Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Anima's Keeper

by fafastudio - Jam Entry

RESUME:

You're a little boy who seen his mother kidnapped by the superior race.

You want to find her by face the "god race".

The only way to beat them, is to go to the laboratory, which contains all the data of the city. Let's solve these puzzles, and take your revenge !


_______________________________________________________________
COMMAND:

z,q,s,d : movement

u : use/interact

i : fire
_______________________________________________________________​

TEAM:

Jean Claisse : LevelDesign, MusicComposer, GameDesign
Eliot Rabaud : GameDesign, programmation
Hugo Bombail : GameDesign, Programmation, Animation
Maxime Zobenbueler​ : Graphism, Animation, GameDesign

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#426Audio(Jam)2.96
#715Graphics(Jam)2.89
#795Humor(Jam)2.27
#860Mood(Jam)2.50
#935Overall(Jam)2.66
#953Theme(Jam)2.48
#954Innovation(Jam)2.19
#978Fun(Jam)2.29

Comments

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Nice game !
I've never seen a performance like that !
Especially the musics which are probably composed by mozart or god himself

benzobubu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59am

AWESOME GRAPHICS

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Controls are super funky. Art is good. Music is good. I would have gone farther in the game, but I could not figure out the controls.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09am

"You're a little boy who seen his mother kidnapped by the superior race.

You want to find her by face the "god race".

The only way to beat them, is to go to the laboratory, which contains all the data of the city. Let's solve these puzzles, and take your revenge!"

With a story like that and graphics like these, there's a lot to love about this little game! I love the music, too!

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Cool Zelda feel but lacking a bit in directions.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Game art and music was really good. Control scheme for english keyboards is a little funky. Was unable to get very far in the game due to this. Consider using the Unity input manager and changing the values in the inspector.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nice little game, I had some fun with it, also the music is very nice.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I liked the idea! But the controls felt wierd. Fix that and it will be really good!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Thanks for all the comments guys, we tried to fix the controls, but we hadn't enough time =)
Now, we will end developping the game.
When this will be done, we'll notice it to you here !

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:17pm

The desert theme music was particularly enjoyable. The camera in that area seems to lag behind the character, though, which makes it difficult to see enemies before it's too late.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:58pm

You shouldn't have developed it for AZERTY. The control layout makes it unplayable on QWERTY, which is the majority.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:21am

nice music, cool art. Got problems with the controls, and some invisible walls too (can't move forward inside the "temple")

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Invisible walls seemed to be everywhere. Sometimes it seemed to just be glitchy collision detection that would go away if I moved around enough, but other times it seemed permanent. In particular, I couldn't get anywhere inside the castle thing because there was an invisible wall just beyond the black button-controlled wall.

Not that I knew what was happening in the first room inside the castle anyway. Not sure what the create was, why I couldn't shoot it, when or why it decided to occasionally move forward, or why it walked through the entrance in the middle. Nor could I determine why the entrance was no longer usable and would disappear if I shot either of the orbs next to it.

The camera was really obnoxious in the desert, the way it lagged behind the character. If anything, I want a camera to move out ahead of the character, so I can see where I'm going and what enemies or other relevant objects are areas I might run into.

gelisam says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:54pm

When I was using qwerty, it was weird because it seemed like I could only move in certain directions. Then I switched to azerty and I often stumbled upon a bug which would similarly disable certain directions!! Horribly frustrating. Gave up after getting stuck inside a dungeon with a button and an invisible wall.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Thanks another time for comments ! :) It really help us to focus on what's wrong !

We had fix the control, collision and the invisible walls that appear sometimes when moving or shooting !
Camera is faster than the prototype too and vision is better.

The invisible wall inside the lab, "the first puzzle" was not finished in the ludum dare version, so yes, we think it's frustrating too but this wall is the end of our prototype, we didn't have enough time to fix that or make a clean end...

We'll finish debugging the prototype and upload it.
We are currently working on another consequent project so you will not see a new version soon..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]