Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Le Baguette Man

by Kahztein - Compo Entry

There is only one man who is more powerful than all the forces on this planet combined, but it's probably not Baguette Man.

Features:

Venture through 4 short levels!

over 1 type of enemies!

Travel through 3 re-textured... I mean, unique worlds!

Minutes of game play!

Cheap level design!

Bug filled game play!

State of the art... Wine glasses...



Wine glasses = health

Weird C shaped thing = Croissants (ranged)

Black thing in the corner = a beret (lives)

EDIT: A lot of people hate the "brilliant" music because it is
"too amazing for them" So I suggest you turn down the sound before
your ears get "blessed"



Programs used:

Game Maker Studio - coding

PyxelEdit - Art

Sfxr - sfx

Bosca Ceoil - music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Humor3.32
#653Theme3.22
#687Audio2.36
#736Graphics2.74
#826Fun2.73
#952Mood2.32
#997Overall2.61
#1013Innovation2.27
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

It's a baguette, can you ask for more? Really liked the effort, needs more fun tho.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

I like the game, but I LOVE your copy.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

As a french citizen I think that's funny :p Need some more polishing though ;)

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cannot seem to download without a dropbox account.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:17am

Well, I think your description covers most of my comments about this game ;) Bonus humour points!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:45am

Haha loved the description! Crazy music too! Nice job.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

Nice entry. The grey one have so much life points that its usually faster to go past them than trying to fight. The baguette could use extra range, I would love some strider blade animation on baguette :)

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

hahaha! love it! :)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52am

Cool Game, nice fitting theme!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:55am

Great game! :)

jojocanard says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:09am

I got killed when I was reaching the door of the 4th level arg ! The music kept playing after I closed the game I had to kill the process.
The main character is funny but I would have put the baguette somewhere else. Here it looks like his belt.

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Wine glasses and croissants are orginal and funny.

May 10, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The only really detrimental thing about this entry is the music. I'm saying this first because it was the absolute first thing I noticed. It was like sandpaper on my eardrums. Audio can make or break something like this. This was a game about a french dude. If you're making the audio, why not go for something more like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6BuZOYboZM ...?

^^^ This is what I think of when I think "La Baguette Man" -- even a rudimentary 8-bit facsimile of this sort of music or even some free-use french accordion music would've suited it just fine. I have NO IDEA what that music was. It was like brain gravel. I left the audio on to hear the SFX. Those were fine. Then the audio got shut off.

The problem with the audio being the way it was, it really ruined the mood of the game. Literally, things like music and sound can really amp up even a simple platformer like this one. It's VERY disappointing, because you guys had so much potential for a very pleasant soundtrack that would compliment the rest of the game and you didn't do that at all.

That said (and I'm sorry if I seem very negative about the sound, but it just makes me go "??????" when I see an obvious (and easy) opportunity thrown away that brings down other aspects of the game), the gameplay (while a bit floaty) was rather fun. I enjoyed the croissant bombs -- the aiming was a bit sticky in terms of the croissants hitting the terrain, but I understand that calculating trajectory is challenging and perhaps not something you had time to figure out. There were also other sticky things, such as run-jumping, and collision with enemies, but the jumping itself (while floaty) was playable and enjoyable. I actually really liked the fact that he hung in the air for awhile before coming down. It seemed to fit his character.

The graphics were also very good. You did a stellar job, PyxelEdit -- especially for a compo entry. You can recognize what everything is, and your overall color palette is very simple/well-used in terms of the sky and terrain.

One thing you guys DID nail was the tutorial. That is basically a perfect Compo-Game-Jam tutorial, that many people usually don't manage to fit into their game. Good work! :D

Overall -- this is a solid entry ... but only if you turn off the audio.

Kahztein says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:15am

@Team Ex-Sword-Stential thanks for putting in some time to review this entry, sorry about the music, 5 minutes just isn't enough time to create a good soundtrack xD

May 12, 2015 @ 5:11am

It's okay, Kahztein. You did your best. :)

If you're sure you can't create quality music in a short period of time? You don't have to have any music at all. People will, of course, say you need music, but the players will still be able to get the most out of the main parts of your game and enjoy it just as much without it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]