Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A conventional marriage

by Kushulain - Jam Entry

Forced to marry the prince. You will try to get rid of him, by either killing him, making him drunk, or depressed.

Your unconventional weapon :
A gun which throw away any items which start with the right letter in the alphabet.

"What ? Say it again ?"

Well, it can be a little bit sophisticated, but with some patience you should be up to the challenge !


--- How to play :
-Walk around and avoid the prince, by clicking around the princess when she stops.
-Collect all the weapons to be able to throw away any items.
-Press spacebar when the "Inspect/Hand" icons appears.
-Click & Drag items from your inventory in the map, to throw items away.

--- Goal :
Put one of the three bars (Prince's Health/Sober/Mood) in the top right corner to zero.


Have fun !

Authors :
-0K0S0
-Kushulain (https://twitter.com/VictorBeaupuy)

Firefox users : Use the "Web" link below. The embedded version seems to get an error.
If you can't press the spacebar, click the fullscreen button (lower right corner)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#305Innovation(Jam)3.40
#448Humor(Jam)3.00
#500Graphics(Jam)3.33
#794Overall(Jam)2.88
#896Fun(Jam)2.47
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Too difficult to control. But the idea is good.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Ehh... it has something to do with GoT? The game is good, but the webGL version does not register space pressing.

kmasiulis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Really liked the art style. Reminds me of a corny table top game. Gameplay looks a little bit confusing at first.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Can't get this to run.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

The game was very confusing, I could move around the princess but I couldn't decipher how the items worked. The basic idea is fun, but this needs more work.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game, good story, funny item descriptions and plot, but it really should give an option to skip intro, it kills all replayability for me )=

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I played the web version and I was unable to hit space to inspect chests (it would scroll the page instead). Clicking the icon didn't do anything.
So I had three guns but nothing to shoot :(

Kushulain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Suhvan4ik Cstudios : The dialogs in the intro are random. It's supposed to be a punishment for failing, and also a reward, as random dialogs can sometime be funny (with a GoT reference somtime)

I'm going to add more infos about how to play in the descriptions.

Thanks for all your feedback ! Have fun rating games all of you !

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Extremely cool!

M9Josh says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Confusing at first but eventually got the hang of it. Like the graphics and it's a pretty cool idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]