Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dirk Sharp in 'AN UNCONVENTIONAL WEAPON'

by oatsbarley - Compo Entry

Play in a hard-boiled noir murder mystery.

You've been invited to a party, and arrive to find murder scene, and it seems like the murderer is still at the party. Every hour or two there will be a new murder, and you have to collect the clues (space key) and match them up to the appearance of the murderer.

Bit off more than I could chew, so this has been very rushed! I originally intended there to be all sorts of clues, but as it stands there's just scraps of clothing. Talk to the guests to make a note of their appearance, which you can check in your notebook (tab key). Arrest the right person and when the next hour rolls around you'll have won the game.

There are a couple bugs, so bug-fixes incoming.

UPDATES:
* 21/04 - added a Unity web player build, since apparently the WebGL build is pretty unstable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Mood3.50
#287Audio3.19
#352Graphics3.39
#461Innovation3.24
#764Humor2.32
#866Overall2.83
#1070Fun2.13
#2240Coolness20%

Comments

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Didn't really got to understand and play the game (so I will not rate), the WebGL from unity is still new, it gave me an exception error and stopped working.

Please add a webplayer/pc build.

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very interesting! i just had some sort of crash so i didnt get to find out if i arrested the right person. Ill try again =D

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:32am

Interesting idea, but the game crashed on me before I could complete it.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

It seems that the last stairs leaded to nowhere xD
You have some balls to make that kind of game, I must admit it, pretty hard to finish on a game jam. But the atmosphere is great, too bad I cannot finish it ! nicely done my dear

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

Interesting, but its hard to understand in the first place!
The Mood is nice!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10am

Really artsy game, i like it. well done

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

Game get crash if i arrest someone.
There are nothing in highest and lowest floor.

overall, i like your mystery game idea.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46am

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. Sorry about the bugs/crashes; some will no doubt be my fault, but it seems as if the WebGL build is unstable. I've added a Unity web player build, hopefully that works out better.

goglmogl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53am

Wow, cool game 10/10

factorial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43pm

A number of bugs, but an excellent concept and very fun! Wish you had had more time with it. Loved the humorous dialog. A few notes in case you decide to continue development:

1. More clue types? Yes please!
2. Music is nice but could use a -little- variety.
3. A simple fade in/out transition when going up stairs would make it clearer you're changing floors.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I liked the concept, I enjoy murder mystery things like this

Celt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:55pm

What an awesome concept! There is really much potential behind this. Great art direction as well

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I eliminated a suspect but I'm not sure exactly how... or maybe that was the second murder victim? I tried again and arrested someone just to see what would happen... but I don't know if they were the real killer!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Really liked the art and the sounds. Game is pretty cool. The only problem is the theme not featuring heavily in it... But still a good entry.

Good luck!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:03am

My comments are from the Unity Web Player version. Not rating since there seem to be several bugs.

There didn't seem to be much feedback when changing floors with the stairs. When I kept pressing up, I ended up in a completely black, empty level. Pressing down a few times seemed to fix it. The same thing happens if you press down while on the bottom floor.

Eventually, pressing up and down just stopped working at all, while I was on a normal floor.

Pressing space to chat seems to pick someone near you, but NOT necessarily the person you are overlapping. Sometimes someone would pass you, but you would keep getting voice lines from them, instead of the person you were trying to check.

Clicking on each name in the notebook for details seems to take 2 clicks instead of 1 after you click the green tab.

Also, once I had a question mark appear outside of the level, to the left of the staircase.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]