Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ball-O-Ball

by Mohagged - Jam Entry

#version update:
- changed the input instructions to show keyboard buttons as well
- bug fix in level 2

#info:
- Xbox controller recommended
- you can return to the menu level everytime pressing Start+LB+RB (or Esc+LeftArrow+DownArrow)
- you can skip level by using a different gate in the menu level!



Well... a simple game, where you kick a ball around to kill stuff or collect stuff. Like football (soccer).
Made with the intention of using a gamepad! Though, keyboard is mapped, too.

// Gamepad (highly recommended!! also mapped to Xbox gamepad)
Left Stick : walk
[A] : pass/bringing ball forward
[X] : shoot
[LB] : stop ball
[RB] : dribble
[Start] : Start


// Keyboard
WASD : walk
Ctrl : pass/bringing ball forward
Space : shoot
Down Arrow : stop ball
Left or Right Arrow : dribble
Escape : Start

Also: Stop+Dribble+Start will bring you back to the menu stage!

My very first game Ludum Dare as well as my very first game. Hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed this LD!


Credits: music @Incompetech & Affordable Audio 4 Everyone

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#582Overall(Jam)3.14
#602Fun(Jam)2.93
#628Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

You'll need to host the web files somewhere where they can be run - ie kongregate or gamejolt or some website hosting provider.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Its interesting concept, however i could not figure out the keyboard controls. the Y or the X did not work :)

Mohagged says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

ah! damn. yes, the control instructions are meant for the gamepad. I only added the keyboard settings at the end and forgot to apply the text accordingly >_<!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Seems pretty fun even though my controller wasn't working so well with the game.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Cool concept! I got stuck in a pink creature though... It says Hold X to charge but it doesn't seem to charge >.< don't know if I'm playing it wrong...
Anyway great job!

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

good concept, but:

*Controls were displayed for XBOX without any sort of controller plugged in
*The game didn't meet the theme in my opinion.
*On the second part of level 1 I walked backwards and fell off of the map.

vortex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

It was really hard to controll and the keys in the tutorial didn't do anything. The key i could figure out was space to shoot

Mohagged says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

thanks everyone for the input! appreciate it!
I edited the instruction text to show both (xbox) gamepad buttons as well as keyboard key.

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I was having trouble getting my xbox controller to work with this game (it's working with some games and not others, I think it might be a unity webplayer problem), but other than that great game!

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

This is really cool. The only things I think need improving are the jump mechanics and some sort of camera turning. Otherwise change the level design to cater to a static camera.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

The basic concept is fun and somewhat innovative, but I feel like the controls are a bit too complex. The ball can also get lost in an inconvenient spot and then it's a lot of trouble to get it back.

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46am

cool graphics/audio. Would rate you super high for audio if I could. The controls (granted, was playing on a keyboard) were frustrating and the mechanics seems unintuitive and unclear

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34am

Really nice concept, but tank controls are not really nice, but nicely made game.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:41am

I never thought about a football as a weapon.I really like that idea.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Solid game, good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]