Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mørke

by pstudio - Jam Entry

You control our protagonist in a strange world occupied by talkative people and angry monsters. With no apparent way to defeat the monsters unconventional methods must be used to reach the end of this world.

Edit:
Added Mac, Linux and WebGL builds.
Mac and Linux builds are untested.
WebGL takes a long time to load.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Mood(Jam)4.12
#222Graphics(Jam)3.88
#535Overall(Jam)3.19
#874Fun(Jam)2.52
#894Innovation(Jam)2.36
#898Humor(Jam)1.94
#928Theme(Jam)2.56
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

notrorschach says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Pretty cool. Remnds me of Limbo. Nice art.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

You nailed the atmosphere.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very effective and atmospheric presentation. The sound of the horns blaring into the night is just haunting. Nice work!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40am

Art is really good, you caught the right colors and contrast. I love that mood.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

I've tried downloading twice but all i get is a black screen, So i haven't rated. Looks really cool though.

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:54am

I like the art and audio. Really ties the mood together! The jumping controls could have used a little more work though. They feel a bit off, especially the way you drop when you let go of the button.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I would love try this game, but there is only a windows version... :(

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:04pm

The mood in this game is superb

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

GameQuester says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Great atmosphere! The platform mechanics were a bit stiff in my opinion. But I really liked the graphics and sounds. Good job!

MonoS says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Very nice mood, to bad i got stuck where i can chose the three symbols, but then no matter what i took i die in some way or another.

Would have loved to reach the end.

chaotikZA says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Good atmosphere and graphics, but I found the "weapon" a bit too weird... Also suspect I ran into some bugs at the end though so couldn't see the end...

The darkness chasing me also seemed at odds with wanting to read characters' text at times, it may be nicer if there was a bit more separation between story bits and action bits.

Much more content than my entry though, so A for effort!

Manu & Wan says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The graphics are nice, all they lack is that the ground should have been made black down to the bottom of the screen, it feels less polished as it is.

The gameplay could have been fun if only I knew what I was doing! Sorry but I didn't get what the interactions did, nor how to pass by the monsters without getting eaten. I tried both the Web and Windows versions to see if it was some bug but apparently I'm just not getting it!

SK16 Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Very nice game there, you really got that Limbo feeling. Godt med mørke.

nassi says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Died after making the decision and after that I couldn't get past this part: http://i.imgur.com/7mSwkJz.png

I also didn't quite understand the enemy mechanic; just let them hit you three times and be done with it? Couldn't seem to avoid them. If that's so the part with 12 dogs was quite tedious, since it took a lot of backtracking to the health globe...

The "You must make a choise" part was also frustrating, since the run to the disappearing platformer part (which took me nearly ten tries) was long and boring.

Also pretty annoying that you're supposed to read the text but there's something chasing you so there really isn't time for it.

Nice atmosphere, but the gameplay is mediocre at best.

LeoM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:27am

Vote 20, you deserve to have a rank.
Nice one, I didnt get the ending... Any pick I'm loosing... :'(
Maybe it's normal.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]