Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Brute Force Commander

by MobsterSquirrel - Jam Entry

In a far planet in space, a fearless commander(you) have to protect his planet from the yahks.

This game has a different ( and probably the worst ) mechanics.

Your unconventional weapon, of course is the text :)

Have fun guys!

----------------------------------------------------------

Do you like the menu sound?
Check Audio Productions' channel!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrdDKu09Y4a4IgiyRS7_BeQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#226Innovation(Jam)3.56
#755Overall(Jam)2.93
#863Theme(Jam)2.75
#946Fun(Jam)2.36

Comments

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

Nice looking game.

Nilq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55am

Nice.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

I don't know how to move.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51am

.w = up
.a = left
.s = down
.d = right

to see more options go to the menu and type "-h" (without the quotes)

blob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

It s weird I take everything out of the zip ( windows build) but i get "There should be 'BruteForceCommander_Data'
folder next to the executable" even though the directory is right there. :/

Bergara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

Very interesting idea. I think it should be slower paced though.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Interesting but hard.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Creative interface style, though it quickly became so irritating in practice that I gave up. :-( Typing the enemy's 3-character code wasn't the worst. Having to hit three separate keys to simply move a bit was too much though. Maybe a compromise where movement is achieved just by pressing WASD once, but it only applys on the frame when the key is pressed. So if you want to move up a bunch, you still have to hit W multiple times, once for each bit of thrust. The force multiplier could slowly ramp up if the player is repeatedly hitting the same direction quickly.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Interesting mechanics, but too hard to control everything through text in my opinion. I kept getting shot right away.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Good concept but it might work better in a turn-based environment.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Guys! Thanks a lot for the feedback!
I want to keep this game up because I personally like it, but I need more feedback! I'm very active on skype! victor.gomes2153, Any positive criticism is welcome :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

I'm starting to see a lot of these typing games.

CraftMuch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Cool idea, it makes it a lot more intense having to type "-w","-s",etc. everytime. I would definitely consider this game a "Gamer's" game, as it's pretty difficult :D

Zeriver says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Fun to play, but really hard.
Projectiles should move slower, that would make game easier.

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:05pm

The mechanics makes it nearly impossible to react to the missiles.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

very interesting... but so harddddd....the robot is walk to sloow

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]