Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Weight Lifter 2000

by Leon75 - Compo Entry

A quick,difficult platformer game where you run around stealing back your vegetables (cucumbers) that were stolen from you.

You can kill lizards with the boxes, but not the DEMONS.

Controls : Arrow keys, Z to jump, X to lift boxes, R to restart current level.

Game made with Construct Classic, source file is also included in the main download.

Probably has a lot of bugs in it, as I didn't have much time to test the game.

Info Edit(20.04.2015) : Hold down your jump key ingame to sustain your jump. I hoped people would think of this, but I guess it's not obvious

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#448Humor2.90
#570Audio2.66
#620Mood2.85
#752Overall2.95
#755Fun2.82
#770Graphics2.68
#956Innovation2.44
#1057Theme2.36

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26am

Looks fun, but any chance a mac guy can play?

Bromang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

NORMIES REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Quite difficult to play and I wish dropping the blocks would be easier than dropping on my head. Very nice physics and ultra-smooth frame rate. The game is a little too hard for me.

Zayron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I love the death animation!

pixelballoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Man, that third level suddenly ramps up the difficulty!

I think being able to throw the blocks forward would make it a lot easier, I kept dropping them on my head and getting knocked into the spikes. Managed to get most of the way up the tower, but died, after about 20 retries I've had to give up!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

VERY hard but a good fun game :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Fun little game. Liked the fast paced gameplay and the level layouts.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Controls are pretty tight and the levels are well-put together. I feel that maybe you could have used the theme more in the puzzles, but it's pretty solid as it is.
Good luck!

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

It would have been easier if you could use the mouse to throw boxes. Just dropping them makes building stuff really tedious

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

omg. this is hard XD

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03am

love art style´╝ü

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

Good lord, this game gets tough a few levels in! But to your credit, I kept playing a level over 25 times to beat it. In a challenging level-based platformer like this, I think restarting should be automatic, instead of making the player press a button to do so, especially since there is no other option that the player might want to do other than restart the level. Nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14am

Liked:
- Great soundtrack. The death sounds and crunchy cucumber sounds were very satisfying.
- Smooth controls. Not slippery. The right amount of jump, acceleration, and friction
- Nice diversity of level types and things to do (platforming, enemies, boxes, spikes, blue things... each introduced to the player in a new level to keep things interesting)

Disliked
- I wish the screen was bigger though... some of the levels were very hard and required a precision that would have felt more fair with bigger sprites
- Box control. Throwing the boxes with character momentum felt weird... especially with the boxes being so heavy

Overall nice entry!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52am

I collected all the vegetables at the end, they were delicious. The movement is a bit slippery, but the game felt very complete and fun.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Quite difficult. I did like the soundtrack.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I really liked the visual style and the audio was so crisp. It was very challenging.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Very hard, which is good, but more on the side of the frustrating rather than the challenging side, which would be better.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I really like the squish sound and animation when things get killed.

pkenney says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Wow, crazy tight, demanding platformer. The block throws were very cool, and the mix of puzzle and execution was nice. In the end it was a bit too tough for me, I played a lot but then I gave up at the purple level where you start on the bottom right.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:58pm

dying is so fun. :D

Qui says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Glad to see CC is still used!

SamH says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:56pm

A most excellent small puzzle platformer. I thoroughly enjoyed it, despite a few issues. Same complaint as a few others: restarting should be automatic, or at least use a key that is used in-game. Apart from that, there are a few physics bugs and some enemies tend to vanish when colliding with a box. Also, please allow a zoom mode, my pixels are very small :-)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:27am

Many LD games have so weird premises, like cucumber theft.
Very funny. Hard to play, but in a good way.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]