Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Enforcer

by Suhvan4ik - Jam Entry

You can play for an alien that trying to save humanity from self-destruction. A flying saucer is equipped with the tractor beam, it helps to avert the missiles from the cities and evacuate civilans.

Tractor beam is not a typical weapon. It allows you to fight against the war-obsessed people.

Left click will activate the tractor beam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#414Innovation(Jam)3.24
#556Theme(Jam)3.30
#626Fun(Jam)2.89
#632Overall(Jam)3.08
#662Graphics(Jam)2.97
#691Mood(Jam)2.81
#722Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

rudra says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:37am

Thumps up for the Music and Concept, though I would like to add that the difficulty level could have increased from easy , moderate , difficult , etc , as I am very poor at playing games :P
Anyway, great effort though :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Good concept, cool take on the theme.

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17am

Alien beaver looks adorable.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

Nice game :) Feels very polished.

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06am

As it was said before, it's a good game, seems like you worked a lot.

The music/sounds are great and really fit the ambiance of your game.

Just a minor thing, I personally think the ship should move more reactively, but that's my opinon.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Greetings, fellow developers! We come with peace. Ekaterinburg ftw!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very nicely executed and correct difficulty level. Good graphics, neat music, well done!!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Interesting concept but it might have been more fun to use the beam to stop the missiles instead of teleporting the citizens.

geckojsc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Fun game! The mechanics, graphics, music and sfx are all good. I like how the beam has a dual purpose. :)

I found the ship's movement to be a bit too sluggish which I think made the game way more difficult than it would otherwise be.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Fabraz, you can redirect missiles with your beam, so they would hit each other or simply miss targeted city

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:31am

very innovative concept. The music is pretty awesome. The difficulty level can get intense, especially with the rate at which the missiles are fired from each city. Nice work!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Great concept, music great, well done!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I liked the concept, it was a nice change :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:53am

I like that the aliens are saving people for once, instead of being the bad guys! Quite tricky though, I only managed to get to 4/4 once!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:25am

Nice gameplay! Feels very polished and well implemented.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Can't fault it for the controls. They needed a bit more tweaking in my opinion. But eh, what you gonna do in the time you got?

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Unique and interesting idea. I quite enjoyed it, though I wish it had more to it.

The-Force says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:42am

Nice overall. My only complain is that the ufo is too slow following the mouse and it's annoying like having lag.

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Funny! I like it, but it's quite difficult, and maybe boring after a while, it would need some added features like power-up or things which change the game behavior (Great effort, still!)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:40am

hahah, damn man, what a funny game! loved this one!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]