Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Future Gun

by bace1000 - Compo Entry

Future Gun

In this game you must complete 5 levels and destroy all enemies in your way. The catch? You have to kill them in the future, to protect yourself in the past!

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and not a serious attempt, so please don't be too harsh! xD

Edit: Added a JAR file for those without Java 8. This version does not include the background music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#511Innovation3.16
#535Audio2.73
#638Fun2.95
#704Overall3.00
#777Mood2.66
#785Humor2.28
#905Theme2.81
#969Graphics2.28

Comments

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Fun concept.
I noticed that the past self got desynced from the future self a lot so it would be sweet if you fixed that

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Cute game :) Sometimes the two selves jump to different heights. Don't know if that's intentional, something to do with the collisions.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Fun concept. The present/past self seemed to sometimes double jump even when future self did not but otherwise pretty well executed. Not very challenging but still a fun playthrough.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I get `A Java Exception has occured.` with both jars.

Vija02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Can't play it :(
Could not load level menu.txt

bace1000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

@Vija02 Did you extract the zip file? Is the res folder in the same folder as the JAR? Make sure to run the JAR from the folder.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Loved the idea, a bit (is unsynced the right word) at times, but fun!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

@benmcnelly It's actually supposed to be like that! Clearly I didn't explain it well enough in the game though! Thanks for playing it.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18pm

cool concept.. little more work to the graphics and it could be even better. :)

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

This 5! Gorgeous gameplay concept.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Love the music! Very catchy and fitting. I didn't feel that the two-selves mechanic was super necessary, but its pretty impressive. Good stuff!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Cool game. I like this kind of concepts.
Only thing is that is not fully sync with the second character.
Thanks for sharing.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:47am

It took me a while to realize how I was actually controlling my past self, but once I did...I was like "a ha" and the game got really fun. Cool tunes also. Only complaint is the lack of feedback when you hit collide with an enemy.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:22am

Very interesting concept. I liked it and appreciate that you didn't make the movements of the other self an exact copy. That being said, I found myself in situations where the main difficulty of the level was trying to get my past self to meet up with my current self ;)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:41pm

cool concept and the music!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

I also get an exception when opening this

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

Oh, and res is in the right place...

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Cool concept and nice music. Good job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Pretty cool idea! Controls are ok and it plays alright, though as other people have said your 'past self' seems to have a mind of its own sometimes. Nice job overall.

davidB says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

cool idea(mix platform, puzzle, reflexe sometimes). All in a small java app without lib, frameworks,... and funny asset (audio + visual) GG

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Getting "A java exception has occurred" when running either jar file.
Zip file has been extracted and I haven't done anything to screw with the file structure, will try updating java on my end and running it again.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Updating your java versions seems to fix it, folks:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html (and select JRE and your appropriate platform)
Regarding the game:
Interesting concept, but I feel as though it wasn't explored to its full potential. In it's current form, it feels a bit like one of those missions where you have to protect a useless AI and escort them from A to B.
Adding a few puzzle mechanics etc could make this a real gem.
Overall though, a very solid entry and kudos on the music.

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:38am

Doesnt work on my pc B(. Its 32 bit might that be tha problem?

ohsqueezy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:02am

blasting away, cool delay effect

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]