Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Deadly Attraction

by Reisen - Jam Entry

You're stuck in a dungeon full of monsters, with no exit in sight. Oh noes! But have no fear! Use your trusty magnet (that you happen to carry around) to "indirectly control" those iron boxes (that happen to be lying around) to crush those unholy creatures. But be careful when you pull that box...

Controls:
Arrows: Move
Z : Pull
X : Push
R : Restart
Esc: Quit

Credits:
Graphics:
http://opengameart.org/content/supertux-tiles
http://opengameart.org/content/16x16-16x24-32x32-rpg-enemies-updated

Audio:
http://opengameart.org/content/generic-8-bit-jrpg-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#291Innovation(Jam)3.44
#298Overall(Jam)3.47
#305Fun(Jam)3.33
#327Humor(Jam)3.25
#470Mood(Jam)3.14

Comments

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

This is my favorite so far. I was not expecting any of the surprises. I hope everyone gets a chance to play it!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

I think maybe I didn't fully understand the mechanic for pulling, but I had fun squishing enemies with push. Good use of theme.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12am

Oh. I accidentially killed myself 56789 times. Fun concept, though :)

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13am

There's something about accidentally killing yourself in this game that's absolutely hilarious. I think it's just how fast everything happens.

I feel like there could be more visual indication and some delay when using the magnet. It feels like I don't have as much control over it as I do. The map is also built in such a way that there are a lot of really cramped spots and considering how fast the blocks move, it's really hard to not kill yourself.

The ending was unnecessarily cruel and I liked it.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00am

Hahahahaha... Excellent game. Love it
Thanks for sharing :D

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55am

"Mmh so i can pull with this key... OUCH omg" was my first experience with the game ^^
I managed to dodge them and felt like a super hero ^^

Really fun concept, but I really have a problem with the displacements. I feel like not really controlling accurately my character :(

Anyway, great great job. One of the best of my journey through the LD32 games

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I never thought of using a magnet like that. I really enjoyed it but the control seem kind of awkward but that may be just me.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Game mechanics are kind of hard to use and were really annoying. Otherwise, the game was pretty good. Only downside is the make me want to rage quit mechanics.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55am

Laughed plenty through this, really like the magnet idea.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Hhahaha, good idea! The PULL function killed me more times than the enemies! =)

mockthebear says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:42am

Loved the comcept. i have seen something similar some days ago in an indie dev games con. but this is far more better

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:25am

Great music and graphics, fun game. But movement was too fast to stop right where I wanted
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice concept, simple and cool to play. Great music too.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:53am

Enojoyed the mechanic

murilo says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I really like the mechanics! The controls need fixing, it's hard to move just a little bit when you need to. The game over text was just great! really funny! Great job, man!

DesignerNap says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:51pm

really tricky to begin with but totally great fun. Really enjoyed this and love the audio too. Great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:44am

great game reminded - love the gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]