our team that uses OS/X or Linux, they are untested.

WASD or arrows + spacebar to move, left and right mouse buttons to do things!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#162Mood(Jam)3.59
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#331Graphics(Jam)3.67
#532Theme(Jam)3.33
#684Overall(Jam)3.03
#725Innovation(Jam)2.73
#823Fun(Jam)2.60

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:16am

I like the art, but couldn't figure out how to do anything. Needs better tutorial.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

This is a really beautifully drawn game. I like the idea although it is a bit of the stretch for the theme. There is a lot of content in this game but I find it a bit tricky to control. I think all it needs is a little more feedback about when you hit something. Like make the doods flash or something. Welcome to the ludum dare!

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

This is great. I've always wanted to create a game about a kid defending themselves from things that go bump in the night. I really like the art style and using the stuffed animal / puppet as the weapon. Great job!

Orange says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28am

Scared me during the boss fight! Artwork and music is really good, but the game play needs more polish.

Todd Luke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

i liked the art and audio. some feedback from enemies when they take damage would be good

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Really great job on the art, solid game overall.

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

Needs a tutorial, I couldn't figure out how to do anything.

mitchellsha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34am

The quit button doesn't work

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34am

Very little direction on where to go. I'm assuming there's something else to find before I start fighting bosses? It took a very long time shooting the first boss that shot hands at me, and I still didn't get him.
Overall though the mood was very gloomy, and the art was great. One tip for the web build, there is a setting in Unity to disable Right click context menus, it's right in the build options. Check it out!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Love the art and SFX!

The first jimp was a bit wonky and the specter boss ended up spawning so many little guys that I couldn't kill them fast enough because I could only hit them half the time.

Overall a good game!

Great job!

pkenney says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:45am

Art and sound were very nice here. The gameplay itself was also solid but needed just a few small things to give me a bit more feedback. At first I was unsure if I was damaging the enemies, for example. It also made me make a few "blind jumps" which is always concerning. Maybe I was supposed to go a different way, though.

I liked the darkening of the player rather than a health bar. It did confuse me for a moment but I liked it anyway.

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

I like the art and the overall design. Can't go wrong with nightmare teddy-bears ;) I didn't realize I was taking damage until I died. It could use a GUI to explain such values to the user, even a simple number flashing on the screen would do. The use of the sock-puppets is a clever idea. Seems like this could become a pretty interesting game ;)

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Nice game, really cool concept and love the art!

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

Fun game, the audio is great :D
Wasn't super clear on the objective.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Darkening the player sprite as an indicator of health is a neat idea.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Don't feel bad, I think we all overshot when it came to our games. On the other hand, what you do have is quite nice! See you in four months with your next game ^^

gelisam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Beautiful welcome screen art. Music and sound effects are perfect for the game mood. Played a few times but didn't get very far. The slow shooting speed makes the game too hard for me :(

(rating and comment by my teammate François Mayrand)

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:35am

I didn't understand why there was a little tutorial about being able to light fires? I couldn't actually do that at all, but maybe it was b/c I was playing the Web Player version, where if I right click with the mouse, it just brings up the options for the Web Player instead of the game..? The flashlight "blinky" gun worked well though.

Good solid side scrolling game, though! I had fun with it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]