Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Eggs vs Knights

by M9Josh - Jam Entry

A pretty simple puzzle game in which you have a following of eggs. Collide the correct coloured eggs with the matching colour enemy to kill it. If you collide the wrong coloured egg with the wrong enemy then it will kill you and you'll have to restart the level.

The eggs follow you at 3, 5, 7 and 9 steps behind you, moving your character updates their position.

Yes every level is possible - but difficult!

WSAD to move. Collide to interact - to obtain an egg collide with a chest.

The OSX and Linux versions are untested, sorry!

Thanks to Buch (http://opengameart.org/users/buch) for the amazing looking dungeon pack!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#219Innovation(Jam)3.57
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#465Overall(Jam)3.29
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#603Humor(Jam)2.67
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Eggs eggs eggs eggs eggs. :D

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:36pm

The game looks nice and the idea sounds great. Unfortunately the collision bugs frustrate me too much and kept me from playing very far. I think these kinds of bugs are allowed to be fixed post compo. You should consider doing that I think!

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

Please fix the bugs, creator! I love how dreamy it looks but it's just really difficult to deal with - and the guy above is right, you're allowed to fix critical bugs like these during the judging!

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02am

Great Job! Fun Game! =)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06am

not bad, the concept definitely has potential. The collision needs a bit of polish, but other than that, good stuff!

morokiane says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

Good concept, like the graphics.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23am

Very fun game, Although one level did eventually make me rage quit, because I suck :P. Sure I could do without the weird collision stuff, but the gameplay is in the right place.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:50am

The collisions are a bit frustrating.
But overall I think the mechanic of the game its different, simple and funny!

M9Josh says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33am

Thanks for all the positives folks, I'll try my best to fix broken collisions tomorrow!

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:14am

That lighting effect is amazing, I have no idea how you managed to do that. I had a lot of fun playing this, although it was pretty difficult to get the timings right. Good stuff!

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:54am

i think this is a very interesting mechanic, but it is a bit difficult. its a weird challenge trying to get the eggs lined up right. but thats part of what makes it so interesting, that and the visual style

pikkpoiss says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Really inventive use of the theme, and the difficulty of the levels ramped up well. Loved the graphical style.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]