Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nimble Forge

by matestinha - Jam Entry

The enemies have arrived! They are gonna attack the village!

Only a legendary blacksmith can help us win the war... or can he?

Nimble Forge is a ridiculous quest about an experienced blacksmith trying to perform miracles. Overcome a chain of quick challenges and create the best offensive against your enemies' increasingly absurd army.

May only the great survive!

-----

Best playable in fullscreen or using the link WEB down there \/

-----

A game by:
Endel Dreyer (code)
Epa Neto (design & code)
Maíra Testa (design)
Sérgio Tomo (art & animation)

Many thanks to:
Newgrounds afliXio for the track "Knights of the Castle Crash"
Freesound artists - loofa, CrazyFrog249, Claire.H, theta4, unfa, mickleness, Surn_Thing, differentieel, michorvath, LittleRobotSoundFactory, kiddpark, jorickhoofd and pfranzen

We also pay homage to:
"Shovel Knight", the original unconventional weapon, by Yacht Club Games
Michael Jackson, the man and the legend

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Graphics(Jam)4.79
#12Humor(Jam)4.24
#15Theme(Jam)4.28
#60Mood(Jam)3.96
#76Overall(Jam)3.90
#122Innovation(Jam)3.76
#155Fun(Jam)3.62
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59am

One of my favorites so far! Very polished and I gave the guys a fruit salad to fight with, and that seems like a pretty unconventional weapon :) Great job guys!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

I like how the days get progressively more abstract. Only complaint is I wish I had more time per day to craft. Otherwise, very solid and fun game!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very cool retro pixel art graphics!

ArthG says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Fun, if not a little on the nose.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Looks great, and nicely executed! Nice humor. Took some rounds for me to get the hang of the crafting, a small hint 'drag the materials on each other', would have nodded me in the right way immediately. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Amazing graphics, music and sounds!

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I like so much!!!!

Manu & Wan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

Very funny, I like it a lot.
My only complain would be the hit box of the deliver panel. Don't know if it's only me but sometimes I had to try 3/4 times before managing to put my great weapon inside.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49am

Lovely entry. It was a bit frustrating at times but still fun as hell! Also really polished! Loved it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Awesome graphics! Interesting idea and nice audio, congratulations!

Kuupu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice gameplay, just a little slow paced

Maybe icons instead of words would be cool

Amazing graphics and sound!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Fun idea, most of the combinations I tried would result in nothing though, but understandable for such a short time XD

luizgama says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Very polished, funny, great art and music. Battle sound is funny too.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32pm

But why is the kitty not a good weapon :P
Awesome art and fun to play. I ended up wanting to try all possibilities.

Floko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:00am

Very nice idea! I just wish there were more combinations / levels, but hey, it's a game jam :P
The humor in the game is pretty neat,too.
It took me a while to understand how to play,but it was pretty fun.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Wonderfull game. Congrats!

FrederickK says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

Very, very awesome idea! :D
My biggest problem is that sometimes it doesn't drag the ingredients.
Other than that, lots of fun and replaybility!

Tselmek says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:06am

Awesome game, it is very polished and the gameplay is very innovative. The time restriction makes the game way too hard for me, I didn't have much time to try out different combinations or read what was being said in the meantime. The mouse control was tough. Nothing to say about the graphics and sounds. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]