Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Skater Waiter

by MikkelLevisen - Jam Entry

Super Skater Waiter

Get the dishes from the conveyor belt to the customers before their patience runs out!
Gather empty plates and use your plate gun to blast your way through the hordes of hungry customers.

If 5 customers leave without being served the Skater Waiter initiative will be shut down and everybody loses.

Controls:
Use the left mouse button to move the Skater Waiter and use the right mouse button to shoot his plate gun which will move customers out of your way.



CREDITS:
Artwork: Troels Bay-Petersen (@MrTrolez)
Programming: Tommy Hansen (@tvh33)
Programming: Mikkel Levisen (@MikkelLevisen)


"Hyperfun" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

*** post deadline edits ***
fixed physics related crash
removed debug keybindings,prints and values
fixed gamecrash x 2
fixed speech bubble not showing
fixed end screen not showing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#149Humor(Jam)3.62
#156Audio(Jam)3.58
#181Fun(Jam)3.57
#323Overall(Jam)3.44
#442Mood(Jam)3.17
#461Graphics(Jam)3.40
#489Innovation(Jam)3.13
#695Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

jushii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

So fun but difficult! :D I really love the sound effects and graphics!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Great game! I didn't quite catch what the goal was until I ran out of plates to shoot at customers, and found the food. :)

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Forgot to mention that the Linux link is a bit borked (double paste?), but the second address worked well.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Difficult, and a bit unclear at first, but once you got the hang of it, great game. Audio, graphics, style, all well executed.

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Hah! This is cute. It's fun! The controls are fluid and simple, the graphics are good, it's intuitive. Nice job!

The plate gun feels tacked on. Not necessary, but super fun to shoot customers. I tried to keep angry customers from leaving.

I would recommend making the waiting customer timer icon easier to see, and have it visible even for offscreen waiting customers.

Great work!! Keep it up.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Omg i loved this xD just yeah...idk what else to say lol it was magical

Benjamin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39am

That's really good. But the gun would be more effective if you could kill, or force angry customer to go back to table with it. If you just use it to keep them away from the exit you wont be able to serve other customers anyway

thejash says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13am

This was really fun! The plate gun wasn't very useful, though, so I stopped using it at all -- it would have been nice if we could knock unhappy customers out of their seats and make them reset, or prevent unhappy customers shot with plate gun from destroying your restaurant's rating. But overall, fun and great sound :)

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23am

The game is really smooth; I think that's my favorite thing about it. Everything from the movement to the way the food plates kind of just fly onto your tray is awesome!

I think in a lot of ways the base gameplay was good enough to just be built off that. I was a little confused about how to use the plate gun. At first, I hoped that hitting the customers would delay their impatience with me, but it didn't seem to do that, so I didn't really find a good use for the plate gun (even though I guess it can delay people from getting to their tables). That said, it was still pretty fun to just shoot it around at people and see all the little pieces of plate left behind!

I think it would have been really cool to see some sort of progression / scaling in the game as well! I played for a while, but it didn't seem that the number of customers increased over time nor did their patience time decrease. Even just displaying how many skater dollars you've earned or how long you've been playing is a cool way to give the player feedback!

All in all, the game is really fun to play and looks really nice :]! I think y'all put a fair amount of time into the details and it feels really polished!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:41am

Nice game! Very fluid control. Coo concept. A bit difficult, but still great!

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:48am

Really fun but hard game. Liked the music choice
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55am

This was a blast! Simple, efficient gameplay, smooth controls, good audio. The plate launcher was a really fun accessory

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:43am

Its fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:43am

I liked the feeling of the controls and it seems an interesting concept! But I didn't get what the plate launcher is for!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:51am

very well executed idea, the movement is smooth and intuitive. but what about the theme?

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:03pm

"SkaterWaiter quit unexpectedly." :(

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Doesn't work for me. I get a black frozen screen. Windows 8 x64,

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

The controls felt responsive and the game was easy to understand, but at the same time I felt it wasn't possible to get to everyone in time, even if you went at the most efficient route. The graphics are pretty cool too. :)

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34pm

@Smiley there was a bug in the physics code but it should be fixed now :)

@MGhareeb32 unfortunately we have no acces to a Windows 8 machine but you might be able to play it if you install love2d (love2d.org) and download the linux .love version

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Difficult, but fun, just how I like my games! Good job!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I love live music and the gameplay. Perhaps a bit too difficult

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:32pm

This was great! Pretty challenging but a lot of fun!

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I enjoyed this game very much! At first I though the plate gun would be used to serve the customers. Moving around was not so hard so I ended up not using the gun in the end.

kaa says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice and dificult. Firstly I didnt catch a control and got known that I can shoot plates only from comments. Sound is really nice!

pixelspirit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:16pm

really nice, like the challenge of the physics but they're still set solidly enough without being pointlessly frustrating.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

That's probably the most polished game I've played from this LD yet. The graphics and sound atmosphere are perfect, the moves and control are smooth. Shooting plates at customers is definitely unconventionnal. It's fun playing, though a bit difficult. With a bit of balancing and progression, it would be completely awesome.

th4t says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I really like this game.

The controls felt responsive and the graphics were spot on.
I especially liked the stack of plates wobbling around.

I didn't really understood why I should use the gun. When not using the gun at all I fared much better in terms of customer satisfaction, since I wasn't disctracted by the awesome effects of plates shattering everywhere.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Fun, but difficult. Definitely enjoyed this one.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Very interesting and funny concept. I like it :3

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:22pm

That's what they call multi-tasking hum? Nice little game :D The background music fits fantastic and you have to love your little power-skater. Cute style. 4 Points overall! Thumps up!

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

It is quite a hard game, but fun! I only learned of the plate gun the hard way, though likewise I could only make it work against me! Overall quite good looking and polished, barely seems like a Ludum Dare game.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:36am

Great sound and music, and really quite fun once you get the hang of the physics! Also love the title screen. Excellent work guys!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

It's fluid and pleasant to play, but hard. I never manage to feed all the customers in time, and I'm not sure what the dish thrower is for.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:54am

Great to see another LÖVEer! Great game, great animations and effects. Also the idea is very innovative.

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Controls felt really nice and the graphics looked great (plate-ammo swinging behind is a perfect touch).

Could use a real menu (or at least a "click to start" and controls overview) and an actual game-over screen.

May 4, 2015 @ 10:55am

Shooting people is the most fun part ;D the imprecise controls fit the overall gameplay very well. I wish you could kill people with the plates before they leave the table ;D just kidding.

May 8, 2015 @ 12:55am

Fun game. Wish there was some sort of upgrade mechanics, and i'm not sure what the shooting the plates did, other than scare the players. But its a fun little game. and works pretty well.

In Linux i get:
conf.lua:5: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: main.lua:1: attempt to index field 'math' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:1: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
[string "boot.lua"]:331: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:227>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

MikkelLevisen says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:17pm

@zerocreativoty1 hmm it looks like you need to update löve2d. It needs v0.9.1

ajopart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:29pm

It begins really challenging very fast. But hilarious concept and very well made game. Controls feel natural and cute graphics. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]