Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Adaptation

by steboots - Jam Entry

You control the heroic main ship. Every hit you take from the enemies brings you closer to destruction... but also makes you stronger. Coming in contact with enemies and their weapons forces your ship to adapt and become more powerful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#389Innovation(Jam)3.28
#428Fun(Jam)3.18
#485Audio(Jam)2.83
#615Overall(Jam)3.10
#741Mood(Jam)2.73
#748Humor(Jam)2.39
#810Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Ludomade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Pretty cool game once you figure out the controls. And you can never go wrong with explosions.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Interesting concept. The sound effects match the retro graphics perfectly. +1 for the music tempo increasing as the stakes get higher.

smokecastles says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Love the title screen music and the explosive gameplay!

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Incredible game! 5 stars for innovation, I've never seen something like this before where you gain your enemys' abilities as they destroy you! The controls were a bit funky but once i got used to them it was actually really easy to use! I got a 2x sword and 2x gun weapon combo for BIG POINTS!

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

Wasn't entirely sure what was going on but pretty awesome nonetheless!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

Very cool little game, I love that you have to hurt yourself to upgrade yourself. Very neat concept :P Sound could've used some variety though, it got a little annoying after a while.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09am

Weapon adaption is a great take on the theme. Nice retro look and good controls (+1 to add WASD also). Good job.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:10am

The upgrade mechanics are really interesting! It's a little bit confusing here and there, but works well :)

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14am

I loved the whirlwind plus guns combo. Neat game! :D

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28am

Neat little game, although SFX did get annoying after awhile. The time to shoot bullets is a tad tedious waiting for it shoot, but overall, good job!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:33am

Nice game - interesting core mechanic, and lots of nice touches.

Game could have used a little more polish - the movement was a bit weird and you tended to leave your engine trail behind if you move too quickly. Also a player death sequence would have been nice as when you have swords equipped you sometimes don't really know if you killed an opponent or they killed you.

Enjoyed it though - Was fun stabbing up the enemy ships :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Very playable.

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:35am

Nice entry !

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Good idea, but using mouse and keyboard this way in such a game a bit confusing.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Very unique take on shoot em ups. The idea that getting hit can help you in various ways depending on what hit you is very interesting. That said, I don't know that the game gave enough of a reason for the player to actively seek out getting hit. So I still tried to avoid every single enemy, and when I accidentally got hit, my upgrade was essentially random, because I had not intended to get hit by that enemy. If you could find a way to make players actually try to get hit someties, I think that would really put this idea over the top. Really cool game, nice work!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:18am

Had a lot of fun playing this game. Those super-powers are terribly broken, but that's kind of why I like the game!

Graphics are a little sketchy, and the aiming seems a little broken: bullets fire off at odd angles or at an incorrect time while rotating. A few juices could be used to make the hitting-into-enemies a little more frightening, but well done!

Blobo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Lots of games i've seen so far with stencyl were really lacking and pathetic, but this one was most certainly better than the rest. pretty challanging, but a nice game.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Putting the jam version on Kongregate, that's brave.

goblin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Nice little game, good music and concept. Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

mathmadlen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Really interesting idea! Nice music & graphics, the upgrade mechanics are pretty unique. I would prefer the controls to be a little simplified, but other than that, good job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Great job on creating a sense of frantic action! I really liked how it seemed that game was actually communicating with the player rather than just having a bunch of boring instructions.

May 3, 2015 @ 2:17am

I feel like the controls are a little uncomfortable. Having the option to use WASD instead of the arrow keys would have been spectacular. That said, it's a fun little shooter. I like that player attacks are so limited - it's a nice change of pace from the norm with shooters which feature endless streams of tiny, individually meaningless bullets.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:41pm

I was skeptical about the mechanic, but it actually works quite well. The game gets harder as you progress but you also get stronger when you're dealt damage, which strikes a nice balance of putting you right back in the action while never feeling too easy.
My main complaint is the beginning, i'm led to avoid the enemies for as long as i can but the game only picks up when you kill them, so to effectively start the game you need to get hit, and that doesn't feel great. I'd suggest starting the game with a weapon to avoid that, or only displaying the damage after the first hit.
+1 to WASD controls, too. Nice work!

goerp says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice one,
With this game you've got to let go of your shooter instincts.
Therefore it takes a bit of time to get used to it, but it's fun trying and getting shot is good (for a while).

dyfer says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Ok I didn't get it at first but nice concept!

greytram says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:38am

Simple but efficient! Game mechanics are quite original, very fun to play!

dreamlogician says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:28am

Fun and frantic! I really like the idea of becoming more powerful as you get closer to death, and it creates a nice risk/reward element where I was required to act strategically instead of relying purely on my reflexes to carry me through.

I wish coins spawned a bit more frequently, but that might unbalance things since the superpowers are so powerful. Nice work overall! Feedback concluded. ^_^

Andy Gainey says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:27am

I liked the guns. On my second try, I went for swords, but didn't like them as much. They're simply too dangerous when approaching gun ships that could fire at any moment. Given the massive amount of control granted by hooking ship position directly to mouse position, the optimal strategy seems to be to focus primarily on dodging everything, and using guns to slowly take everyone out. I ended up just spinning in a circle with four guns for a while before I eventually just got sloppy and died.

It's a compelling concept, but I feel it needs some more nuance to drive interesting decisions. Maybe also a way to slowly grow in power while *reversing* some of the damage, so that there's a stronger sense of progression.

panurge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Very nice! Once I got used to the controls I found them to be very intuitive and effective. The presentation was great and the whole game feels really polished. Good work!

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:40am

That was fun! Love the idea of the 'dangerous tip', well done!

Forlorn79 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:07am

I like a lot about the game, but not the forced humor in the commentary. This game feels near complete, but I'd like to see more options or levels, and more enemies. Just more of what's here. Good game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]