Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dabbag

by 2k16's Andrei - Jam Entry

Dubbag is a game where you shoot teddy bears, and your enemies shoot rubber ducks.

Therefore the main idea of the game is that Ducks Are Bad Bears Are Good(got that game title now?), shoot the guys dominated by ducks until everyone is happy with bears on the hand! feel free to comment, feedback is more than welcome!

Controls
W and S or up/down arrows - Walk
Move mouse - Rotate
mose left click - Shoot a bear

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2240Coolness20%

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

On the web version, it seems as though I could only aim from left to up to right, could not aim down. Probably some funky degree radian conversion happening there :D I like the graphics and the fact enemies have idle animations when you give them a teddy bear. Some really nice touches.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Charming and colorful, I enjoyed this! It took me a while to work out the controls, but really fun once I did!

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very awkward controls, but I liked the concept and the game otherwise played very smoothly. The start sound effect was loud though.

morrilet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Great fun, I also found it super frustrating. Couldn't find the last 10 duck-lovers 'till the they had made another 15 of them. I think 8 is as low as I managed to get it. Controls felt a bit wonky to me as well. Still a great concept, and well done on the graphics and audio.

vidarn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Very original. The graphics looked good and the controls were nice once you got used to them. However, the best part was that it was... hilarious :P loved the way the ducks and bears bounced around and the way the other people waved their bears.

boateye says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Couldn't play teh web version. I couldn't aim anywhere but up, and ti was controlled by moving left or right with ym cursor. if i had to shoot someone and my cursor was outside the window, i couldn't!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:38pm

The game is very cute, I like the blocky characters a lot!
It was hard to aim properly though, and I could not aim backwards at all, so I had a lot of trouble moving. (On both web and windows versions)

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Easy concept, but gets painful as the enemies swarm in and undo whoever you've captured.
The controls are okay, but I wish for it to be more responsive and precise with the aiming and movement. Nice game, but only play it when you're in a good mood. heh.

rhill says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Small thing that would have made a big difference:
http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Cursor-lockState.html

jk5000 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:45pm

The idea is fun and the graphics fit well. The mouse cursor problem makes the game difficult to play.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:16am

I'm liking these gumby characters

2k16's Andrei says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:58am

Hey guys, thanks for all the good feedback so far. Controls are really messy and i may fix this as soon as i find the time. I'll be possibly adding controller support and some kind of multiplayer too, the second one might take a while tough.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]