Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Night Light

by Team MAC - Jam Entry

Light is your weapon. Use your flashlight and magic glow ball to explore dark and dangerous buildings.

The objective of the game is to find the six hidden keys without being killed by the giant spiders and rats that are lurking in the dark corners. The magic glow ball must be used to pick up the keys. The light from the glow ball can also be used to stun enemies. However, the beam from the flashlight is required to kill them. Be careful not to turn on the flashlight too soon. The batteries are weak and it will only work for 3 seconds and requires 5 seconds to recharge.

Controls:
WASD to move.
Mouse to change orientation.
Left click to turn on flashlight for 3 seconds.
Right click to throw the glow ball.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)4.13
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#279Overall(Jam)3.50
#286Graphics(Jam)3.75
#369Fun(Jam)3.25
#489Innovation(Jam)3.13
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Nice Game! Turned out really well

Yamzho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Very nice !

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Unique gameplay concept. Works well with the theme.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice game! The atmosphere was good and the game was fun to play. I only have two concerns, the WASD based on your rotation feels weird, and the glowing ball that stun enemies make the game too easy.
Anyway, good job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Could have used some more sounds, but overall good, and cool art style!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Wow very cool! I like the horror ambience and those spiders are actually kind of terrifying! The controls are a bit weird but definitely playable. Wish I could get all 6 keys sometime.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice game althought could be more challenging.
Check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:56pm

=D nice!

met44 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Great mood, lightings and scary sounds always get that job done right haha :D

I only wish you would have gone full 3D instead of sprites for character & AIs but was great anways ;)

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

Great game, guys! Super creepy atmosphere. Really keeps you on your toes. The lighting and music were superb. Wish you couldn't just get keys through the walls, though! Would've been a lot scarier! :D

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:55am

Cool game! The graphics and sound worked well to make a good spooky atmosphere. The 3D environment made the lighting look fantastic and gave it a great feel as you walked by objects. I just have two criticisms. The first is that, as other people mentioned, the WASD and mouse controls are really awkward. I constantly have to change keys to go in one direction just because I'm looking in different directions with the flashlight. Secondly, the game is really easy. I think the main reason is because the glowing ball can grab keys through walls - you should have to actually interact with the keys to collect them. Otherwise you don't even have to explore most of the spooky buildings!

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Very nice! loved the lighting!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Apparently a rat killed me even though I was outside of the building and the rat was inside! Other than the small bug, I did enjoy the atmosphere you've managed o create. Kudos.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:34pm

good mood and nice graphics! I found the controls a bit confusing in that wasd keys moved relative to orientation.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Liked the game a lot! I would like to say that the controls are a bit tricky when it comes to movement. Could you change W to stay up, A to stay left, etc. Overall a nice Concept!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:09am

Controls were pretty awkward but the concept itself is interesting and I do like the creepy atmosphere you've managed to set up in the game.

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:13am

it takes a little time to get used to the controls but beyond that the atmosphere is great.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:14am

Great creeepy game! The controls were a bit funny, in the end I only used W to go into the direction of where I was pointing with the mouse. Since the glowing ball could go through walls, it was a bit too easy. (Although I also died once when I touched a mouse that was on the other side of a wall, which made the game a bit harder.) The music really helps to set the creepy mood. Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]