Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Harry and his Herring

by Amazingcookie - Jam Entry

"You must cut down the mightiest tree in the forest... WITH... A... HERRING!" -Monthy Phyton's 'The Holy Grail'

Collect shrubberies and cut down trees with your unconventional weapon: a herring! The world generates itself as you're walking through it, so explore and find them all!

The way you control the weapon is also unconventional: you swing it around you directly instead of pushing a button to swing it. Be careful, because only if you swing the fish fast enough, it can actually hurt enemies. Use the arrow keys or WASD to walk (AZERTY also supported). You also have a shield at your disposal, which you can only use once before having to reload by defeating an enemy.

Shortly put: avoid/kill everything red and collect/kill everything that's green.

Fullscreen is on by deafult, toggle with F4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Humor(Jam)3.39
#370Theme(Jam)3.56
#537Innovation(Jam)3.06
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#774Fun(Jam)2.67
#878Graphics(Jam)2.38
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51pm

The affect of the blocks falling in place was awesome, but I just felt like the gameplay was missing something...either way, it felt good!

Tanser says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very nice! :))

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Decidedly unconventional (based on Monty Python, that was to be expected (unlike the Spanish Inquisition)).
The rotating herring mechanic is interesting, but the game itself feels to fast and random to be enjoyable. Know what I mean, blink-blink, nudge-nudge?

KCrimson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12pm

The falling block effect was pretty good, but it did occasionally result in enemies stuck in blocks.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13pm

My mouse almost went on fire, because I was swinging so hard. That was funny :-) But I never survived long. Maybe there are too much enemies.

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Love the swinging and area spawning effects, but on a laptop the game play could be quiet difficult with a trackpad, but loved the idea, would love to see it developed further

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:15pm

How much fun can you pack into 2mb! The swininging of the fish was really cool and the level generation was something I had not seen before so will give you some stars for that!

fighting was a little tough but there are some great ideas here!

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I like the concept, and the levels visibly generating as you go, but the control scheme felt off. If I had to speculate, I think it is because rapid motions with the mouse work better horizontally than vertically or circularly, due to pivoting about the wrist. Maybe you could ignore the mouse's vertical position entirely, and determine the fishes location purely by translating the mouse's horizontal position into an angle value, describing the angle around the player that the fish is pointing.

Alternatively, you could do some fancier math over multiple frames to determine the mouse's average location and point the fish in that direction, and then calculate the amount of overall rapid mouse movement to determine how wildly the fish is swinging back and forth around that direction. Rapid mouse movement (regardless of specific direction) results in rapid fish swinging. Rapid movement within a very tiny range results in the fish also swinging back and forth rapidly, but in a narrow range of angles, while broader mouse movements makes the fish swing back and forth across larger arcs.

I feel like you might have something fun here, but experimentation with the controls is needed.

xandy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

well this was unconventional :D nice mechanic idea and cool map building at the edges

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:37am

Good game! Both the attack mechanic, as well as the blocks falling into place mechanic were interesting.

Andrea says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:47pm

The controls are really hard and I think I'm not gonna be able to use my right hand for a while after, but the idea is pretty cool and the game is quite challenging (even without the mouse thing, I suspect).
Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]