Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tickle Ninja

by crazyninjamofo - Jam Entry

You get to play as a Ninja! Awesome! The bad guys took away all your weapons. Not Awesome! Armed with only a feather and your Ninja skills you must subdue enemies by tickling them until they pass out.
-----
Xbox360 Controller recommended, but NOT IN HTML5/WEBGL player.
-----
I had bigger plans for the level design, but ran out of time. The enemy AI took way longer than I anticipated. I've never written any AI for chasing a target, but I think the end result fits the humor style well.
-----
HTML5/WebGL Page here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15156111/LudumDare_32/HTML5_smaller/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#81Humor(Jam)3.82
#252Theme(Jam)3.73
#285Fun(Jam)3.36
#321Mood(Jam)3.33
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#498Innovation(Jam)3.12
#740Graphics(Jam)2.82

Comments

tylo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

I really liked this one. The ninja sense mechanic came as a surprise that really made the game feel well thought out.

I like your use of the theme too. I peed my pants.

rojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

Pretty funny overall! Controls felt pretty good, though sometimes guys would be able to shoot me and it wasn't clear why. Good job!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25am

I enjoyed this a lot. The ninja theme fit well and had me chuckling while playing it.

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46am

Amusing idea!

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

I liked the dash and the climbing ,it's nice ^^
I would like to not receive damage while i'm tickling an enemy, or a larger stick to tick xD

parity_b1t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59am

very well implemented, controls feels smooth. also NINJA SENSE

sanojian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really nice smooth controls. Funny premise. Nice animations and character graphics too. I wish there was more gameplay.

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Great seed for something nice, I really enjoyed it :)

Jamezila says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

The pants-peeing sound may have put me off draft beer forever... :)

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

so funny how they pee themselves. Top marks for humor and theme. not bad!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Pretty funny, great use of the theme. Nice visual style on the characters.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19pm

OMG HAHAHA that pee sound is great. i found it was easier to sprint through the level instead of tickling. wish it was longer.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Really fun game i liked the art and the sounds, but could be better if the enemy couldnt shoot while being tickled dont know if that was your intention
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

smokecastles says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28pm

The controls are really smooth (nice to play using the Xbox controller) and I like its sense of humour. I'd play through some more levels! (trophy anyone?)

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The controls and physics were really good. Well done :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Really funny and the pee looks so good.
A good concept!

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

amazing game! i love your concept.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:12am

capnramses: fantastic! you got the controls and everything working really well for a jam game. i really liked it. would definitely have played more levels :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]