Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

UMBRELLA OF DOOM

by NoxNode - Compo Entry

Umbrella of doooooooom!

How To Play:
unzip the .zip file from the windows download below, then go to the folder you extract from the .zip file, then go to the bin folder, then double click Umbrella.exe to play

if you get the error that you need msvcp120.dll or msvcr120.dll, than download the x86 version of the visual studio 2013 redistributable packages here http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Game Description:
You play as a red dude that has an umbrella. Invade the base of the evil green dudes that shoot water droplets at you and kill the boss guy at the end!

Game Controls:

WASD to move
left click to hit water droplets back at the enemies - you can only damage enemies by hitting the water droplets back at them
right click to block (holds up your umbrella and negates any damage from droplets)

but be careful of your stamina, attacking and holding your block up drains it, and if it gets to 0 you have to wait a bit for it to start recharging.


Developer Notes: Hey I'm Noxide. Thanks for checking out my game. I made this game for the Ludum Dare compo, so I made all of the textures and code for it in under 48 hours and all of it is open source, so do whatever you want with it, I just did this to get some experience and to hopefully get some publicity. I made it in only C++ and SFML, so it should be easily portable, but I'll only port it if someone on another platform actually wants this game. This was my first game jam and also my first game that was completely my idea and didn't contain any code that was copied and pasted (except the example from SFML's website, but no one memorizes that crap cuz they only do it once per project). So hope you enjoy my game, if you wanna contact me because you wanna give some constructive criticism, wanna see more of these crappy games, or wanna maybe team up with me to make more games, below is my contact info.

Contact info

Skype: prime393939 (Noxide .)
Twitch: http://twitch.tv/noxnode/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChusfUIgMIK4_K32LbEolZg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#660Theme3.21
#760Innovation2.79
#870Humor2.05
#982Fun2.40
#1006Mood2.04
#1048Overall2.50
#1074Graphics1.79
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

do the enemies take damage?

NoxNode says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Sorry if it's a little confusing, I edited the Game Controls in the description to make it clearer. You can only damage enemies if you hit a water droplet back at them, so you have to risk getting hit and gotta time it right.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Umbrella of doom: The weapon of choice of annoyed grandmothers worldwide :D

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:42am

neat

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:47am

Really nice concept with reflecting the shots. Feels like a good start to a game.

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:08am

It's pretty difficult, even on easy! I managed to herd all of the enemies into the size of one enemy, and then tried to attack them all simultaneously. I got a few, but then I died. :(

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:13am

Ya if I work on it more I'll make the enemies go in a more random path toward your character so they can't go into one single enemy size, but I intended for it to be pretty difficult. I like challenging games :D.

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:47am

Soooo haaard!!! Haha! Fun game Overall!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:37am

That was really cute. Took me a while to get the hang of but once I did I had a nice flow going. Great job :)

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19am

Thank goodness I could ricochet the bullets with my umbrella. That helped me enjoy the game a little more. But still, the combat in general is too unresponsive and with many circumstances like how the enemy attacks and how I can or can't attack just makes it frustrating. But, the idea of using the umbrella as a weapon is a great idea and it is nice to have two ways to attacking.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:14am

This would be a cool base mechanic to expand into a thoroughly interesting combat game. Keep going with this :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:02am

I love that the weapon is an umbrella!

Really cool mechanic and really nicely satisfying - could definitely become something totally awesome with a bit more work!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This was ok-ish little game. :) the minor problem which bothered me were relatively raw graphics. But, I kinda suffered from the same problem. Because of time issues! good job! :)

Wdavemart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

This game's really creative and especially innovative with the reflecting technique, although my one problem was with the blocking mechanic. There isn't really much of a point to using it because it also takes up energy on your little gauge thing. Overall, though, cool game.

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Ya, there's not much of a point in blocking right now, if I'm not busy later I'll probably make it so that you can hold up your block and it only takes stamina when you get hit (but stamina regeneration while blocking is either a lot slower or non existent)

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Very satisfying when you get to throw back multiple droplets with a single swing! Nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]