Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Secret Weapons Factory!

by spin-down - Jam Entry

Welcome to the Secret Weapons Factory!

The objective is to build many terrible weapons for the military to use against the incredibly rude pink aliens.

The game is won when the military finally have enough weapons to win the war.

Sadly though, the game is lost when you or your staff are swamped and eaten buy the pink alien hordes.

Such is life in weapons research . . .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#290Fun(Jam)3.35
#363Innovation(Jam)3.32
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#493Humor(Jam)2.91
#654Theme(Jam)3.16
#665Mood(Jam)2.86
#863Graphics(Jam)2.45

Comments

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I can see only purple screen :(

spin-down says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Dang it! Game breaking bug which only took me a few minutes to fix. I've re-uploaded it now and should work fine. thanks BadaJaga!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I like the concept and gameplay is pretty cool too.

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice graphics. But I don't really understand how it works and the mouse aiming is pretty hard to control.

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

MInimalist and Fun! Good!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I like that you have to pass the items along the chain, good idea! Nice entry

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:22pm

i like the concept, but it becomes boring after a few waves :/

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Cool minimal retro arcade style. The gameplay is interesting, I like the split between fighting the hordes and running the factory. The player's own weapon is pretty weak, which gives the game a hectic feel. It would be nice to be able to actually use some of those weapons we are building though.

shrapx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:58am

Fun mechanics in this game. I wonder if anyone has managed to survive the pink alien hordes indefinitely? My score: 467400 / 5 weapons made.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This is fun to play :D Very creative game design. I also like the graphics. Reminds me of the C64 Mafia game. Good job! Bust a move!

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Interesting entry!

plokdev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

You should have allowed people to rate the game on graphics. I thought it looked pretty nice.

I enjoyed it once I figured out what to do. I'm not sure how to save my researchers though, which seems to be the thing that gives you a game over. The writing is very funny.

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Thank you all for the comments.

@polkdev
I personally liked how the graphics style came out but, at the time, seeing the efforts others had put into their own art, I thought it would be a bit cheeky to add it. On reflection however you're right, so I've now added it to the vote categories.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

Nice stuff! Really like the idea of managing research/building while also fending off enemies. I think the fighting enemies part could be improved though; they could be more threatening of a foe, and maybe not be so far away from the research. Great job!

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:04am

Lonely mac :(

frosty says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really interesting gameplay, mixing the multi-step weapons development and tactical combat. I agree with the others that the minimal graphics work really well. Nice work!

Sytech says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I liked the minimalistic presentation. Fun concept!
Good job!

jprogman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

The shooting is rather frustrating to work with. I do wish for the shooting angle to be more precise so the aiming would be more forgiving.
I love the little auction feature!

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I'm sad there is only a Windows version, I would love to try out this game.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I really like the research/defend/manage loop mechanics! Great job!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice gameplay, it was pretty fun. I'd suggest to balance the difficulty a bit more so that we can survive longer and not run out of money so easily. Also it would be nice if we were able to run several steps of the chain at the same, but that's just my point of view. Good job!

lizard455 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Pretty interesting! I enjoyed playing this and how it makes you think about how to spend the cash you have.

mathmadlen says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Very interesting concept! The design is pretty good, I really liked the minimalistic graphics, good job!

reiknight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Good job! I love the mechanics and the graphics :D. It's a bit repetitive but entertaining.

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:21am

I'm taken back to the time of the Atari Flashback. I loved the weapon suggestions and the gameplay requires some management skills while being right into the action.

I would lower the alien's resistance or reduce the cost of guards, because the feeling of firing everywhere like crazy and not killing anyone is a bit frustrating.

Otherwise it was very enjoyable. Well played.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]