Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Gram

by Zeriver - Compo Entry

Action puzzle platformer!

You can spawn gravity fields which allow you hit enemies and obstacles with other objects.


Controls:

W S A D + Spacebar (double jump)
Left Click to spawn gravity field
Right Click to delete it

Hint: You can use your orb as a shield.


----

BUGS:
-If you die in lava, to restart puzzle, you have to run into "red wall". Then after being respawned at the checkpoint you can try again complete puzzle.
-If you run into any performance issues, try closing some programs/browser pages. I really apologize for that, game is not well optimized.

----
Game made from scratch for compo.

Well my first Ludum Dare entry is done. I hope you will have fun playing my little game. Unfortunately i didn't have enough time to use this mechanic/idea as i wanted but there are some interesting challanges in Gravity Gram. No time for audio and art is not so great so consider yourself warned :)

I'm going to work on this game later, when i will have more time.

BTW: I learned a lot from this guy https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOs7Q7IeuzgRyARaEqif75A , so if you want to get started with programming games in Java, i would recommend these tutorials for beginners.

Language: Java
Programs used: Eclipse, paint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#493Innovation3.18
#811Fun2.75
#873Theme2.88
#878Overall2.81
#967Mood2.26

Comments

stoarch says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Intersting and fun game. When you know how to control and color balls - it is very rewarding.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:23pm

It's a very fun game! Good job, the gravity gun/wepon thing is a really cool idea, the game could use some music or SFX though

minnouu says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:08pm

It's a pretty interesting mechanic, and the physics work pretty well. It'd be nice if it told me I could double jump, got stuck on that for a bit.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Good game!

The platforming was hard and I love the idea of moving the balls with gravity! Took a second to understand to mix the balls to open the gate.

Good use of the theme!

Awesome job!

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Cool mechanic. Really hard to jump and walk on platforms though. Didn't play the whole thing but i think you could make som nice puzzles with that gravity gun.

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:39am

This is a fun game ! It's nice to have a smooth gameplay ;)

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice job for your first LD! Could have used some music and sounds, but other than that, solid for your first game. :)

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:32pm

This was fun to play, simple yet very engaging mechanics, good job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Had issues for some reason with the game running slowly at times but when it ran at normal speed I did like the gravity mechanic.

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Interesting game.
(Google Translate, I'm French)

ddalacu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Awsome menu i liked the how the controll felt you could of spent more time at graphics but its grat anyway.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

this is really cool ! controls could be nicer but still very playable

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Neat! It gets easier once you get the hang of dragging a whole cluster of balls with you. I think I finished it (smiley). Nice touch with the advancing wall of doom :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Interesting idea. Once you get the hang of controlling the orbs, it's quite fun.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Liked the gravity mechanic, but didn't like trial and error method for knowing what color of key is for what color of door (probably, they should simply match). Also the animation for field is horrible:-)

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Definitely an interesting concept, and quite fun to play. Your artistic sensibilities are a bit weird, but I'm willing to look past that.

Some notes:
Bug report: So what happened to me is that I died to a red line over lava, was respawned at the yellow save point, but the puzzle didn't reset - I was stuck behind the red line and could not progress.

The fact that you can bring your previously color-shifted balls with you kind of breaks a lot of the puzzles. I don't need to maneuver a ball to the green-erator if I already have a green ball, after all.

Also, as a pet peeve of mine: if your only keys are for the four directions, please please please use the arrow keys for that! My ASDW keys are not in the same place as yours, and it's a real hassle to change keyboard layouts just to play your game.

Anyway good job!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

@stoarch @w1n5t0n @minnouu @AlfalfaStudios @Vulkanmannen @marccspro @manabreak @MJaawa @Mimus @ddalacu @texdata @Andrew Quartermain Thank you very much!

@plams Yep, that's the end :) And thank you very much!

@Franklin's Ghost Yeah i was afraid of that, there might be some performance issues. It's not a well optimized game, sry about that.

@scorched yeah, i guess i could make it a bit more clear, i hope it wasn't too irritating

@cgmorton First of all thank you much for such detailed feedback.

Art - well i don't have any experience with pixel art and i didn't have much time to work on better graphics, sry about that i will definitely improve my art skill for next games.

Bug report: yep, i am aware about not reseting wall position, i will fix that soon. Until then you can run into wall to reset it's position (and you will also respawn at the checkpoint)
About bringing balls (hehehe), that is also something what i should take care of and i will try to fix it (no promises on that one though).
Keyboard thing: sry about that, i wasn't really thinking that it could be so annoying. In future i will give option to play with arrows or WSAD.

I want to thank you all for taking your time to play my game and give me feedback. You guys rock.
It's my first LD and i didn't expect it to be so fun and exciting.

nivalis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

10/10 nice work m8 keep it real

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:10am

Main menu was cool, but when I got in game, it seemed jerky and like it was freezing, even though my computer was powerful. Very strange, since it showed the menu fine, so it wasn't java.

No rating given :/

Frewz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very fun. Controlling the balls and managing your player can be a bit tricky at times but the concept is very cool!

Graphics and audio obviously could do with some sprucing up as you've pointed out, no prizes there, but all in all a solid game. Look in to focussing more on these two areas for your next jam and you could have great game on your hands :)

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Cool game play and an interesting puzzle aspect.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:20pm

It does not run for me. Gives a generic "unable to run" message.

OS X 10.10.2

Zeriver says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:18am

@nivalis thx m8

@Mixer hmmm, maybe try closing browser and other processes. Sometimes it does run slowsly for me when i have open Chrome with 10+ pages. Anyway it's my fault for not optimizing game, sry about that.

@Frewz @bentfglasstube Thanks!

@Incredible Ape I wasn't able to check if it's working for OS X i added OS X version because it should work in theory but apparently it doesn't. Sry i already removed link for OS X version.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:25am

I can't run the game :(

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26am

Good use of weapon.
Plays well.
Well done on your first Ludum Dare.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Interesting concept and a solid entry, some jumps are hard to make but thats all there is to it.

Junber says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Interessting mechanic. Good game.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I really liked the feel of controlling the orbs with gravity. Combining that with platforming makes for a cool package. I ended up getting stuck behind a lava wall due to a checkpoint bug, but I thoroughly enjoyed what I played. Great work!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Pretty interesting mechanic. The physics work pretty well. It's your first LD! Thumps up!

TeamSpatch says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I could just try the Demo.jar (that seems to be the concept), but the GravityGram.jar hangs on my computer when I first see the character. It freezes.
I would have pleased to try your game.

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I did have some serious frame rate issues. There were long pauses between frame updates and I was on a powerful computer. However, I did find the frame rate improved when I closed many programs running on my computer. (I'm guessing there's a problem with the delta timer or something.)
Now that I have played the game, it was pretty good. Managed to get to the end with the smile. :)
I did have some problems clicking as it usually take two clicks to shoot another orb when one is already shot. I'm not sure if I have to right click to delete and THEN left click to shoot.
Nice work, but I hope you can find the issue to that frame rate hiccup. Just to let you know, I've also tried the demo and there was no frame rate issues with that.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:02pm

@Pixel Heart Could you describe what happpens exactly?

@asobi tech @TeamCalcium @Junber @TheMeorch Geckoo1337 Thank you very much

@TeamSpatch Hmm, so game freezes in main menu? When you mouse over one of options? Thanks for feedback i will look into that.

@jprogman Thank you for such detailed feedback, and all your effort for trying to play the game. I am aware of performance issues, the easiest way to solve that is to make smaller levels and not loading whole map at the same time. About clicking problem; i didn't know about that and usually it works fine for me but i will try to deal with this bug as well. Thank you very much again for your help :)

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:20am

Original mechanics, but very unforgiving IMO. Overall the game feels right, I love the physics, and the character is not frustrating to control (very important for that kind of platformer).
Even if they are not part of the gameplay, the menu animations are cool too.

Of course it could use some audio and graphics for it to feel more lively, but the mechanics are definitely there. Good job !

ajopart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:22am

Very interesting design. And fun. The physic of the orbs seems fine to me. You should clearly go further. Congrats !!

jhell says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:30am

Hi, cool idea! No Azerty controls though :(. Also, it's strange that the ball doesn't keep it's previous velocity when you dispel the gravity field, and just falls straight down :p. Once I adjusted I was able to move forward though. Controls were a bit too sensitive for my taste, making some platforming sessions quite frustrating, but other than that, I mostly had fun.

Dejvo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:05am

nice game! i liked the idea. it was a bit hard to move around (i personally would like "w" for jump) but nice and neat

iapc says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:14am

Cool game, but crashes with nullpointer exception when spamming the shooting button.
Have fun testing our game ;).

wg_phancock says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Decently fun game. I've been wanting to play around with gravity mechanics like you in my own games, so nice to see it in action.

The platform mechanics themselves feel a bit...I don't know, somehow too fast and too floaty. Going with one or the other would probably serve the game well.

Os_Reboot says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Awesome game, nice job with level design. The player animations made the game feel really smooth. Could have used some sound effects. Graphics were sufficient, although I would have liked to see perhaps a better animation for the gravity field. Overall well done, high five for java/eclipse!

Druid says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Simple but still pretty cool entry. I really lika that gameplay mechanics!

Bergara says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Our game mechanics are similar, indeed =)
Very well done, but I had a few problems running it, it would run very slowly. The Demo.jar was ok though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]