Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Testosterone Man

by Sorak86 - Compo Entry

So... the magician at your circus was performing one of his most sophisticated tricks.

Everything was going alright, but well, it seems like the performance was also unluckily similar to some kind of demonic ritual. Maybe it was the tarot cards. Or maybe it was the slained goat. Who knows.

The thing is, he has been kidnapped by the demon, and you, with your incredible circus-like manly power and pure testosterone as your weapon, will have to rescue him.


Sorry about the music mistake! :(

The music is not mine. I realized too late that I had to compose it myself. I would udnerstand if you vote it negatively. Anyway, I didnt take the audio category obviously, and u can play it without sound perfectly!

music by: "The Builder" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#142Humor3.62
#564Theme3.32
#580Fun3.00
#701Mood2.74
#776Graphics2.67
#794Overall2.90
#823Innovation2.70

Comments

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Btw, play it in any 16:9 resolution, pls! :)
I would recommend downloading and playing at 1600:900, but the web link works fine also!

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:16am

hahaha that was fun

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

Pretty fun, but difficult until you've played for a while.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

I would had reated ou ghighly in sound :( The music was good.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Neat idea, I enjoyed it. Good job!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Pretty fun, if a bit difficult. I liked the idea of presenting the instructions as needed on the map as a tutorial.

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

thx to everyone!
"ito123456789" I know :( I think I found the perfect music for the game, but it was not composed by me, so I would have felt dirty if I get good scores on Audio category :P
Thx anyway!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39am

made me laugh. great use of the theme. nicely done.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

Though it didn't bring anything new in terms of gameplay to the table, and it was kind of unwieldly, (It feels like the acceleration on the x axis was just way to high, if there even was any), it was funny, and it had some nice audio too. (Why'd you disable audio ratings...?)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

Very cool. Loved the restriction on shooting direction.

Awesome job!

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02am

ty!
Jacketsj, I had to disable it because it wasnt composed by me, so it would have been weird :P

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Good job! Nice entry.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Fun. If I get hit by an enemy I usually end up stuck in an endless die loop. And I never managed to climb walls. Fun music and graphics though.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Ok so today i learned that testosterone is blue :-)
Fun and challenging. Nice one !

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Fun idea! I found it a bit tricky to actually hit the bats.

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37am

I like it. Need a little more effects for brutality)

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01am

Fun game. You added a nice twist and humor to a platformer to make it unique. If you are still suffering low T after playing this one, give my game a try (Dungeon Balls ;).

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:44am

Ahaha! You win for the character design. You have all my stars!

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:01pm

ty! :)

farnsworth2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Well, that was a little strange. It was a funny concept, but the platforming and art could use some work. More background textures would help it from feeling so same-ish, and it's annoying when a bat gets under you and lifts you back up the screen.

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39pm

yeah, I kinda lacked time for more textures (or character design, whoever beat the game will get it ;))
and yeah, I initially set the bats knockback pretty high, but then it felt so funny that I refused to set it lower, so it became a feature :P
thx for the feedback!

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:43am

HA! Testosterone as a weapon. Classic :) Well done!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:08pm

A fun game with a nice use of the theme. The name of the game and its concept made my day ! ^^ Nice job.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Liked that you use your testosterone to turn the bats into big balls that you kick around. Pretty funny concept :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]