Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

FocalPoint

by Killnetic - Compo Entry

Slay cubes that want to invade your personal space by harnessing the power of the sun with a crystal ball. I can't tell you what is at the end of the level or why the cubes are loaded with blood.

Game mode: Time attack.

Unconventional weapon: Crystal ball magnifying lens + the sun
Objects obscure the sun from the magnifying lens
AI follows to last seen position and you can hide from it.
Heat up an unruly cube with the sun to vaporize it.
Cubes cool down if given the chance, so keep them hot.
The night cycle has no adequate lighting to keep your weapon functional.

Controls
-------------
WASD, mouse
R to restart the level
Alt-F4 to close

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#13Theme4.37
#13Innovation4.27
#109Overall3.77
#249Graphics3.62
#392Mood3.12
#402Fun3.23
#779Humor2.29

Comments

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39am

10/10 for creativity with the theme. The game play is challenging but fun. I love the lens flares when you are attacking. I kept getting stuck in the darkness though and I don't know where to go from there since you can only attack enemies from one direction. Maybe if the sun moved? Also some sound would be good. Otherwise, awesome entry!

Killnetic says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

The sun actually does move, just not randomly. Night cycle is a time of many monsters and deaths that only belong to the player.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

I like the way it looks, and I like the concept, and I like the way it feels. I don't like how slowly you fry enemies, how fast the enemies move, or how fast the sun moves. The gameplay ends up feeling pretty samey because of those.

Killnetic says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05am

The blood cubes cool down if you don't keep the beam on them. Keeping them focused makes them pop rather quickly.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54am

Really cool concept, there's not a lot of content but I like what's there :). It would be interesting to see this expanded on a bit more. Great work!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46am

Intersting! But there wasn't much to it. Avoiding the enemies was pretty easy and then it just randomly becomes dark (night?). The light mechanic was super unique but it didn't feel any different than just shooting a laser at a single spot. I would definitely like to see more though!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Cool lighting, and a unique idea, good job

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I'm pretty sure that you can build for Linux with Unreal engine. Why didn't you do that? (yet?)

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04pm

It's a pretty difficult game, but enjoyable. I like that you made the sun rotate around to keep things interesting. You put some nice effects in there too.

Killnetic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:38pm

@edve98, I added a build of FocalPoint for 'nix x86 machines. I don't HDD space to dualboot 'nix for testing. I hope it works :)

plokdev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Wow. 5/5 across the board for the creative concept and excellent visuals. I am actually jealous that I didn't come up with this concept myself.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:04am

AMAZING, really interesting, and beautiful. Great choice with unreal engine! If I could look up and down, at least a little, it would greatly improve it in my opinion.

lizard455 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:05am

Pretty cool!

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:36am

So incredibly beautiful. Textures would only detract from gameplay. Sounds are needed. The concept is amazing, and I would love to see more! Awesome job!

M9Josh says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Innovative idea! I'd love to see a post-compo version that expands the game a bit more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]