Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pigeon Sniper

by nutcrack - Jam Entry

Pigeon Sniper!

U play the Bird!

Snipe and spice up a beautiful picknick day!
Letz give it some extra Sauce!


Left Right for moving
Space to shit!

* Thx 4 playing!

We used unity5/pickle/paintnet/reason

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Humor(Jam)4.00
#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#145Theme(Jam)3.88
#356Audio(Jam)3.12
#423Overall(Jam)3.33
#498Innovation(Jam)3.12
#620Mood(Jam)2.92
#728Graphics(Jam)2.85
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06am

Pretty cool concept... third level was pretty impossible because all of my "doo" would hit the old man due to the great wind, and was impossible to hit the salad.

Visuals were okay, sound effects were pretty funny. Good luck!

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15am

A really nice one!
I completed it all and I don't think it's impossible, because it took just about 5 minutes to complete the full game.
Don't really understand why at different points the differents of the angle of shot is pretty big
5/5 funny, 5/5 gross, 4/5 overall!

benbateman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15am

Love the sound effects - the people sounds properly disgruntled about it all. I'd love to see more levels.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15am

This is a really funny concept! more level would have been nice though

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16am

Quite fun! I beat all the levels. But got ratio issues, i cannot see the full screen on my laptop :(

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24am

The idea is really nice, it made me smile! The pigeon is too slow in my opinion, and this makes quite boring a game that has the potential to be super-fun! Don't waste this Idea, work on it! You can make something great out of it :D

cgriff says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28am

That was surprisingly addictive! I think I completed it; it seemed to fail to find a level 5. The gameplay is solid, not sure about the art though...

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:48am

Oh man Ranch Dressing is so darn hard! I like how the graphics reflect its silly nature. The sounds of the guy were classic. Well done! :)

plokdev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

This is actually the second game I've played on here that's about birds pooping. I'd rank this as equally good as Burd Turd. Good job.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really unconventional weapon xD. Theme 5/5.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Completed it :)

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Very peaceful atmosphere. Love the sounds of cars in the background. Overall a good game.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

I was born to do this. Nice game, had fun!

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Pretty sweet game. i got the the end, and had a fun time.

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Funny game :) I like how I was able to hit the parasol on the edge so the rest of the dump hit the man. Great level names.

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:02am

Hahaha hilarious! Great sound effects, nice animations, cool custom font, overall very fun game! I would have liked more levels though :P

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Oh man I LOL-ed so hard. Those sounds. Those graphics. 10/10 would play again, best game ever.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:42pm

That is certainly an unconventional weapon. I enjoyed trying to grapple with the wind and land my shots. Since the game controls are entirely keyboard-based, I would make the "Next Mission" screen also use the keyboard instead of making the player move their hand to the mouse. Also, since you can replay a mission as many times as you wish, the 3 shot limit seems unnecessary, and just creates unnecessary time during which the player can't play the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]