Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sand Blower

by babilounet - Compo Entry

The player found a "Sand blower" on the beach and he decided to use it. The blow pushes you on the sea leaving a sand path behind you. Collect bags before you run out of sand!

Move with WASD - ZSQD - Arrows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#161Audio3.45
#195Fun3.55
#391Humor3.03
#407Mood3.11
#526Overall3.20
#644Graphics2.91
#787Innovation2.75
#806Theme3.03

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I really appreciate the details like the menu elements being style well. I think next year I want to try a .js game!

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Snakes like are always fun ^^

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Fun game, very well implemented.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I really like how you put a spin on the game snake. The controls are really responsive and it feels very fast paced. Very catchy background music and using your weapon to travel is very unconventional! Very well done!

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Nice idea good game :)

Qui says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Fun one and well made. I love the music.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Great stuff! Love the spin on Snake. Its a game I actually want to keep playing and improve my score in.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Fun little iteration of the classic "snake" game.

Sorry couldn't judge sound, playing while in class >.>

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice little game. I wish it was smoother though, but I guess that's part of the retro feel.

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I like the style in this game! Although im not sure how this is a weapon

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Hey there! It seems I'm to stupid to play your game :(. No matter what direction I try to move, I die immediately and am back at the start Screen. Am I missing something? The idea with the sand blower at the beach is pretty funny and matches well the theme.

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Nice idea and a fresh take on snake. The graphics and music are great.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Fun game. Liked the art, except maybe the character. I think if he was a little larger it would look better.

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Nice game!!! Fun, lots of fun! I just think you can put some jet skis and boats, than the player can make them sink and the "weapon" concept will be best applied.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Enjoyable game =)
Interesting twist on the snake-formula with the limited movement but it did make the game more interesting. Well done =)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:04am

Good snake-like gameplay. I think separating the camera/viewport logic from the tile coordinates would make it feel better to play, having it lerp to the player's location rather than snapping to that immediate tile. Very catchy music and some nice graphical touches like having the sand tiles smooth out their edges when adjacent to each other.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Did I just play snake? :)

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Great game, I would play more if screen would move smoothly. Now, after 10 minutes my eyes hurt :D

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:12am

I like your take on the old snake game. Sand is indeed an interesting weapon. Reminds me of old Nintendo games. Would be fun as a set of mini game. Nice work.

Erkberg says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nice adaption of the snake formula. Graphics, music, the frantic gameplay - it all melds together into an enjoyable whole. Good job!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very fun and addictive game. Enjoyed the hard mode and my highest score was about 7000. The controls are somehow a bit problematic. Not sure how to explain it. Sometimes I'm sure I pressed the button at the right time but still missed the row I wanted to enter by one (or so). Good job anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]