Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bird Runner

by MacMC - Compo Entry

BIRD RUNNER

Bird runner has no genre, Bird Runner IS the genre. This game has been nominated for over 17 golden globe awards, countless Emmy awards, and the Nobel Prize.

----------------------------

I promised myself I would put out SOMETHING in 48 hours, even if it was barely functional. This thing is hanging by a thread, but by god I got it out there, and does it feel good. So yeah, it's a weird pikmin-inspired game where you fight robots and have to reach the end without losing all of your birds. It's extremely short, can be beaten in ~2 minutes, and is extremely barebones. Honest feedback very welcome.

----------------------------
CONTROLS: Move with the arrow keys, look with the mouse. that's all you need. You can press 'R' to restart the game if you get stuck.

EDIT: To attack objects (like the glowing red power generators, and enemies) simply run into them and your ducks will attack. They have some health but will die eventually. Sorry if this is unclear :)

Linux and Mac builds untested, tell me if there are any problems.

EDIT: a chunk of text is missing in the intro. It's basically the deepest lore about how how robots took over humanity. Sorry about that.

-------------------------------

Thanks y'all, and congrats on all entrants who made it this far! It was a ton of fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Innovation3.74
#187Humor3.47
#251Fun3.44
#254Graphics3.61
#264Overall3.50
#295Mood3.25
#393Audio3.00
#446Theme3.47
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29am

I agree.
Bird Runner is the genre!
Nice job.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:25pm

In a world of 48 hour games, Bird Runner stands alone and proclaims "they hate us cuz they aint us!" and the public agrees. Topping the box office, richard nixon had to say about it "It was pristine, reminded me of Paul Walker in a Chicken Suit, a fitting tribute."

note to self, don't do any more reviews until you have slept...

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Loved the duck animation. It was a little unclear what you were supposed to do at first. Fun stuff.

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Very nice job! This game is very nice: the mood, the gameplay... everything!

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Great game! I found a little difficult to understand at begin, but then i did

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

cute and clever. i felt so bad having to leave a few behind at the end to make a mad dash. great graphics. nice submission.

piratequentin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Nice work, it's a good game but where are weapons??

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

This was pretty unique and fun. Good job!

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Incredibly fun game that got much easier once i realized the mouse controlled the camera. Only game i've played so far that actually used the mouse, so i was a bit thrown. Not too easy, and nearly impossible to save everyone. Great game!

Zayron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice job. It took me a second to figure out I could kill stuff by running over it with all the ducks. :)

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Awesome entry! I really enjoyed the graphics, sounds, etc. I got a bit stuck at one point between two barriers and my ducklings kept dying :( aside from that it was funny and great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]