Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Braids

by luizgama - Jam Entry

Once upon a time, there was a princess who liked to stay at her tower playing videogames. One day, her evil stepmother offered her hand in marriage to whomever managed to get her out of the tower. And so, our game begins...

First game made by us as a team. We are a couple from Brazil. First full game using Construct 2, which we started using a few weeks ago.

We had a score and difficulty system in mind, but we thought it better to polish the title and credits screen to keep the experience fluid.

So what's missing the most is a difficulty progression and scoring system, and balancing the skills cooldowns, to make the game more of a challenge. Also, more enemyes variations, at least changing colors.

#edit
Some users found out that trying to skip the title screen too quickly hangs the game in the fading out, so please refrain from your typing impulses a little :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Humor(Jam)3.93
#150Audio(Jam)3.61
#166Theme(Jam)3.84
#184Mood(Jam)3.54
#200Graphics(Jam)3.93
#312Fun(Jam)3.32
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#546Innovation(Jam)3.05
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

I get 403 Forbidden instead of the embedded game. Please fix, this looks promising!

jshiroshiro says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

Fixed!! =]

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

This was pretty fun to play, loved the graphics, really liked the music, and the mechanics you had were neat. The controls weren't very responsive. You could have added a score counter too to make it a fun score attack game.

Photon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

OK, so the gameplay was pretty straightforward, but that was pretty amusing. I think my favorite weapon was the frying pan. Great job on delivering a simple but comical experience!

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Thank you so much for your comments. Yeah we had a score and difficulty system in mind, but we thought it better to polish the title and credits screen to keep the experience fluid. We'll probably make a post jam version with scoring :D The responsiveness (not being able to change braids quickly) was intended, but we also think it needs some improvement.

zatyka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

That was just so silly, but in a good way. Simple, cute, and enjoyable. The opening text was a bit slow, and things got repetitive pretty quick.. I wish there were a bit more to it, and (as others have said) the controls were a bit tighter.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14pm

great art but
things got repetitive very quickly.
ended up dying just to see what happened.
good use of theme tho.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice little game, it could use a bit more responseviness in the controls, or maybe a transition animation from one place to another, but fun game!

gv1351 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice game, I just wished there were a indicator to show in what lane you can use your weapon, but well done

lcarpentier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Nice little game. Really cool graphics and the story is nice. I'm not sure I ever understood why to use a weapon instead of another one (hairbrush and flower seem pretty similar and I'm not sure what the hairdryer does). I had fun and it was immediately playable which is great.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Hahaha! That was great. I love the art so much. I didn't quite understand which hair strand my weapons worked in though. But I think with a little bit of refinement, this could make an interesting mobile game :)

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26pm

The facial expressions are very cute.

The gradient background is bland... maybe the game could be cropped or zoomed in on the tower more.

Weapons 2,3, & 4 feel too similar.

The fade-outs are too slow. The intro text is revealed too slowly as well.

Also, the narrative seems a bit muddled. Why are the braid ropes set up if the princess doesn’t want suitors? Is she trying to lure them there so she can destroy them? Did her stepmother put the braids there? We may never know.

Nice work.

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Omg :DD that's funny. Nice one!

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Fun little game! Had a little problem understanding how it worked at first. Like the graphics. The menu transitions take way too long.

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

This is rather cute and funny =). Personally, I don't really like the font, its kind of hard to read. I think it would be better if there is a goal in the game, it get pretty repetitive after awhile.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Nice little game! Great graphics and music.

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Overall a great entry. I think the movement should have been a little faster/more responsive. Neat idea and having the cooldowns on abilities is really good. Great job for your teams first game!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Gets a tad repetitive with only one end goal which I don't like. Neat take on the idea though!

Yoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

It was short, but the sound of hitting the guys in the face was priceless.

Please note, however, that the '4' key appears to be a key-binding on Firefox for "Quicksearch", and it prevented me from using the hair dryer.

Otherwise it was simple and fun !

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Thank you all for the comments. We really want to add some challenge to it, just couldnt do it in time.

We will work on better fonts and faster transitions for the after jam version.

Each weapon was meant to be different, really needs some work there.

@Mase, her hair is too long hahaha but she doesnt want anyone to take her away, shes happy there, doesn`t need any men.

@Yoon thanks for the firefox info.

Do you guys have any thoughts on which should be the controls? We couldnt come up with a better solution then 1 2 3 4 for the quickslots (perhaps enabling mouse clicks too would be nice)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03pm

A really really good idea for a game.
The only problem is the lack of variety, but who would
criticize that at a jam with that less time.

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Good game, liked the idea, the music and the style! It's not really challeging, but i liked.

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Being a fellow champion of the "Endless Onslaught from four different places" genre I can definitely say this is a prime example of a game! Wonderful graphics for having only a weekend to work and an interesting twist on the old story of Rapunzel! Additionally, your weapons were very unconventional :]

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Thanks for the comments :D

rodrigomotta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:40am

Hey, so cute game! Really a tower defense. :) Congrats. Rated. Please, play and rate my game!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:29am

Really cool take on a literal tower defense. The artwork was really fun and playful and the writing was silly as well. Gameplay was good, but I ran into a problem on my second play through where the story text wouldnt disappear and the game wouldnt start so I had to reload

stellar entry though, and I can't wait to see it developed further

P.S. Thanks for the review :)

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:08am

@Luizgama
"Do you guys have any thoughts on which should be the controls? We couldnt come up with a better solution then 1 2 3 4 for the quickslots (perhaps enabling mouse clicks too would be nice)"

How about Q, W, E and R ? :)
+ I don't think enabling mouse for it would be practical, unless you add big buttons to the GUI which would be visually quite inconvenient.
Or perhaps, the mouse could be used to move the character. It would feel smooth methinks.

Just my two cents. And thanks for your review on my game ! ^^

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

hahahaha so funny!!

gruhn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nice to see other Brazilian games participating in the Ludum Dare!

E uma boa ideia para o jogo.

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:53am

Another great Construct 2 game.Though I didn't see the difference between the brush, pot and hair dryer except the time it takes to recharge them. Cute game, well done!

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:14am

Nice and funny game. It's a bit hard to control the princess, but I liked it to hit those stupid bastards. :)

Curial says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:27am

It's a Braid based game! "Sorry, princes is in this csatle but don't want to see you" hahah.

A funny concept, may would be nice that GUI buttons were bigger to see easily their cooldown timers.

chabuduo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Great work!
Although I would have enjoyed some sort of progression

KaiseanGames says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:51pm

4 stars audio for greensleeves :)

nassi says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:31am

Cute graphics, but definitely not enough variation in the gameplay to keep it interesting. The difficulty also seemed to stay the same throughout so finally I budged and let one of them climb to the tower. Also takes too long to restart if you manage to fail (I admit it, I failed on my first try).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]