Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Negotiator!

by morgondag - Jam Entry

The ship bridge stopped responding early this week and the crew is yet not aware of the possible hijacking.

You need to negotiate with the ship.
You need to use your voice! You need to talk!

Its your... Unconventional weapon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#117Humor(Jam)3.71
#182Audio(Jam)3.51
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#473Graphics(Jam)3.38
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#567Innovation(Jam)3.02
#751Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Great, but how do you unlock the eye and how can you win in the ocean facility of persuavie doom?

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Ok i figured it out

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12am

Reminds me of the Stanley Parable a lot in that there's not much actual gameplay, but more just recursing through the tree of the story. Also the british sounding narrator helps drive that home...

nightlord says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11am

really enjoyed this. I couldn't go very far but still had fun. The main ship graphic is very moody and the music/narration helps with that too

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58am

I try firing one of the worker and got killed. 5/5

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30am

Got 9/9 favours, enjoyed this a lot~!!!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:34am

I wish it were a little less based on random outcomes, but I like the humour of the writing

j_peeba says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

A pretty well rounded package. The writing is good and the gameplay itself is a neat take on interactive fiction.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice idea, and the music is so cool :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00am

The outcome of many situations feels arbitrary, and some of those situations made absolutly no sense to me, like the working workers of work destroying an office (their own?) just because I asked them... After that I expected that banging my head on a wall would be the logical answer to my problems (after all, mcgivering my way in space was the right choice) but it wasn't...
As heard (with a synthetic british accent) : "the space confusion is real"...

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00am

This game was so awesome, I loved the fake voice, and I got so sucked into the story. I am actually gonna keep this game, and play it for fun. Thank you for this :D

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02am

The game made me chuckle a few times and the voice generator you used works really well. Well done

invi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07am

9/9 for funny!

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:09am

Well, that was funny :)

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:59am

Nice. I will come back later !

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I loved it ! The gameplay is really simple, but every line is full of fun. Great work on the music, nice graphics too. It would totally fit in a bigger game, with various missions, maybe with links or branching storylines :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:37pm

9/9! :) glad I pushed on. Great idea and I like the style a lot. Can the voice be optional?

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Great game, i had fun playing this, and graphics were cool even though the ship looked a little funny. I loved teh voiceovers too.

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

10/10 great idea ! =D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Love the graphics, great idea! I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/-ZkAqIe6FiQ

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Awesome writing! The suave accent is just hilarious and takes the tedium out of having to read. None of the options were uninteresting. I had to play over and over again to see all the choices!
Really enjoyed this one!

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Neat Idea

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Great stuff!

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I was able to just jump in the game and get started, didn't even read anything, just clicked whatever I saw and it worked. Very nice. I wish the narrator were a human voice with real pausing and emphasis, I found it hard to follow with the robot talking as he stutters and skips words, especially since there are a lot of english/grammar errors. "You've watched two seasons of macgyver so you've got this." Unfortunately I got blown up by a rocket launcher and had to goto the beginning, maybe a checkpoint would help.

ehtd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice surprise this game. Well done

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

High high ratings.
That ship is like something from Event Horizon.

Fantastic work!

orukinawa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Great writing and voice overs!

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Played a few times and got pretty far once. I think I'll be coming back to this! Lots of fun.

Hilarious dialogue, helped by the voice synthesiser. Kept me laughing throughout. It was fun to try and figure things out.

Neat take on the theme as well. Words are a much preferred weapon to me in any game!

Great entry!

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11am

Wiggly wiggly!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I like the narrative take. Makes me wish our team had chosen that way :)

Floko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:47pm

That's a pretty funny game xD
I tried a couple of times but didn't get to finish it...the little happy man is my favorite part :P hahaha
Nice job!

Blobo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

my god this was the greatest thing ever. freaking hilarious! i love the clever ways to figure out the puzzle and it took me a ton of tries but i did it. that praying to RNG though.

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

Agreed that the outcomes need to be a little more predictable, maybe include some subtle clues in the texts? Otherwise nice job, good idea on using the male Windows voice :p

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I will tweet you with a gameplay and review video soon.

nguyenmv2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:15pm

This game was very fun and had lots of great humor. It was a tad unforgiving and winning took the RNG gods to be on your side. It should be designed so that failing a single mission wouldn't make you unable to beat the game.

morgondag says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Thank you for all the great comments!
We took a break for our other game RymdResa to be part of the Ludum dare! The theme was kinda hard.

If some part of the liked this check out this game we are working on:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utGKXAIH8j4&feature=youtu.be

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:16am

not my style but still gave good marks overall - nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]