Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mouton

by Noisette - Compo Entry

Hi!

Mouton is a little multiplayer game. Run and survive!
(Tips: Don't trust the shepherd)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.32
#6Overall4.24
#8Humor4.26
#19Innovation4.19
#122Mood3.60
#269Graphics3.57
#416Theme3.50
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

phi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56am

Words can't describe how awesome this is. Good thing there's no audio, that additional level of awesomeness would most definitely have killed me.

Thanks for making this!

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

Wow, these sheep are so cute! That makes me even more eager to kill them all!
Such a simple game, like all other multiplayer LD games, but this one is the most enjoyable. The concept is unique, and it's only fun in multiplayer. Though I saw a similar game.
No complaints at all! Well done!
By the way, what do these points at the bottom mean? They seem to be 0 most of the time.

BifDog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Awesome work!

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Hahaha! I died so much and still had fun, that is the sign of a good game. Those weapons are very conventional, but I don't care.

Extra credit for online-multiplayer for a jam game, that's tough.

Well done!

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

This game looks so fun, unfortunately I get a "grey screen" after the loading animation (i've waited 5 min, still stuck on this screen) - is it normal?

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Graphics are really nice and the multiplayer idea was cool, very polished game. I enjoyed it, nicely done :)

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Really great game, with sound it would have been perfect ! Good work.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Nice game, very fun !

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Game seems heavily stacked towards the shepherd. Otherwise a lot of fun and just bloody congratulations on making a working multiplayer game.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Oh man so much fun. Great job with the multiplayer!

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great game ! thanks !

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

That was really cool and addictive! Great work!

PixelMind says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Clever and pretty damn awesome game!

Volvary says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Awesome! At first I though "Oh the shepherd just has to spam the click" but then I got to shepherd and I rated this even higher.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Haha, really enjoyable. And the multiplayer worked flawlessly. Both being the sheep and killing the sheep was fun.

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Holy shit!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Super cool game! The multiplayer element is very impressive for a compo entry. Seems like quite a few people were playing as well. Awesome job!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

This game is pretty great. I like that you get points for blocking attacks as well as surviving, it makes it worth the effort.

I wish my sheep would get a second chance to protect himself - the game right now seems to extremely favor the shepherd. I don't think I've ever seen a sheep survive a non-afk shepherd.

feizenbara says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

This is superfun :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Can't stop giggling like an idiot while watching all those cute sheep getting splattered. I actually got to the right side one single time when the shepherd was afk xD
This is an awesome game ^^

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:08am

Funny idea. Poor sheep :) I made it across 3-4 times. Felt like a major victory.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26am

This is sooo much fun!!

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Awesome! I've spent lots of hours playing transformice and I'm affraid I will get addicted to this game if it gets any better. Don't you dare improving it!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Top marks all round from me on this one. A superb idea with a nice twist. Great work.

remiv says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Yeah, cool multiplayer game. I liked it.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05am

Definitely my favorite game so far - compo _or_ Jam.

Just waaay too friggin addictive. So hard for the leetle sheepies... but makes the win so much sweeter when you somehow manage to survive against all odds.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:23am

Hey, so question: If I wanted to set up a private lua server to run for a friendly LAN party or something - how would that be done? The sources made reference to a console "reload" command to load a different server from a file, but I don't know how to get the console, nor the format/expected pathname of the file... :)

Vaughn says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:55am

I'll mirror pretty much what everybody else said. Really great work here, especially being able to complete a multiplayer game for the compo. I had a lot of fun while streaming it. You can check out the vod here if you want: http://www.twitch.tv/drathy/c/6585845

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:34pm

This is really amazing, I've always wanted to do a networked game in LD but the thought of it is TERRIFYING. Good job for pulling it off and pulling it off EXTREMELY well.

Coban31 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:58pm

It's very hard !! But very original !

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Okay, enough!! Must resist to keep playing. I think this is the first online multiplayer LD entry I have ever seen with so many players online. This game is hilariously funny. Very good job!

Eshkation says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I love this game
Its so cool to kill all the sheeps with those traps
hahahah

davidB says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

One of my favorite. Funny!! Bookmarked

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Neat game, definitely cool to play with a bunch of people, well done. :)

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Wow this game is brutal, just played for 10 minutes or so and my sheep guy was mutilated in so many ways. Good fun!

Belka says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Хэхэ,тиг,повеселил!

May 3, 2015 @ 3:16pm

It's and intressting concept, I feel that it's to easy for the shepherd to win tho, but thats balancing. Otherwice it would be a fun game with friends.

LMT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Very fun! i think if the sheep knew what types of traps were present it would make it much more skill based rather than luck. Overall pretty cool though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]